Skip to main content

Music: World Music/Ethnomusicology

Caribbean Music

Brooklyn-based site featuring music, community & entertainment news & lots more, including book reviews and outlets to promote new music.

Islamic Culture

Teaching both girls and boys, this Kabul school’s mission is to reach the most disadvantaged members of Afghan society.
 

Muslim World Music Day, a website supported by The ARChive of Contemporary Music, is "an online effort to identify and catalog all the recordings of Muslim music in the world." The site includes a frequently updated list of concerts and other events as well as a fully searchable database of nearly 10,000 recordings of Muslim music.

Jewish Music

Purpose of the Society is the scholarly advocacy of Jewish music topics. Its peer-reviewed journal is “Musica Judaica."

 

Link to Brooklyn College Music Master's alum Matt Tempkin's masters thesis.
 

Part of the Center for Digital Initiatives, this site features a searchable database of Brown University's digital Yiddish sheet music collection.

 

Audio archive of Judeo-Spanish ballads and other oral literature, compiled by scholars at UC Davis and UC Santa Cruz.
 

A huge and formidable collection, not just on music but on other issues as well. Emphasis is on the period before World War II. Of the music-related materials, many volumes of A.Z. Idelsohn’s work, for instance, are available to download as PDFs.

 

Features include hundreds of Hebrew songs transliterated & translated into English; links to Jewish music web sites around the world; an index to 150 Psalms in English translation & Hebrew transliteration.
 

Dances of the Jews of Eastern Europe.

Large archival collection of dance music available for sale. Instructional videos free online with registration.
 
The only academic institution in the world fully dedicated to the documentation, research and publication of scholarly materials about Jewish music. The main task of the JMRC consists on collecting and studying all documents pertaining to the musical traditions and the musical life of Jewish communities, past and present. The work of the JMRC encompasses two main areas: ethnomusicology, which deals with Jewish oral traditions, and historically-oriented research based on written documentation.
 
Online index founded in 1998 with over 350 categorized, annotated links, as well as an extensive bibliography for "Starting Research in Jewish Music."
 
Commemoration of Jewish musicians in Poland between the World Wars and during the Holocaust.
 
Hebrew and Yiddish songs arranged for 2-3 melody instruments, piano & bass; excellent for use with children's groups.
 
Links to articles; citations for critical print sources.
 
LEBEDEFF: Aaron Lebedeff
Site devoted to popular Yiddish singer & actor of the "Golden Age of Yiddish Theater." Features lyrics, mp3s, biography and more.
 
Site allows entree to the catalog of one of the world's great Judaica libraries. Another feature is "News about Jews," containing digitized images of 259 American newspapers from the Abraham & Deborah Karp Collection of Early American Judaica (1782-1898).
 
Information about the Archive's vast recorded panorama of "American Jewish" music, both sacred and secular. More than 600 works have been newly recorded on 50 CDs thus far for this multi-year project.
 

Music in the ghettos and camps.

 

Yiddish theater icon's papers, housed at the American Jewish Historical Society.

 

“A repository of mostly Ashkenazi Jewish liturgical music.” Downloads of sheet music, MIDI music files and recordings, much of it in the public domain.

 

Chronicles the first 100 years of commercial Sephardic recordings. Includes survey articles on the 78 and modern eras, a comprehensive discography of Sephardic 78s, and a sample of a proposed discography of modern-era recordings.
 
Presented by New York's Center for Traditional Music and Dance in collaboration with the Library of Congress' American Folklife Center, this online collection includes songs recorded by Ben Stonehill in 1948 at the Hotel Marseilles, a refuge for Holocaust survivors in Manhattan. Categorized by theme, each song includes an audio file and lyrics in Yiddish and English.
 
Dramas, music, comedies, news, Dadaist poetry, Holocaust survivor programs, commercials.
 

YIVO sound archivist Lorin Sklamberg's blog: "to shed light on activities in the YIVO Sound Archives."

Latin Music

Located at the University of California, Riverside; founded & directed by Professor Walter Aaron Clark, musicologist and Chairman of the school’s Music Dept.

 

Graduate of the Brooklyn College Conservatory of Music, Mr. O’Farrill, son of the late Cuban composer-arranger Chico O’Farrill, is the founder of  Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Afro-Latin Jazz Orchestra and leader of the Chico O’Farrill Afro-Cuban Jazz Orchestra, two of NYC’s most prominent Latin-jazz orchestras. He was  2008 Grammy Winner for “Best Latin jazz album” for “Song for Chico.”

World Music

The 6th annual Daniel Pearl World Music Days event will take place on October 1-15, 2007.
 
Search the holdings of one of the largest ethnographic sound-recording archives in North America. Includes field recordings as well as commercial recordings.
 
Nonprofit organization that works to present traditional and contemporary international music and dance in the US.