Skip to main content

Music: Music as a Career

Music Education

Website of the organization (founded 1968) dedicated to the promotion of Carl Orff's pioneering music and movement pedagogy.
 
 

Composer & teacher Wendy Stevens’ curation of resources including teaching activities, worksheets, new materials, business tools.

 

Nonprofit organization connecting teaching artists with educational institutions and presenting live performances throughout New York City.

 

Nonprofit organization promoting the teaching of Dalcroze Eurhythmics. Activities include the American Dalcroze Journal, a biennial conference, scholarships and funding for local chapters.
 
Website of the international organization, emphasizing music and movement in classes for children (0-7 years). Website includes a regularly updated "Minds on Music" blog with educational tips and information.
 

Business service for teachers also provides a blog written by a rotation of the teachers who subscribe to the service.

 

Arts education organization advocating comprehensive music education in schools (formerly known as MENC). Includes news and resources for educators and a blog with up to date information on national education policy.
 

American organization (founded 1975) promoting the teaching methods of Hungarian composer and educator Zoltán Kodály. Activities include the Kodály Envoy and other publications, education advocacy, annual national conference and various workshops and activities organized by local chapters.

Getting Work

Helps staff both temporary & long-term positions. The account coordinator is familiar with musicians and their needs and goals.

Voice Teachers

Features include awards, info about student chapters and an "online, searchable database of bibliographical information and brief annotations from articles published between 1944 and 1996" in the Journal of Singing.

 

"An internet directory of teachers of singing" in the U.S. and Canada.

 

Founded by renowned baritone Sherrill Milnes and wife Maria Zouves, the foundation is dedicated to training singers and developing new audiences for opera. Activities include various intensive training programs, concert performances, and the Savannah Voice Festival.

Volunteerism

UK-based organization with volunteer projects in dozens of countries around the world. Primarily aimed towards gap-year students and recent graduates.

Medical Issues

Founded by Peter Ostwald (1928-96), Professor of Psychiatry at University of California, San Francisco.

 

One in five teenagers in America can’t hear rustles or whispers, according to a recent study published in The Journal of the American Medical Association. Many researchers attribute this widespread hearing loss to exposure to sound played loudly and regularly thru headphones & earbuds in particular. This site offers facts and advice on protecting young ears.

 

Organization offering resources for musicians dealing with depression and other mental and physical health issues.

 

A network of therapists, physicians and musicians.
 

Canadian non-profit organization focused on providing resources for hospice, long-term, and community care through music therapy. Website provides various educational resources including free "webinar" lectures.

Disabilities

Blog post by Ball State University Music Librarian Amy Edmonds in honor of Disability Awareness Month. Features information about multiple famous musicians and composers with disabilities and includes a short list of recently published books that focus on music and disability.

 

Launched in 2006, a non-profit organization that provides free musical instruction to individuals with disabilities in the NYC area.

 

This blog provides an annotated list of the "top 25 American musicians with disabilities from the Electrofied Era" (1940-present), which includes artists such as Hank Williams, Edgar Winter, Michael Jackson, and Stevie Wonder. Entries offer information about the artists' disabilities, musical achievements and contributions to American popular music.

AIDS

Not-for-profit organization which draws upon the talents, resources & generosity of the performing arts community to raise funds for AIDS - related services across the U.S.