Brooklyn College Library LibGuides Home: Library Support for Online Classes/Instruction: E-Books/Textbooks

Finding E-Books in the Library Collection

Find eResources in OneSearch

Search for books

On the results screen you will see limiting filters:

Select Full Text Online to limit to electronic books.

Select Books or Book Chapters for all books.

Select Reference Entries for article level entries from dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, almanacs, atlases, handbooks and more.

E-Books (Available at All Times/Require Off-Campus Login)

Browse the ebook collections below. The ebooks available in these collections may also be found through title, author and keyword searches in OneSearch.

ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
An online, fully searchable collection of high-quality books, essays, and primary sources in the Humanities, with a broad selection of subjects and fields, ranging from Women's Studies and Politics, to Literary Criticism and Religion.
APA Handbooks in Psychology This link opens in a new window
APA Handbooks in Psychology offer comprehensive, DRM-free reference works covering subdisciplines within psychology, providing overviews and in-depth analyses across various subjects.
Subject Categories:
Applied
Clinical and Counseling
Cognitive
Comparative
Developmental and Lifespan
Ethics
Forensics and Legal
Gender and Sexuality
Industrial and Organizational (I/O)
Multicultural
Neuropsychology
Personality and Social
Research Methods
Spirituality and Religion
Testing and Assessment
EBSCO eBook collection This link opens in a new window
Access to the full text of reference, scholarly, and professional books. EBSCO eBooks are digital full-text versions of books such as reference works, scholarly monographs, literature and fiction (at Brooklyn College, almost 6,000 titles), and 3,400 publicly-accessible titles.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources on a variety of subjects.
Proquest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Ebook Central offers access to over 36,000 titles from 200+ academic, STM, and professional publishers. Users can download portions of books as PDFs or entire books using Adobe Digital Editions reader. Note: signing in for Ebook Central also provides remote access to features.
SpringerLink - Journals and Books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The SpringerLink database includes full text articles and ebooks.

Brooklyn College created OER

Explore a curated list of OER/ZTC created by CUNY colleges.

OpenED CUNY
A curated digital library of open educational resources (OER) and zero textbook cost (ZTC) materials. Excellent resource to discover CUNY OER/ZTC by format/type, subject collections as well as creator/provider. Most OER/ZTC created by Brooklyn College faculty have been added to the repository.

Open Educational Resources at Brooklyn College

E-Books (Open Access & Always Freely Available)

These e-book sites require no login.

Digital Public Library of America
Directory of Open Access Books
Contains several hundred academic books that are published online and are open access.
Google Book Search
Hathi Trust
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
International Children's Digital Library
A historical and contemporary children's books collection from throughout the world.
Internet Archives Ebooks and Texts
The Internet Archive offers over 20,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts. There is also a collection of 1.3 million modern eBooks that may be borrowed by anyone with a free archive.org account.
Library of Congress American Memory
American Memory is the gateway to 9 million digitized items organized into 100 thematic collections from the Library of Congress's vast resources that document U.S. history and culture. Original formats include manuscripts, prints, photographs, posters, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, books, pamphlets, and sheet music.
National Academies Press
The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy. We offer more than 8,500 titles in PDF format.
OAPEN (Open Access Publishing in European Networks)
OAPEN (Open Access Publishing in European Networks) is a collaborative initiative to develop and implement a sustainable Open Access publication model for academic books in the Humanities and Social Sciences. The OAPEN Library includes e-books from across Europe, in a variety of languages.
Online Books Page
The Online Books Page indexes over 2 million books and shorter texts available for free on the web. Listings can be searched or browsed by title, author, and subject.
Open Culture
Download 800 free eBooks to your Kindle, iPad/iPhone, computer, smart phone or ereader. Collection includes great works of fiction, non-fiction and poetry, including works by Asimov, Jane Austen, Philip K. Dick, F. Scott Fitzgerald, Neil Gaiman, Tolstoy, Dostoevsky, Shakespeare, Ernest Hemingway, Virginia Woolf & James Joyce. Also please see our collection 1,000 Free Audio Books: Download Great Books for Free, where you can download more great books to your computer or mp3 player.

Open Library This link opens in a new window
A project of the non-profit Internet Archive, the Open Library provides electronic access to more than 3 million books. Books in the public domain are available for download, and modern books can be borrowed via controlled digital lending. Create your account

Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers over 50,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.
Standard Ebooks
Formatted public domain ebooks.
SurLaLune Fairy Tales
SurLaLune offers over 40 eBooks, including fairy tale and folklore anthologies, critical texts, poetry and fiction. The index is divided by subject matter and region.
UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004
Online books from UC Press, including many Cinema Studies works.
University of Adelaide Press
The University of Adelaide Press operated between 2009-2018. Many of the University Press books are available for free download, and some have an additional print version available for purchase. University of Adelaide Press titles were externally peer-reviewed to ensure excellent scholarly quality.
World Digital Library
Digital library of primary materials from across the globe.

OER Repositories

OER repositories contain more than just open textbooks. All content featured within these pages is free but usage rights vary. Materials in these repositories are released under a Creative Commons license while some are in the public domain.

CUNY OER by College
OpenED CUNY is a curated digital library of open educational resources (OER), zero textbook cost (ZTC) materials. It’s an excellent resource to discover CUNY OER/ZTC by format/type, subject collections as well as creator/provider. Most of the OER/ZTC created by Brooklyn College faculty has been added to the repository.
Active Learning Strategies
The Active Learning Strategies website presents background information on Active Learning and details various strategies to incorporate active learning into your classroom. Strategies are divided into categories depending on how they can might be employed in your classroom..
Affordable Learning Georgia
A collaborative effort by the University System of Georgia (USG) and California State University to replace high cost textbooks across the Georgia system. The site features a list of the top 50 enrolled classes along with approved open textbooks for those classes..
Art History Teaching Resources (AHTR)
Art History Teaching Resources is a peer-curated and populated site where instructors share lesson plans and resourcesrelated to art history. You will find a rich array of detailed syllabi, assignments, exams, image clusters, and video tours of important museum collections. This site also provides an excellent space for instructors outside the field of art history to find art that this thematically linked to their course content.
BC Campus OpenEd
This site includes texts written specifically for the University of British Columbia OpenTextbook initiative, as well as books from other sources..
College Open Textbooks
The College Open Textbooks is a collaborative of 29 educational organizations and 200 affiliated colleges in California. The project is focused on promoting awareness and adoption of open textbooks. The College Open Textbooks Collaborative has peer-reviewed more than 100 open textbooks for use in community college courses throughout California and beyond. Open textbooks are freely available for use without restriction and can be downloaded or printed from their web sites and repositories.Image result for college open textbooks.
CUNY Academic Works
The Open Educational Resources series collects instructional materials -- from textbooks to syllabi -- by the faculty of the City University of New York. To find works from a specific college or school, you may browse by Colleges, Schools, Centers..
Directory of OpenAccess Books
This site is a clearinghouse of links to books hosted in various locations, and includes a large selection of international textbooks..
Equality Archive
Equality Archive is a multimedia open educational resource that documents the history of sex and gender equality in the United States.contains multimodal (text/image/video) entries about feminist histories, people, and issues. Each entry contains references, links to film, video, speeches, or music relevant to its topic..
Europeana Colletions
is a gateway to European cultural assets, through this one site you can search for artworks, cultural items, archival collections from participating institutions all around Europe. This site is a gateway, and once you have selected the items you want you will be redirected to the website of the institution that owns the item, and often these sites will not have English translations..
Folger Shakespeare Library
Located in Washington D.C., The Folger Shakespeare Library’s website hosts many useful resources geared toward teaching and learning the Bard’s work. There are full teaching modules that focus on commonly-taught Shakespeare plays. These modules contain lesson ideas, homework assignments, and assessments.
The Global Text Project
A free library of thousands of texts for students in a range of topics covered in a university undergraduate program. Individual book chapters can be opened and modified to fit your own needs. GTP is a joint venture between the Terry College of Business of the University of Georgia and the Daniels College of Business of the University of Denver..
HathiTrust
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
HERB
HERB is a highly curated database of primary sources, assignments, and other teaching materials related to the social history of the United States. Most resources are designed to give an account of what life was like for “ordinary” people during important moments in US history. It is run by the American Social History Project/Center for Media and Learning at the Graduate Center. One of the strengths of this site is that it offers highly edited resources designed for teachers to use in their classrooms; you will find resources organized by collection, era, theme, and assignment type.
InTech
A multidisciplinary Open Access publisher of books and journals covering the fields of Science, Technology and Medicine. InTech has published more than 850 Open Access books, and provides support services for faculty who wish to publish a book or journal and make it available via Open Access.
Internet Archive
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
L4: Living Lab Learning Library
The Living Lab Learning Library is an assignment repository and resources exchange developed by NY City Tech, CUNY. The site allows educators to upload and share innovative teaching practices, assignments, and classroom exercises..
LibriVox
A community of volunteers from all over the world who record public domain texts: poetry, short stories, whole books, even dramatic works, in many different languages. All LibriVox recordings are in the public domain in the USA and available as free downloads on the internet.
Lumen Learning
Lumen Learning is a learning management system (LMS) specifically designed for OER courses. The platform offers a course catalog that hosts content for courses across several disciplines and even contains some fully designed courses complete with assessments and evaluations. course content and a few fully designed courses. For a fee, the Lumen platform also offers courseware packages (Candela, Waymaker, and OHM) where instructors can house their OER material and also manage/run their classes..
MERLOT II
MERLOT II (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching) is an online database of open educational resources from across the web. The platform contains everything from full text books, to references guides, full courses, case studies, online collections, and more..
MIT OpenCourseware
MIT OpenCourseware is an online repository with course materials for over 2340 courses developed for MIT’s online learning outlets. Courses are listed by topic, instructional approach, and materials..
OER Commons
OER Commons aggregates and organizes OER materials ranging from labs to textbooks to full courses by subject area, grade levels, and type of material. The robust search and and filtering functionalities make it easy to find materials that might be of use in for courses in many disciplines.
Open Access Publishing in European Networks
The OAPEN Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of Humanities and Social Sciences. OAPEN has books in multiple languages and covering a large variety of topics. There is a range of licensing for the books, but each books is clearly marked with the license.
Open Culture
Open Culture brings together high-quality cultural & educational media for the worldwide lifelong learning community.
OpenStax College
Produced by Rice University, this resource provides free professional grade, peer reviewed textbooks that meet the scope and sequence of most courses. Online versions are free, and print versions only cost the price of production.
Open SUNY
Open SUNY Textbooks is an open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries and supported by SUNY Innovative Instruction Technology Grants. This initiative publishes high-quality, cost-effective resources by engaging faculty as authors and peer-reviewers, and libraries as publishing service and infrastructure.
Open Syllabus Project
From their site: "The Open Syllabus Project (OSP) is building the first large-scale online database of university course syllabi as a platform for new research, teaching, and administrative tools."
Project Gutenberg
A volunteer effort to digitize and archive cultural works. Most items in this collection are digitized works from the public domain, making it a rich source for those in the Humanities.
Saylor Academy
Saylor Academy offers course content for over 100 courses in various disciplines. Browse the course catalog to find lecture content, readings, and activities. Saylor’s curated materials come from various free and open online resources that are developed by expert educators. Most courses and resources focus on introductory and general education courses..
Smarthistory
Smarthistory is a OER textbook created by two professors who wanted to bring the artifacts of museums to students who couldn’t easily access them. Smarthistory provides a comprehensive collection of videos, images, and essays organized around themes and approaches relevant to the study of art.
Teaching Commons
The Teaching Commons compiles and organizes by subject open access materials from higher ed institutional repositories. Curated by librarians and their institutions, the Teaching Commons includes open access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, and more.
Words Without Border Campus
Words Without Border Campus is the educational sister site to Words Without Borders, the online magazine for international literature. The Campus site, geared primarily toward high school and college classrooms, draws from Words Without Borders’ rich archive of literature-in-translation and organizes it into national and thematic units, customizable to a range of courses and interests. Educators will find an array of resources to accompany each unit and reading, including contextual resources, background information, teaching ideas, and author and translator interviews. The site also houses a blog with news, updates, and reports from classrooms around the world.
Writing Commons
Writing Commons offers a repository of webtexts for college-level courses across the disciplines that require writing and research. Resources include materials on information literacy, ethical citation practices, style and usage, genre and audience, new media, and research and writing processes and methods.

Library & Academic IT

Library &

Academic IT

Library Support for Online Classes/Instruction: E-Books/Textbooks