Skip to Main Content

Beth Evans, Librarian - Introduction and Quick Tips: Books

An introduction to the Brooklyn College librarian, Professor Beth Evans, and basic tips for doing research.

Books From the Brooklyn College Library and Beyond

Available Books

  • The library is closed, but circulating printed books* may be borrowed and taken out of the Library. Details on borrowing printed books while the library is closed are below. They appear in OneSearch as "Available at Brooklyn College Stacks." Loan periods, or how long you may keep the book, depend on your status. 
  • Electronic books conform to a number of limitations depending on their provider. See details for each title following your search.

 

Books currently not available:

  • Some books in OneSearch are listed as Reserve Books and Reference Books.
  • When the library is open, Reserve books,* available on the first floor in the Reserves Room, may be borrowed and used in the library for a limited period of time (usually no more than three hours).
  • Reference books,* available on the first floor of the library, may be used in the library. 

Use the OneSearch box below to find books in the Brooklyn College Library.

 

 

Borrowing Printed Books

The Library is now offering a Book Request and Pick-up by appointment service for Brooklyn College students, faculty and staff for the Brooklyn College Library circulating collection.

  • Use this form to request physical print Brooklyn College Library books

  • Please provide as much information as possible about the book(s) you are requesting.

  • At this time, no requests for books from other CUNY libraries can be filled.

  • You will be notified via email within a week of your request and provided an appointment date/time when your book(s) will be ready for pick up or if the book(s) is not available. We will also provide you with instructions for securing campus access on your appointment date/time. 

Please note:

  • The book pick-up service applies only to books in the Brooklyn College Library. This service is not available for scans of printed materials in the library such as journal articles, printed government documents and materials in special collections.
  • The Library building is closed; there is no direct access to browsing or handling library materials
  • Books should not be returned to campus until the Library opens.
  • Your books will be automatically renewed.
  • Overdue fines and library blocks are suspended. 

If you have left or are leaving the New York City area permanently, please ship your books via UPS or USPS with tracking to:

Brooklyn College 
c/o Device & Book Returns 
2900 Bedford Avenue 
Brooklyn, NY 11210 

After shipping, send an email to devicerequest@brooklyn.cuny.edu that includes your CUNYFirst EMPL ID and the Barcode Number that is affixed to the book. This will facilitate the tracking and processing of your book. 

Question? Ask us! CircDesk@brooklyn.cuny.edu

Electronic Books

The Brooklyn College library provides access to electronic books freely available on the internet and others that require your remote access login. 

Finding E-Books in the Library Collection

Find eResources in OneSearch

Search for books

 

On the results screen you will see limiting filters:

Select Full Text Online to limit to electronic books.

Select Books or Book Chapters for all books.

Select Reference Entries for article level entries from dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, almanacs, atlases, handbooks  and more.

 image of ebook filters in onesearch

 

Books From Other Sources

When the books you need are not available from any library, you have many options for purchasing books. 

Brooklyn College WebCentral offers an online textbook exchange. 

You can also rent textbooks for a semester for less than you would spend to buy the book through Chegg,  

Consider visiting a New York City icon, Strand Books, and browse for the books you need in person.

E-Books (Available at All Times/Require Off-Campus Login)

Browse the ebook collections below. The ebooks available in these collections may also be found through title, author and keyword searches in OneSearch.

E-Books (Open Access & Always Freely Available)

These e-book sites require no login.