Skip to main content

Music: Libraries, Research Centers and Academic Departments

Libraries, Research Centers and Academic Departments

Provides access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. Materials from the collections of the LC and other institutions "chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning." NB: the LC has much more digitized content than what's found in American Memory, so users may wish to consult the The Performing Arts Encyclopedia, which is the portal to performing arts digital resources for the LC.

 

Includes the "Appalachian Ballad & Folk Music Collection, 1911-1975."
 

The online catalog for Paris' renowned library, recently expanded to include the Music Department's holdings dating back to the 16th century.

 

The printed catalogues are available online. Compiled over nearly 2 centuries, the scholarly catalogues of the Dept. of Manuscripts cover all types of handwritten material in western languages. From notes written on pre-Christian papyrus in the pre-Christian era to contemporary literary & political papers; also manuscript music & maps, wax seals, drawings, photographs & illuminated manuscripts.

 

A collection of books and resources viewable with the British Library's award-winning software. Includes musical sketches by Handel and Mozart, and a complete manuscript of William Byrd's My Ladye Nevells Booke.
 
Collection focused on the life and work of American composer and Pittsburgh native Stephen Collins Foster (1826-1864). Digital collections include Foster's sketchbooks and a projected collection of sheet music to include all published editions of Foster's work. Directed by Deane L. Root at the Stephen Foster Memorial Building, University of Pittsburgh.
 

An archive & research center devoted to the study of American popular muisc from the pre-revolutionary era to the present. Provides easy access to the unique collections at the CPM which maintains research-level collections in all genres but specializes in rock music & its roots, various forms of vernacular religious music & the music of Tennessee and the Southeast.

 

Includes links to the school's significant "Historic American Sheet Music" collection and to "Electronic journals and newsletters" among other features.

 

Among the riches housed in this collection (See: "Collection strengths & subject guides") are "Music" and "Jazz" materials, including Afro-American composer William Grant Still's papers and, in the William Gedney Photographs and Writings Collection, a large number of images or twentieth-century composers.

 

Provides access to digitized versions of scores and books in the public domain, many of which are unique to the Sibley Music Library.

 

A huge and formidable collection, not just on music but on other issues as well. Emphasis is on the period before World War II. Of the music-related materials, many volumes of A.Z. Idelsohn’s work, for instance, are available to download as PDFs.

 

Founded in the early 1950s by Bavarian-born Chicago wine importer Paul Fromm, the foundation has been located at Harvard since 1972. Fromm was one of the world’s most influential private patrons of music and his foundation has commissioned over 300 new music compositions and their performances.

 

Vincent (1898-1985) pioneered in the collection of sound recordings of the human voice. His collection, begun with Edison cylinders, is a unique record of the historical happenings (e.g. the complete Nuremberg trials) of the 20th-century, including a wealth of performers (actors, musicians, sports figures). At Michigan State University since 1962.

 

Music Division of the Library of Congress' portal to its music and performing arts collections. Site integrates the collections, commissions and live concerts of LC. Thousands of materials digitized from vast collections of sheet music, sound-recordings, moving images, manuscripts, photographs, oral histories plus essays by LC staff and others.

 

"The International Association of Music Libraries, Archives, and Documentation Centers encourages and promotes the activities of music libraries, archives, and documentation centers to support and facilitate the realization of projects in music bibliography, music documentation, and music library and information science at national and international levels."

 

Pierre Boulez’s musical research institute in Paris. Site reveals an embarrassment of riches (mostly in French) including composers files, program notes for IRCAM concerts with corresponding sound archives.

 

Important collection in Krakow, Poland, dating back to the 14th century. The library provides digitized manuscripts and early editions of major works by Beethoven (including the Sonata, op. 26, and Quartet, op. 131), Brahms, Chopin, Loewe, Mendelssohn (including the Violin Concerto), Mozart, Schumann and more. TIP: To browse digitized materials, use the Advanced Search function under "Publication description" for resource type "rękopis muzyczny" (musical manuscripts) or "druk muzyczny" (printed music).

 

The John Kirkpatrick Papers document the life and career of American pianist and scholar John Kirkpatrick through his correspondence with composers, performers, music educators, and family members. The Papers hold an extensive collection of music including sketches, manuscripts, and published versions of Kirkpatrick's many editions of music by composers such as Charles Ives and Carl Ruggles. This website offers a detailed list of what is included in the collection and describes how it has been archived at the Irving S. Gilmore Music Library of Yale University.

 

Selected manuscripts from Juilliard's Peter Jay Sharp Special Collections including the extensive Eugène Ysaÿe materials, along with the manuscripts donated to Juilliard in February 2006 by Bruce Kovner and the Arthur Rubinstein Music Collection. The site uses permanent URLs for each individual manuscript, allowing users to link directly to a specific source.

 

Digital versions of more than 40 celebrated music manuscripts from its extraordinary permanent collection. Includes such works as Beethoven’s Violin and piano sonata, op.96; Chopin’s Poloniase, op.53; Debussy’s En Sourdine; Haydn’s Symphony no.91; Mahler’s Symphony no.5; Mendelssohn’s Calm sea & Prosperous Voyage; Mozart’s Piano concerto, K.537; Schubert’s Impromptus, D.935.  Eventually as many as 900 manuscripts will be added. Users can zoom in on each image, allowing greater detail than is possible with the naked eye. Also a feature that permits side-by-side comparisons of 2 pages within a manuscript. Images and accompanying citations can be printed.

 

The Musical Treasures Consortium provides online access to the musical archive collections of various libraries, including the Library of Congress and the Juillard School Library. Collections contain manuscripts of valued musical works as well as metadata about each item. Database can be searched or browsed.

 

Based at the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts in Lincoln Center, the Music Division is an important research collection containing scores, books, media, manuscripts and archival materials, with a special focus on American music. Research materials are available for public use in the library's third floor reading room. For reference queries contact music@nypl.org.

 

An international research center for the music of the 20th and 21st centuries with some 80 estates & collections from leading composers & performers, including Edgard Varèse, Elliott Carter, Morton Feldman, Stefan Wolpe, Pierre Boulez.

Link to "Corsair," the online research resource of Morgan Library. Check out "Music manuscripts and books."
 
Online home of the Schoenberg Center, established in 1998 in Vienna. Website includes an extensive collection of digitized music manuscripts, recordings, art, and other materials related to the composer.
 
 

Streaming audio archive of more than 10,000 cylinder recordings from the late 1800s and early 1900s housed at the UC Santa Barbara Library, including vaudeville, opera, country music, ethnic music, historical speeches, and more. In addition to curated thematic playlists, the entire collection is searchable by genre, date, keyword, author, subject, or year. 

 

Estimable music library founded in 1947 by musicologists Manfred Bukofzer and Vincent Duckles; special collections include early Italian music (esp. Tartini) and music theory manuscripts, scores and sketches of Ernest Bloch, and the music library of pianist Alfred Cortot. Website also includes helpful links to resources on copyright, librarianship, and other topics.

 

Music Library serving UNT's College of Music. Special collections include recordings and papers of Duke Ellington and other big band stars; and the Jean-Baptiste Lully Collection, offering digitized early editions of the composer's operas and ballets.

 

Among other treasures, the Center houses a significant collection of early manuscripts by Stephen Sondheim.