Skip to main content

Music: Local Music Venues

Brooklyn Venues

The Brooklyn College Center for Computer Music was founded in the 1970s with the intent to "explore the creative possibilities of technology in relation to the creation of music, sound art, sound design and multimedia arts." The BC-CCM offers undergraduate and graduate level courses related to composition with digital tools and instruments, design of digital music and multimedia performance instruments, and audio production. Additionally, the Center hosts a variety of concerts such as the annual International Electroacoustic Music Festival. Faculty members include BC-CCM director Doug Geers as well as George "Skip" Brunner, Doug Cohen and David Grubbs.

 

New York's largest hip-hop event, an annual festival of music established in 2005.
 

A new 13,000-square-foot venue built to showcase contemporary music. Built inside a former sawdust factory in Williamsburg, National Sawdust presents emerging and established artists in performances with guest curators, ensembles in residence, and other regular programming.

 

Founded in 2000, the Opera Company of Brooklyn promotes talented young artists and seeks to provide affordable and accessible opera to NYC communities, sometimes in unconventional venues.

 

Located in Sunset Park, Brooklyn, the small yet critically acclaimed Regina Opera Company regularly stages full productions of opera classics, often featuring up-and-coming professional singers. Website provides details about their upcoming shows, synopses of operas and historical information about the 42-year-old organization.

 

Venue in downtown Brooklyn presenting a full schedule of experimental music and dance. Founded in 1978, the organization moved into their current location, a fully equipped 400-seat theater, in 2011.
 

Ten years in the making, the Center in Crown Heights opened in Fall 2014 on the site of one of the first free black communities in the US. Classes on gardening, graffiti and T-shirt art; a gallery hosts exhibits on African art and Brooklyn’s jazz roots, with DJs spinning at packed after-hours openings.

Music in New York City

Founded in 1967 by current artistic director Michael Spierman, the Bronx Opera Company produces two fully staged operas each season at Lehman College's Lovinger Theatre, generally selecting one known and one rarely-performed opera. Website contains information about the current and past seasons and details about open auditions for singers.

 

Website of the venerable music venue in midtown Manhattan, which has been central to New York City's live music production since it opened in 1891. Includes concert listings, information about Carnegie's education programs, and historical background.

 

Built in 2011, the DiMenna Center hosts rehearsals, recording sessions, and concerts in state-of-the-art facilities and at affordable costs. Located in midtown Manhattan, the venue was created by the Orchestra of St. Luke's in collaboration with the City of New York and support from charitable foundations.
 

Includes an archive that chronicles each performance in its history, starting in 1883.

 

Database of musical events in New York City, 1862-1875. Director of the resource is John Graziano, Emeritus Professor of Music (City College; Graduate Center, CUNY).
 
The National Jazz Museum in Harlem houses an archive of photos, videos, and music (including the Savory Collection) that relate to New York-centered jazz greats including Duke Ellington, Charlie Parker, Charles Mingus, and Billie Holiday, among others. The Museum also seeks to continue Harlem's jazz legacy by offering a range of educational and community events open to the public; further information on these programs is provided on the museum's website.

In addition to offering a schedule of this adventuresome company's repertoire, there is a history of the organization, a listing of job opportunities, and "tips to fine-tune your opera skills."

 

The largest performance history database of its kind, because of the orchestra’s longevity; can be searched by composer, artist or individual program. Built by examining old programs, reviews & index cards for every concert from the 1930s-1980s, when the concert entries were first computerized. Information for the NY Symphony concerts, which began in 1878, is being fleshed out and data is being added on the Philharmonic’s concerts at City College’s Lewisohn Stadium, its summer home from 1918 – 1962.

 

Includes extensive listings of “free and cheap” music, dance and theatrical events.