Skip to main content

Music: Dance and Other Media

Dance

From the Library of Congress, a multimedia collection of dance instruction manuals, ca. 1490-1920. Other related topics covered by the books (complete page images available): etiquette, dance history, anti-dance treatises, notation. Also 75 video-demos of historic dances.
 
A division of European public-service cultural television channel ARTE, shares dance and music performances from major venues in France and Germany for free.
 
Includes an extensive “catalogue” of every known Balanchine work.
 
Most authoritative American dance journal, founded in 1927; online version includes exclusive online reviews, "Dance College Guide,"&"Stern's Directory."
 
"Dance/USA supports the field with resources, expertise, and programs to preserve and make accessible the records of dance artistry and communities. The mission of the Archiving & Preservation department is to advance the ability of diverse dance communities to safeguard and share their legacies, as well as to promote education and awareness of dance archiving practices and dance history and scholarship. The department was formed after Dance/USA and Dance Heritage Coalition (DHC) began the process of integrating DHC's preservation, archives, and education programs into Dance/USA in 2017."
 
Laban/Bartenieff Institute of Movement Studies.
 
“Where media and lively writing come together to paint a full picture of a ballet’s creation.”
 
Founded by Lincoln Kirstein and George Balanchine in 1933. Site includes an extensive index of the company's repertory.
 
A website devoted to the legendary choreographer's life and career.
 
Based at the Royal Opera House in Covent Garden, the Royal Ballet is Britain’s largest ballet company.
 
In addition to his repertoire and an international list of upcoming performances of Tudor’s works, links to a blog with posts by various Tudor trustees.

Film

Collection of film, TV and radio scores at UCLA.

 

Online publication featuring industry news, technology updates, and resources for film composers.

 

Official website for the non-profit organization (formerly the Society for the Preservation of Film Music) dedicated to research, preservation, and promotion of music for film and television. Activities include archival research, audio restoration, publication, and oral histories.

 

Composer who wrote the scores for Orson Welles' & Alfred Hitchcock's most famous films.

 

Official website of silent film pianist and composer Judy Rosenberg, who is the principal pianist for silent film at the Pacific Film Archive in Berkeley, California and appears regularly at the Niles Silent Film Museum in Fremont. Site includes some biographical info, information about upcoming performances, and a list of films she has scored.

 

Among other treasures, the Center houses a significant collection of early manuscripts by Stephen Sondheim.

Radio & Television

Daily classical radio program with Bill McGlaughlin.

 

Radio showcase for the best young classical music performers in the United States.

 

"Features schedule listings for thousands of public radio stations and programs around the world. Follow the audio links to hear your favorite programs and discover new ones."

 

PRMS is a nonprofit organization founded in 1992 as part of a federal mandate to help public radio stations generate revenue through sales of recordings, videos, etc. Offers links and playlists for programs and affiliates nationwide.

 

Since 1979 this Newark, NJ public radio station has served listeners with quality, award-winning jazz programming.

 

Program info and listings for WNET, WLIW21 and NJTV; on-line programming created for the site includes interactive games, photos & music videos, research materials and “virtual” visits to rehearsals, art studios and other places related to programming.