Skip to main content

Music: Classical Music

Chamber Music

Database of works for clarinet and string quartet, compiled by clarinetist and professor Donald Oehler (UNC-Chapel Hill) from his collection of nearly 600 scores. Entries include information on each composition including country of origin, publisher, date, and an image of the first page of the score.

Composers

The American Composers Alliance, founded in 1937 by Aaron Copland, is a non-profit organization dedicated to providing its composer members a unique variety of services including professional representation of all otherwise unpublished works, registration of works for performance tracking and royalty payments, print publication and promotion, and library archiving of materials. The ACA catalog, licensed for performance through BMI, contains orchestral and chamber works from the early 1900s to the present.

 

Founded in 1977, the American Composers Orchestra promotes the work of emerging and established American composers through concerts, commissions, recordings, reading sessions, and other educational programs. Currently under the leadership of clarinetist and composer Derek Bermel and conductor George Manahan, the orchestra presents an annual series of concerts in Zankel Hall.
 
A collection of manuscripts by ten American composers dating from 1935 to 1996, housed at the NYPL Music Division.
 

 

BACH: Bach Bibliography

Contains references to more than 17,500 books, articles, facsimilies, dissertations and papers read at conferences and meetings.

 

Provides access to scores and recordings of Bach's Goldberg Variations BWV 988.

 

Free streaming audio of the complete organ works of J.S. Bach, performed by Robert Huw Morgan, University Organist at Stanford University. Live recordings from a 2009-10 concert series celebrating the 25th anniversary of Stanford's famous Fisk-Nanney Organ. Searchable by performance date or BWV number.

 

Culled from materials in the collection of the Ira F. Brilliant Center for Beethoven Studies, San Jose State University. Information on books, dissertations, articles and scores plus iconography, concert reviews, handbills, program notes, letters and bibliographies.

 

Beethoven's birthplace has scanned more than 5,000 manuscripts & handwritten letters & posted many of them on this site. Includes many documents newly available to the public. Also includes audio examples of Beethoven's works.

 

Housed at San José State University, the Ira F. Brilliant Center for Beethoven Studies has the largest collection of Beethoven materials outside Europe. The Center functions as a research library and museum, and sponsors a range of educational programs.

 

An online catalogue of works by French opera composer Georges Bizet (1838-1875), compiled by musicologist Hugh Macdonald at Washington University in St. Louis. Includes a short biography by Dr. Macdonald, bibliography, and works listed in alphabetical and chronological order, by genre or by opus number.
 

Housed at the Wisconsin Historical Society, University of Wisconsin (Madison, WI), the papers include Blitzstein scores and manuscripts, correspondence, journals, writings, recordings, and eleven volumes of scrapbooks. Includes a comprehensive finding aid, which can be used as a register to the 71 reels of microfilm held at the Walter W. Gerboth Music Library at Brooklyn College.

 

Launched in 2016 by the Kurt Weill Foundation, the site serves as a hub for everyone interested in the composer’s life and works, whether for performance, research or curiosity’s sake. There are plans to expand the site and include a more thorough list of unpublished works and comprehensive licensing info on works available for performance.

 

Founded in 1996, the leading US orchestra dedicated exclusively to performing new music. The BMOP has produced more than 80 performances, over 70 world premieres, and 32 CDs.

 

Established after the death of tenor Peter Pears in 1986 to promote the legacy of Pears and composer Benjamin Britten. The foundation maintains The Red House, Britten's home in Aldeburgh, along with its archive and the annual Aldeburgh Festival. Grants are available to support composers as well as performances of Britten's works.
 

A leading figure in the American avant-garde since the early 1950s, member of the "New York School."

 

Website dedicated to the American composer, operated by the non-profit John Cage Trust (est. 1993). Includes a blog by executive director Laura Kuhn and a comprehensive database of Cage's works, with detailed information on instrumentation, publication and discography.

 

Launched in honor of Cage’s 100th birthday in 2012 by the John Cage Trust and the New York Public Library, with support from C.F. Peters and Carnegie Hall. [annotation HR] A "living archive" curated by NYPL's Jonathan Hiam, site includes documentary and performance videos, manuscripts, concert programs, and ephemera.
 
Finding aid for the papers of American centenarian composer Elliott Carter (1908-2012), including correspondence, photographs, concert programs, and other materials. Donated to the New York Public Library in 1994.
 
A catalogue of the works of French clavecinist Jacques Champion de Chambonnières (c.1601-1672), court musician of Louis XIII, compiled by Bruce Gustafson. Presented by the Society for Seventeenth-Century Music, the complete catalogue is fully available online, recently revised to include several works newly attributed to the composer.
 
Over four hundred digitized early and first editions of Chopin's works, searchable by title, genre, dedicatee, and plate number. All scores from the Chopin Collection at the University of Chicago Library.
 

Provides a digital archive of over 5,500 of Chopin’s first editions as well as excerpts of the Annotated Catalogue of Chopin's First Editions (co-authored by Christophe Grabowski and John Rink, 2009). Each first edition appears along with excerpts from the Annotated Catalogue and commentary on textual characteristics.

 

Official site of the composer (b.1938) featuring biography, discography, writings, scores, listening samples and other resources.

 

Finding aid for the papers of the Pulitzer Prize winning American composer (1913-2008), housed at the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, Music Division. Includes scores, correspondence and other personal documents.

 

Links to primary and secondary sources about the life and works of this important 20thC American composer.

 

Finding aid for the papers of the American composer and educator (1906-1997), housed at the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, Music Division. Includes scores, unpublished manuscripts, correspondence and lectures.

 

Frog Peak Music is a composers collective dedicated to publishing and producing experimental works by its member artists.

 

Acquaints the reader with the music and writings of Kyle Gann, composer, musicologist, music critic and former visiting professor at Brooklyn College.

 

Papers of the author of Charles T. Griffes: The Life of an American Composer, held at the NYPL Music Division. Includes Maisel's correspondence and other source materials for the book.
 

Finding aid for the papers of the pioneering American modernist composer (1884-1964), housed at the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, Music Division. Includes scores, sketches and correspondence.

 

The "Official Woody Guthrie Website" features biographical information on this folk singer, a directory to the contents of the Woody Guthrie Archives (some of it digitized), lyrics to his songs, and details about education and outreach. In the 1940s Guthrie moved to a house in Coney Island, Brooklyn with his second wife Marjorie, where he spent many productive years.

 

Site supported by the Handel Institute, established in 1987, “the principle means whereby British Handel scholarship is channeled into the “Hallische Handel-Ausgabe” (HHA).”

 

Composer who wrote the scores for Orson Welles' & Alfred Hitchcock's most famous films.

 

Provides a digitized version of the Wiesbaden Codex, "the most significant legacy of Hildegard of Bingen." The codex contains Hildegard's compositions, collections of her letters and linguistic writings, and her biography.

 

The papers of Mary Howe (1882-1964), composer and patron, housed at NYPL. Includes documentation of the early history of the National Symphony Orchestra, of which Ms. Howe was a co-founder and board member for many years.
 

James Sinclair's exhaustive catalogue of Ives' music, including incipits and identification of musical quotations. Finding aid for the Charles Ives Papers at the Irving S. Gilmore Music Library, Yale University.

 

Though The Leos Janacek Society was dissolved in 2011, their website is maintained and continues to offer a list of the composer's works by genre--many of which have been supplemented with additional information--including some musical analysis. Site also includes articles on Janacek, which are arranged in alphabetical order. Text is in German; English and Czech translations are occasionally offered.

 

"A non-profit database begun in 2000, which aims to provide composers, listeners, performers, and researchers with a source of information about the music of our time."

 

The Long Island Composers Alliance is a decentralized performing arts organization devoted to the presentation, preservation and promotion of performances of original serious music by composers living and working on Long Island.

 

Finding aid for the papers of the American composer and electronic music pioneer (1900-1996), housed at the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, Music Division. Includes scores, correspondence, writings and other personal documents.
 

Digital collection from the University of North Texas of nearly 30 rare 17th and 18th century scores of ballets & operas. High resolution images allow for detailed scholarly study.

 

Online resource including digitized manuscripts of Mendelssohn's Octet, Songs Without Words, and other works, as well as portraits, articles, and other materials. "The Library of Congress's Music Division is one of the world's major repositories of primary source material related to the composer."
 
Guide to a collection of Mozart first editions, early biographical works, autographs, and other publications, established by Dr. Eric Offenbacher 1987. Housed at the Eda Kuhn Loeb Music Library, Harvard University.
 

Access to letters in English, Italian, French, & the original German version as well as its modernized German spelling.

 

The Digital Mozart Edition is currently being developed; when completed, it will provide free access to the complete works of Mozart and various letters, documents and libretti, all in digital form.

 

Finding aid for the extensive collection of historical Mozart recordings at the University of Washington Music Library, with detailed information on performers and dates for each selection. Includes a gallery of color photographs of several record labels.
 
 

An online thematic catalog of the works of Carl Nielsen, prepared by the Danish Centre for Music Publication, Royal Library, Copenhagen. The catalog includes details of original manuscript sources, performance history, and primary texts.

 

Extensive official website for the American ultramodernist turned neo-romantic (1893-2002). Organized and run by the composer's son Severo, the website includes biographic information, a complete register of works, and audio samples; the scores of nearly every composition are available free to download.

 

Founded in 1993, this Archive is now located at Columbia University's Rare Book and Manuscript Library, and is the key repository outside of Russia for the composer, his family, friends, correspondents, and concert life in the early 20th-century.

 

The Carl Ruggles Papers contain the manuscript scores and sketches of Ruggles' compositions, as well as letters to and from various composers, artists, and writers. Ruggles' life and work are further documented by programs and clippings, personal papers and financial records, photographs, and sound recordings. Website offers a detailed list of what is included in the collection and describes how it has been archived at the Irving S. Gilmore Music Library of Yale University.

 

Online home of the Schoenberg Center, established in 1998 in Vienna. Website includes an extensive collection of digitized music manuscripts, recordings, art, and other materials related to the composer.
 

Offers digital reproductions of more than 500 autograph scores, letters and life documents of Franz Schubert. Includes the manuscript collection housed at the Wienbibliothek im Rathaus (Viennese City Library).

 

This presentation provides access to many music manuscripts from the John Philip Sousa Collection, which is housed in the Library Of Congress' Music Division. Also online are more than 450 pieces of printed music and historic recordings of the Sousa Band.

 

The original source for the music of this pioneer African-American composer, 1895-1978. Includes biographical essay.

 

Offical site dedicated to the life and works of Karlheinz Stockhausen.

 

Information Subscription Resource - Proxy Access CUNY Access

Catalog of his compositions & excerpts from his poetry.

 

Official website of the esteemed American composer (b. New York City, 1928). Includes catalog of works and audio samples.

 

Site dedicated to the works of Composer/Performer Richard Teitelbaum (b.1939) Professor of Music at Bard College.

 

Draws upon the archival collections of the Getty Research Institute relating to the work of pianist/composer David Tudor (1926-1996).

 

Finding aid for the papers of the American composer and violinist (1921-2003), student of Samuel Barber, housed at the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, Music Division. Includes scores, sketches, libretti, photographs, scrapbooks and audio recordings.

 

Instutional & organizational information about the Weber Complete Edition Projekt as well as about the digital edition of the composer's writings, diaries, letters & surrounding documents, presented here for the first time. All texts are encoded following the TEI P5 guidelines & are presented in an HTML as well as an XML view and (where possible) with a facsimile.

 

With works list, sound clips, and other text and image resources.

 

Stunning digital collection from Duke University includes large number of images of 20th- century composers.

 

Site focused on the German-born American composer and educator (1902-1972) includes news, a comprehensive work list, discography, and recollections from former students.

Conductors

Expanding on an exhibition centered on the legendary maestro at Harvard's Loeb Music Library in 2011, the site includes scores with Solti's annotations, photographs, video and audio.

Early Music

Founded by Martin Pearlman in 1973, Boston Baroque is one of North America's first Baroque orchestras performing on period instruments. Website includes a 24-hour free internet radio station.
 
A catalogue of the works of French clavecinist Jacques Champion de Chambonnières (c.1601-1672), court musician of Louis XIII, compiled by Bruce Gustafson. Presented by the Society for Seventeenth-Century Music, the complete catalogue is fully available online, recently revised to include several works newly attributed to the composer.
 

DIAMM (the Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music) is a leading resource for the study of medieval manuscripts.

 

Table of contents of this scholarly journal available online from 1996.
 
A publisher of books for the most part concerned with music in the Middle Ages.
 
Bibliography of secondary literature on early music pedagogy, compiled by musicologist Cynthia J. Cyrus of Vanderbilt University. Searchable database of over 250 sources including a "must read" list by the editor.
 

"Presents the full facsmile of the manuscript New York, Morgan, M. 905, vols. I and II, selected chants recorded by the Schola Hungarica, videos with background information and critical commentary in English and German, a codicological report, archival sources, and bibliography."

 

The first attempt to record in a single reference work the location of every known manuscript of every known Latin chronicle of the Middle Ages.
 
Online edition of the 15th-century theorist's writings, to include eventually all twelve of his treatises. Critical editions of the original Latin text and English translation available for side-by-side reading. A project of Birmingham Conservatoire's Early Music Theory website.

Musicologists

Finding aid for the papers of the distinguished American musicologist (1906-1992), housed at the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, Music Division. Includes correspondence and materials related to his books and research, primarily focused on music of the Americas.

 

This finding aid details the contents of the H. Wiley Hitchcock papers, which are housed at the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts. Professor Hitchcock (1923-2007) taught at Brooklyn College (as well as at Hunter College before that and at the CUNY Graduate Center after that) from 1971-1992, during which time he established the Institute for Studies in American Music, now named in his honor. A superb and demanding teacher, generations of BC students fortunate to have taken his courses, eg. about Ives and French Baroque music, will never forget the experience. He served as president of the Music Library Association, the Charles Ives Society (1973-1993) and the American Musicological Society.

 

Finding aid for the papers of the Brooklyn-born musicologist and American music expert (1890-1964), housed at the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, Music Division. Includes correspondence, writings and musical compositions.

Opera

Founded in 1967 by current artistic director Michael Spierman, the Bronx Opera Company produces two fully staged operas each season at Lehman College's Lovinger Theatre, generally selecting one known and one rarely-performed opera. Website contains information about the current and past seasons and details about open auditions for singers.

 

Website of the London-based English National Opera (ENO). The company is known for its modernized productions (all sung in English) and low ticket prices.

 

Tenor Marcello Giordani has established the foundation to assist young singers in beginning their careers.

 

This is the YouTube channel associated with San Francisco's Merola Opera Program, which offers free videos of opera master classes and performances.

 

Includes an archive that chronicles each performance in its history, starting in 1883.

 

The Met offers free nightly live streaming of staged opera performances, which are accessible if one creates an account with the website.

 

Scripts for the Metropolitan Opera's famous Saturday afternoon matinee broadcasts (1933-1974) hosted by Milton Cross. Weekly broadcasts included biographical and plot information as well as interviews with singers and opera experts.
 
In addition to offering a schedule of this adventuresome company's repertoire, there is a history of the organization, a listing of job opportunities, and "tips to fine-tune your opera skills."
 

National association founded in 1970, presenting workshops and annual conferences as well as providing support to the opera community in New York and beyond. The National Opera Center, which opened in Manhattan in 2012, provides rehearsal and audition spaces and a library of books, scores and audiovisual materials. For a complete listing of OPERA America's on-demand streaming performances, click here.

 

Founded in 2000, the Opera Company of Brooklyn promotes talented young artists and seeks to provide affordable and accessible opera to NYC communities, sometimes in unconventional venues.

 

Throughout Summer 2020, OPERA SARATOGA: CONNECT! DAILY will feature performances by Festival Artists, premiering every morning at 9:00am on Opera Saratoga’s Facebook page. After they premiere on Facebook, they will also be archived on the organization's main website for your viewing pleasure! Each month is dedicated to a different theme, drawn from some of the programming that had to be cancelled as part of the originally planned 2020 Summer Festival.

 

Dedicated to the renowned German baritone (1929-1998).

 

Located in Sunset Park, Brooklyn, the small yet critically acclaimed Regina Opera Company regularly stages full productions of opera classics, often featuring up-and-coming professional singers. Website provides details about their upcoming shows, synopses of operas and historical information about the 42-year-old organization.

 

Papers of Regina Resnik (1922-2013), American mezzo-soprano, housed at NYPL. Collection includes correspondence, photographs, scrapbooks, programs, clippings, annotated scores, and other items.
 
Site created by the Chicago Center for Professional Voice: resources & programs for a healthy voice.
 
925 records of opera, operetta and musical comedy telecasts. Joint project of Indiana University Digital Library Programs and retired faculty member Herbert Seltz.
 
Founded by renowned baritone Sherrill Milnes and wife Maria Zouves, the foundation is dedicated to training singers and developing new audiences for opera. Activities include various intensive training programs, concert performances, and the Savannah Voice Festival.

Orchestras

Founded in 1977, the American Composers Orchestra promotes the work of emerging and established American composers through concerts, commissions, recordings, reading sessions, and other educational programs. Currently under the leadership of clarinetist and composer Derek Bermel and conductor George Manahan, the orchestra presents an annual series of concerts in Zankel Hall.
 
Founded by Martin Pearlman in 1973, Boston Baroque is one of North America's first Baroque orchestras performing on period instruments. Website includes a 24-hour free internet radio station.
 

Founded in 1996, the leading US orchestra dedicated exclusively to performing new music. The BMOP has produced more than 80 performances, over 70 world premieres, and 32 CDs.

 

Venerable orchestral institution founded in 1891 by conductor Theodore Thomas. Currently under the leadership Riccardo Muti, the orchestra produces recordings on its own CSO Resound label, and presents the annual Ravinia Festival.
 
In an effort to reach new, untapped audiences, in June 2015 five leading orchestras joined together and began offering recent live recordings online on Google Play Music. The Boston Symphony, Cleveland Orchestra, London Symphony Orchestra, NY Philharmonic & Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra joined the initiative and now offer downloads for sale or streamed music to subscribers.
 
The papers of Mary Howe (1882-1964), composer and patron, housed at NYPL. Includes documentation of the early history of the National Symphony Orchestra, of which Ms. Howe was a co-founder and board member for many years.
 

The League of American Orchestras is an organization which links thousands of instrumentalists, conductors, managers, board members, volunteers, staff members, and business partners. The League's website offers links related to career opportunities, conferences and meetings, new research, and Symphony magazine online. Youth orchestras have comprised a distinct constituency within the League, and their site also includes programs of training, support, advice, and networking opportunities.

 

The largest performance history database of its kind, because of the orchestra’s longevity; can be searched by composer, artist or individual program. Built by examining old programs, reviews & index cards for every concert from the 1930s-1980s, when the concert entries were first computerized. Information for the NY Symphony concerts, which began in 1878, is being fleshed out and data is being added on the Philharmonic’s concerts at City College’s Lewisohn Stadium, its summer home from 1918 – 1962.

 

Online archive project going back to the Philharmonic's origins in 1843, focusing on materials from 1943-1970. Programs, images, press clippings, film, audio, video and scores, totalling over 1.3 million pages of documents.

 

Website of the illustrious American ensemble, founded 1900.

 

Created in 2013 to celebrate the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra's 125th anniversary, this searchable database of nearly every concert given by the orchestra is now available in English. The product of years of archival research, the RCO archive is one of the largest such resources available for public use.

 

Detroit-based, founded by Kermit Moore (1929-2013), the African-American composer, conductor and cellist who was an advocate for greater inclusion of minority musicians in American symphonies. Moore was also the co-founder, in 1964, of the Symphony of the New World.

 

Founded in 2007 by Artistic Director Eli Spindel, it brings together creative instrumentalists, composers and like-minded organizations & ensembles to collaborate on adventurous musical projects & present them to the public at an affordable price. Special emphasis on the work of living composers.

 

Michael Tilson Thomas' anti-"world of maestrodom" project: interactive, fluid, and creative, a celebration of the diversity of classical music and the passion of its performers.

Sacred Music

Has links to lyrics, historical background and a midi file.
 
Features hymns, devotionals and an interactive hymnal which one may sing along with.
 

Sponsored by the Sacred Harp Musical Heritage Association, which preserves & perpetuates shape-note singing & its traditions: the music, singing history, traditional singing practices, schools, singings, conventions.