Skip to main content

Music: Organizations

Competitions

The American Pianists Association's mission is to "discover, promote and advance the careers of young, American, world-class, jazz and classical pianists" by organizing a range of competitions and offering fellowships to burgeoning professional pianists. Website provides information about these fellowships and a calendar of events.

 

Plenty of chat as well as interviews with top cellists, tips on playing, news about festivals & competitions.

 

Competitors perform piano works composed by Kauder, who came to the US in 1940 as a refugee from Vienna, as well as classical, romantic and contemporary repertoire.

 

IAWM is a global network that works to increase and enhance musical activities and opportunities and to promote the music of women. Website includes information about IAWM's publications, concerts, competitions for researchers and composers, conferences, and advocacy work.

 

Features include awards, info about student chapters and an "online, searchable database of bibliographical information and brief annotations from articles published between 1944 and 1996" in the Journal of Singing.

Festivals

One of the leading summer music festivals in the US (established 1949), Aspen features over 300 concerts and events each summer. Young artist programs include a robust orchestral training program and an opera program presenting three staged productions each year.

 

Genre-crossing music festival founded in Knoxville, TN, in 2009. Featured performers and composers have included Philip Glass, Steve Reich, Pauline Oliveros, Nico Muhly, Bang on a Can, Joanna Newsom, Antony and the Johnsons, John Cale, and others.

 

New York's largest hip-hop event, an annual festival of music established in 2005.
 
 

Brain child of pianist Jerome Rose, the festival was founded in 1998, now expanded into a 2-week extravaganza of piano recitals, masterclasses, lectures and a competition.

 

Founded in 2003 by artistic directors David Finckel and Wu Han. Located in the San Francisco Bay area, the festival includes concerts, master classes, and a prestigious training program for aspiring professional musicians.
 
 
Annual festival celebrating seldom-played works of the piano repertoire. Distinguished artists perform recitals of music rarely heard in concert; the 2013 festival celebrated Charles-Valentin Alkan and Stephen Heller.
 
 
Summer festival in Charleston, South Carolina, featuring a wide range of opera, theatre, dance, orchestral, chamber music and jazz concerts and events. Founded by composer Gian Carlo Menotti in 1977.
 
 
Summer home of the Boston Symphony Orchestra, the Tanglewood Festival has presented concerts in the Berkshires since 1937. The Tanglewood Music Center offers performance and training opportunities for young artists.
 
 
Annual festival celebrating women composers, begun in 2005 by Eastman faculty member Sylvie Beaudette. Guest composers have included Jennifer Higdon, Melinda Wagner, Emma Lou Diemer, and many others.

Grants

Provides coveted grants to highly qualified performers, composers & scholars who plan to study in Europe.

Music Schools

This most prestigious of American conservatories announced the creation of a new classical guitar dept., headed by teachers David Starobin & Jason Vieaux, beginning in the 2011-2012 school year.

 

The Oberlin College Conservatory of Music, founded in 1865, is the nation's oldest continuously operating conservatory, and the only major music school in the country linked with a preeminent liberal arts college.

 

Oldest music conservatory in Britain, granting both undergraduate and postgraduate degrees. Home to the Yehudi Menuhin Archive, purchased by the school for $2.3 million in 2004. Archive includes letters from Elgar, Bartok, Britten, Albert Einstein; original scores by Mendelssohn & signed photos of Chaplin, Toscanini, Sibelius.

 

Founded in 1882, the Royal College of Music enjoys a worldwide reputation as a conservatory where performers, conductors and composers are trained to the highest international standards. Former students include composers Sir Arthur Bliss, Gustav Holst, Ralph Vaughan Williams, Benjamin Britten, Sir Michael Tippett, Sir Andrew Lloyd Webber; conductors Leopold Stokowski, Sir Charles Grove, Sir Colin Davis; singers Dame Joan Sutherland, Sarah Walker, Thomas Allen; and instrumentalists James Galway, John Lill and Barry Douglas.
 
 
Founded 120 years ago, the RC has developed curriculum, examinations & an extensive network of studio teachers who follow its teaching methods and materials.
 
 

School of Music is home to the Grawemeyer Award for Music Composition, one of the largest monetary prizes for music composition in the world.

Organizations and Associations

AIM supports interest in Medieval, Renaissance, and early Baroque music. Its publications are used by scholars and performers alike and constitute a major core collection of early music and theoretical writings on music. Since its founding, AIM has published more than 650 scholarly volumes including the yearbook Musica Disciplina.
 
 
Site of the American Musicological Society, founded in 1934 "to advance research in the various fields of music as a branch of learning and scholarship." Includes information about annual meetings, AMS publications, fellowships, grants, and a list of graduate programs in musicology.

 

Membership includes over 230,000 U.S. composers, songwriters, lyricists and music publishers of every kind of music. Through agreements with affiliated international societies, ASCAP also represents hundreds of thousands of music creators worldwide. ASCAP is the only U.S. performing rights organization created and controlled by composers, songwriters and music publishers, with a Board of Directors elected by and from the membership.
 
 

Americans for the Arts is the nation's leading nonprofit organization dedicated to representing and serving local communities and creating opportunities for every American to participate in and appreciate all forms of the arts.

 

D.C.-based advocacy group supporting professionals and young artists. Information on grants, awards and initiatives, as well as an annual conference and monthly webinars.
 
 

Website of the venerable music venue in midtown Manhattan, which has been central to New York City's live music production since it opened in 1891. Includes concert listings, information about Carnegie's education programs, and historical background.

 

Founded in 2004, CHARM  promotes the musicological study of recordings, drawing on a wide range of approaches, including computational analysis and business history. Website includes a discography of The Gramophone Company's 78rpm output, information on CHARM's residential symposia and other events, and links to articles that discuss the analysis of recordings.

 

All about chamber music jam sessions in atypical venues.

 

"Promotes research & educational outreach in early American music & dance." Includes link to "The National Tune Index," as "Early American Secular Music & Its European Sources 1589 - 1839."
 

Nonprofit organization connecting teaching artists with educational institutions and presenting live performances throughout New York City.

 

The Richard B. Fisher Center for the Performing Arts, which is located at Bard College in the Hudson Valley, is a multi-stage venue that presents innovative programs in orchestral, chamber, and jazz music as well as in theater and dance. Their website offers details about upcoming events, a virtual tour of the venue, and other information for potential visitors.

 

Primary functions are to safe keep and file Icelandic contemporary music and market it domestically and abroad. The Centre also provides information on Icelandic music, composers, musical life and publishes Icelandic music.
 
 

Official database for music scores from the Icelandic Music Information Centre.

 

A world-wide network of organizations promoting new music.
 
Works for high standards of professionalism, a greater appreciation for bluegrass music and the success of the worldwide bluegrass community.
 

A support network for musicians, teachers, students, listeners, scholars, critics & industry professionals engaged in all forms of improvised music.

 

"The Israel Music Institute is the first publicly-owned music publishing house in Israel; it also serves as an information centre, dedicated to the promotion of Israeli concert music. It is a non-profit organization supported by the Israel Ministry of Culture and Sport."

 

The Long Island Composers Alliance is a decentralized performing arts organization devoted to the presentation, preservation and promotion of performances of original serious music by composers living and working on Long Island.

 

Features include Directory of library school offerings in music librarianship; Placement service job list; Guide to copyright; links to local chapters including the "Greater New York" chapter.
 
Site for the local chapter of the Music Library Association (MLA), a national organization which promotes the establishment, growth and use of music libraries and encourages the development of music librarianship as a profession. MLA's regional chapters promote cooperation among music librarians and among libraries within a given region. Essential source of copyright information and job listings.
 

Founded in 1989 as a place for musicians to turn in time of medical, personal or financial crisis. The Health and Human Services Network pg. consists of 24 links to various other organizations such as Aid for AIDS, Career Transition for Dancers, H.E.A.R. & the Musician Recovery Fund.

 

Musicians On Call has been bringing live and recorded music to the bedsides of patients in healthcare facilities since 1999. Website includes information about how to get involved, local MOC branches, and testimonials about the healing power of music.

 

Arts education organization advocating comprehensive music education in schools (formerly known as MENC). Includes news and resources for educators and a blog with up to date information on national education policy.
 

Official website for the government agency includes information on grants and initiatives, weekly podcasts, and other resources on arts in the US.

 

Since 1917, a strong and effective champion for the protection of music copyrights in an age of rapid technological changes. Has worked to interpret copyright law, educate the public about licensing and safeguard the interests of its members.
 

Non-profit organization formed by the merger of the American Music Center and Meet the Composer in 2011, supporting new American music through grants programs, streaming, and online publication NewMusicBox.

 

"An organization of physicians and other allied professionals dedicated to improving the health care & treatment of performing artists."
 

The mission of the Society for American Music is to stimulate the appreciation, performance, creation, and study of American musics of all eras and in all their diversity. Website includes information about membership and upcoming conferences, publications, and links to additional resources.

 

Menlo Park, the "birthplace of recorded sound," where Edison received 400 patents, among them one for the phonograph. Click on site for "vintage recordings."

 

Founded in 1969 with the goal of understanding & solving voice problems. "Voice Care Information" provides links to articles on the subject.
 
Volunteer Lawyers for the Arts delivers pro bono and low cost legal services and information to over 10,000 members of the arts community each year.
 

VSA, an international organization on arts and disability and an affiliate of the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, is a leading organization in changing society's attitudes toward people with disabilities. The organization administers numerous awards and events that recognize the artistic achievements of young artists with disabilities, including the Young Soloists Award, which is given annually to outstanding musicians from the US and the international arena. Additionally, VSA organizes various inclusive programs and resources designed to integrate the creative arts into educational and community programs for persons with and without disabilities.

Summer Programs

A music camp in the Adirondacks with close ties to the Philadelphia Orchestra. Similar to Interlochen and Aspen but with shorter sessions.  Site provides information including lists and dates of available programs, names of faculty and application instructions.