Skip to main content

Music: Non-Classical/Other Genres

Children's Music

Special kids' website that lets you learn about instruments, learn about composers, and create your own music.

Folk Music

Annotated list of some of the most important figures in the 20th-century American folk music tradition. Entries include links to Wikipedia and YouTube, along with a few of each artist's best known songs.

 

Irish, British and American folk and traditional music site that features lyrics, Midi files, and history behind the folksongs and ballads.
 
 
An extensive online index to traditional folk songs of the world emphasizing English-language songs. Over 42,700 entries, indexing over 2,000 anthologies. Each entry includes song title, first line of chorus, first line of verse and full bibliographic information on the source.
 
 

The "Official Woody Guthrie Website" features biographical information on this folk singer, a directory to the contents of the Woody Guthrie Archives (some of it digitized), lyrics to his songs, and details about education and outreach. In the 1940s Guthrie moved to a house in Coney Island, Brooklyn with his second wife Marjorie, where he spent many productive years.

 

A complete guide to the lyrics of folk singer Malvina Reynolds (1900-1978), with a discography and annotations compiled by Charles Smith, librarian at Western Kentucky University.

Jazz

Features reviews, artist biographies, columns, guides, and global news.
 
 

The American Jazz Institute is a non-profit organization that aims to "advance and promote jazz around the world." They maintain a repertory orchestra to play both new and archival material, house archival material (both sound recordings and scores) and make jazz works available for research and publication. Website includes access to their newsletter, information about upcoming events and links to related sites.

 

A New York City historical landmark and a museum open for guided tours.

 

Excerpts from over five hours of interviews with pianist and composer Dave Brubeck (1920-2012) and his wife Iola, including searchable transcripts. Organized by Brubeck's alma mater, University of the Pacific.

 

The Chicago Jazz Archive is housed in the Special Collections Research Center at the University of Chicago Library. Includes links to various jazz research tools (bibliographies, indexes, etc.) with an emphasis on Chicago jazz, a bibliography/discography related to the history of Hyde Park jazz clubs and recordings made there and an extensive bibliography of sources related to Chigago's jazz scene during and after the Great Migration. Also provides details on how to access the Archive and quick links to other relevant internet resources.

 

Formerly the Thelonious Monk Institute of Jazz. Founded in 1986 in memory of Monk by his family and others, the mission of the Institute is to identify & train a new generation of jazz musicians. Every year it holds a competition for young jazz artists in various disciplines, distributing prizes including college scholarships & recording contracts.

 

Finding list to the collection of jazz pianist, bandleader & composer who ended his career in Oakland, Ca. Contains papers, correspondence, compositions & realia (including Hines’ collection of cufflinks). In addition to material of biographical interest, also includes at least 9 cartons of charts (i.e. parts for arrangements) used by Hines’ various ensembles.

 

Louisiana curatorial and manuscript collection begun by General and Mrs. L. Kelmper Williams. Includes sheet music.

 

The Institute of Jazz Studies at Rutgers State University is "the largest and most comprehensive library and archive of jazz and jazz-related materials in the world." Though only a sampling of their collection has been digitized, this website includes a comprehensive list of their archive, which includes music, photos, history, instruments and memorabilia. Website also offers information about viewing the collection and current exhibits.

 

An organization dedicated to preserving the history and future of jazz and to promote jazz to the public.

 

Where to find jazz musicians in the movies. Valuable news & info section, extensive lists of jazz documentaries, feature films, and shorts.
 

Finding aid for the papers of the American composer, saxophonist and producer (1925-2008), housed at the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, Music Division. Includes correspondence and documents from Columbia Records, photographs and scores.

 

Finding aid for the papers of the composer, trumpeter and bandleader (1913-2008), housed at the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, Music Division. Includes scores (mostly big band arrangements), correspondence, photographs, scrapbooks and other personal documents.

 

The National Jazz Museum in Harlem houses an archive of photos, videos, and music (including the Savory Collection) that relate to New York-centered jazz greats including Duke Ellington, Charlie Parker, Charles Mingus, and Billie Holiday, among others. The Museum also seeks to continue Harlem's jazz legacy by offering a range of educational and community events open to the public; further information on these programs is provided on the museum's website.

 

Graduate of the Brooklyn College Conservatory of Music, Mr. O’Farrill, son of the late Cuban composer-arranger Chico O’Farrill, is the founder of  Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Afro-Latin Jazz Orchestra and leader of the Chico O’Farrill Afro-Cuban Jazz Orchestra, two of NYC’s most prominent Latin-jazz orchestras. He was  2008 Grammy Winner for “Best Latin jazz album” for “Song for Chico.”

 

Since its opening in 1961, Preservation Hall (726 St. Peter Street, in the French Quarter of New Orleans) has provided a venue for performances of New Orleans style jazz both by its house band (The Preservation Hall Jazz Band) and other visiting musicians. Website includes infromation about the nightly performances at the Hall, details about its educational programs, and a link to its blog.

 

Since 1979 this Newark, NJ public radio station has served listeners with quality, award-winning jazz programming.

Musical Theater

Finding aid for the papers of the American musical theater composer (1928-2010), housed at the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, Music Division. Includes scores and production materials dating back to Bock's senior year of high school.

 

Among other treasures, the Center houses a significant collection of early manuscripts by Stephen Sondheim.

New Music

Independent/unsigned bands showcase their artistry for fans and industry.

 

Pioneering new music organization founded in 1987 by composers Michael Gordon, David Lang, and Julia Wolfe. Projects include a summer festival for young composers and performers and the annual Bang on a Can Marathon.

 

Founded by "acoustic ecologist" Jim Cummings, Earth Ear offers a range of CD releases mixing field recordings of natural sounds with composed and improvised performance.
 

Annual festival curated by composer Judd Greenstein, featuring unconventional collaborations between classical and vernacular musicians.

 

New music series co-directed by Eric Moe and Mathew Rosenblum at the U. of Pittsburgh, Dept. of Music.

 

Database of more than 57,000 compositions by modern American composers, many of which include score and recording samples. Searchable by keyword, genre, date of composition, and duration.

 

Online music magazine founded in 1995 focusing on independent and pop music, including feature articles and album reviews.

 

Downtown music venue established in 2012 by entrepreneur Glenn Cornett.

Popular Music

Tribute to LP album covers with some cool links to other sites.

 

About advertising jingles.
 
 
Billboard Online is like its print version with charts in numerous categories (pop, jazz, rap, country, Latin, etc.). Also has news, features, Tunes on TV (a listing of musicians that are on TV in a given week), a new release roundup and a free search tool for artists' performance itineraries.
 
 

An archive & research center devoted to the study of American popular muisc from the pre-revolutionary era to the present. Provides easy access to the unique collections at the CPM which maintains research-level collections in all genres but specializes in rock music & its roots, various forms of vernacular religious music & the music of Tennessee and the Southeast.

 

The Library has an extensive periodical collection that covers all genres of popular music, including rock, jazz, blues, world, folk and country. Several serial publications are available including Country Music, Country Weekly, Creem, Crawdaddy, Music City News, Rolling Stone, as well as many rare or regional country periodicals from the 1940s and ?50s. Also available are country and bluegrass magazines from England, Italy, France, Switzerland, and Japan.
 
 

Official website launched in 2007 to celebrate the great 20th century singer's life and legacy.

 

Sells downloads of complete concert recordings; often takes overnight. Includes shows from the Radiators, the String Cheese Incident and Yonder Mountain String Band.
 
 

Curated by the Music & Media Center at Tulane University's Howard-Tilton Memorial Library, the collection includes independent releases by New Orleans-based musicians. The digital resource includes album art, band websites and information, and 1-2 tracks from each album.

 

“Music news and criticism Web site that, since it was established in 1995, has been a committed outlet for indie rock and its many tributaries, real and imagined.” (J. Caramanica, New York Times)

 

Website of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame's Library and Archives, which opened to the public on 1/17/2012. Includes a fully searchable catalog of library resources, a guide to the archival collections, and information about visiting the Library and Archives.

Women & Music

Honors life and work of the composer and violist, 1886-1979.

 

Provides a digitized version of the Wiesbaden Codex, "the most significant legacy of Hildegard of Bingen." The codex contains Hildegard's compositions, collections of her letters and linguistic writings, and her biography.

 

IAWM is a global network that works to increase and enhance musical activities and opportunities and to promote the music of women. Website includes information about IAWM's publications, concerts, competitions for researchers and composers, conferences, and advocacy work.

 

Yiddish theater icon's papers, housed at the American Jewish Historical Society.

 

Conceived in 2001 by Tara Rodgers, scholar, composer & musician, after observing the distinct lack of women active in the field of electronic music. Promotes the work of women artists, creates a resource on production methods more accessible to women & girls and provides online space for discussion of music and gender issues.

 

Annual festival celebrating women composers, begun in 2005 by Eastman faculty member Sylvie Beaudette. Guest composers have included Jennifer Higdon, Melinda Wagner, Emma Lou Diemer, and many others.
 

Features female performers active in the underground and independent music scene of the 1970s and 1980s. It is by no means comprehensive and in many ways totally subjective.