Skip to main content

Music: American Music

African-American Music

Research centers and special collections that feature African-American musicians.
 
Site designed by Randye Jones, soprano and researcher.
 
New York's largest hip-hop event, an annual festival of music established in 2005.
 
A research unit of Columbia College Chicago.
 

Finding list for Ms. Jackson’s foundation’s archives (now housed at Emory University, Atlanta) which preserve the memorabilia & stories of the singers, actors, chorus girls, dancers & others who created the golden age of live stage shows in New York. DJ grew up in Harlem a block from the Apollo Theater & was a dancer in her youth.

The University of Pennsylvania Libraries houses the papers of the famed American singer Marian Anderson, who was born and raised in Philadelphia with close ties to the community. As part of a recently completed CLIR hidden collections digitization grant, the University of Pennsylvania Libraries digitized over 2,500 items from the Anderson collection, including several of her handwritten diaries, journals, letters, notebooks (presented here for transcription for the first time), scrapbooks, private recordings, concert programs and interviews. The collection spans the contralto's six-decade career as a concert singer and advocate for social justice. These materials complement an important collection of 4,000 photographs, which are also publicly accessible. The Marian Anderson Collection is housed in the Kislak Center for Special Collections, and is jointly curated by the Libraries' Curator of Manuscripts and the Music Librarian.

Bibliography on books, films, online articles, periodical literature, recordings, serial publications, theses and videos that can aid in the research of hip-hop as a part of popular culture.
 
Defines more than 1,200 words, products and expressions.
 

Detroit-based, founded by Kermit Moore (1929-2013), the African-American composer, conductor and cellist who was an advocate for greater inclusion of minority musicians in American symphonies. Moore was also the co-founder, in 1964, of the Symphony of the New World.

A discography of nearly 1,600 tracks from recordings of spirituals written for the solo voice. Aimed at the voice student and coach/teacher in need of recorded resources.

Papers of Fred Thomas (d. 2001), African American baritone, housed at NYPL. Includes records from Thomas' service as treasurer of National Association of Negro Musicians (NANM), as well as letters and ephemera documenting the singer's performance career.
 

Ten years in the making, the Center in Crown Heights opened in Fall 2014 on the site of one of the first free black communities in the US. Classes on gardening, graffiti and T-shirt art; a gallery hosts exhibits on African art and Brooklyn’s jazz roots, with DJs spinning at packed after-hours openings.

American Music

From the Music Division of the Library of Congress, an online collection of musical scores, recordings, photographs and essays documenting an important but insufficiently explored part of our musical past.

 

A digital archive of over 3000 pieces of American sheet music 1850-1920 from the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Duke University. Songs, marches, and piano music with illustrated covers, indexed by composer, date, subject and illustrator.

 

Database of musical events in New York City, 1862-1875. Director of the resource is John Graziano, Emeritus Professor of Music (City College; Graduate Center, CUNY).
 

Sponsored by the Sacred Harp Musical Heritage Association, which preserves & perpetuates shape-note singing & its traditions: the music, singing history, traditional singing practices, schools, singings, conventions.

 

The mission of the Society for American Music is to stimulate the appreciation, performance, creation, and study of American musics of all eras and in all their diversity. Website includes information about membership and upcoming conferences, publications, and links to additional resources.

 

Access provided to the digital versions of 450,000 copies of sheet music, anthologies & arrangements for band and orchestra and performances of the songs now in the public domain.

Other