Site debuted in 1991; now contains over 500,000 items. Its goal is to aid the casual listener in musical exploration. Provides biographical info & editorial reviews on artists from virtually every type of commercial music. Invaluable springboard for researchers; convenient demonstrational tool for educators. Editors maintain regularly updated curatorial blog. Visitors encouraged to sign in and submit own album ratings.
Arthurian/Camelot Project Bibliography: The Music of Arthur, A Listing
Interdisciplinary survey of materials related to King Arthur. Includes archeology, history, literature, music, and the arts.
Center for Computer Assisted Research in the Humanities
Online resources established by the CCARH at Stanford University. The site includes an archive of the journal Computing in Musicology, a searchable database of musical themes, and a collection of scores formatted for computational musical analysis.
Classical Guitar Music in Printed Collections
Index of guitar music found in published anthologies, searchable by title of work, title of publication, or composer. Includes incipits.
Billed as "the internet's premier classical music source," this site contains a chronological list of composer birthdays, individual composer timelines, composer-specific lists of works, a list of abbreviations in thematic catalogs, and lists of recommended books and scores.
Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology
Searchable international database of completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines. Currently contains over 14,000 records, including the corrected and updated contents of earlier printed editions of Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology.
Death notices, updated daily.
Provides online access to the bi-monthly music publication catalogues (or Monatsberichte) of the Leipzig-based music publisher Friedrich Hofmeister (1782-1864). Digitized collection includes catalogues issued between 1828-1900, which permit dating to within approximately eight weeks of any piece of printed music listed. Catalogues also include information about books, music periodicals, illustrations and portraits of composers published.
Archive that chronicles each performance in the Met's history, starting in 1883.
Searchable database including information on over 1 million composers and musicians, with extensive details on historical concert performances and venues. Individual entries include basic biographical details and citations for relevant books, articles, and reference materials.
Fun site which indexes national anthems from around the world. Complete with sound samples and sheet music, where available.
New York Public Library, Music Division
Based at the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts in Lincoln Center, the Music Division is an important research collection containing scores, books, media, manuscripts and archival materials, with a special focus on American music. Research materials are available for public use in the library's third floor reading room. For reference queries contact music@nypl.org.
Created by John Wagstaff, Music Librarian, U. of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign.
Significant World Wide Web Resources in Music (Prof. Bruce C. MacIntyre)
This site is currently used by graduate students at Brooklyn College for locating significant websites in music research.
Database of musical themes searchable by pitch, interval, solfege, contour, key, and meter. Results include score excerpts and MIDI audio files. Collaborative project created by researchers at Stanford University and Ohio State University.
Care and Handling of CDs and DVDs
The document provides guidance on how to maximize the lifetime and usefulness of optical discs, specifically CD and DVD media. It draws on accumulated industry knowledge and the results of specific studies by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).
