Brooklyn College Library LibGuides Home: SPCL 7823: Seminar in Bilingual School Counseling: Bibliography

Helpful Information on Accessing Resources Remotely

Course Legend
Off-campus Access

To access some items you need to login with your Brooklyn College ID and others you will need to enter a password given to you by your professor.

The following icons will let you know what you will need to do to access the items.

If an item has no icon, then you don't need to do anything to access it.

Off-campus access. New for Fall 2021: Use your CUNYfirst Username and Password to log in (same credentials for logging into Blackboard).

Password protected icon Password protected item. You will be prompted to enter the password given to you by your Professor.

Internet Archive Item. Need to create a free Internet Archive account to access items fully.

Open Access item. Free to use, no need to create an account to access.

Need assistance with off-campus access? Go to the library's Library Remote Access page for assistance and instructions.

The Brooklyn College Library's electronic resources (e.g. journals, ebooks, databases, etc.) are available to registered students, faculty, and staff when off-campus, including while abroad.

IMPORTANT: Starting Fall 2021

To authenticate for remote access to Library databases you will be prompted to use your CUNYfirst Username and Password to log in (same credentials for logging into Blackboard). You may see a redirection screen to the new login screen.
Using Firefox as your browser is recommended.
For further assistance go to the library's Ask a Librarian or read more on Library Remote Access.

image of page redirecting to login

Summer 2022 Bibliography for Readings

Bakić, A., & Škifić, S. The Relationship between Bilingualism and Identity in Expressing Emotions and Thoughts.
Bakić, A., & Škifić, S. (2017). The Relationship between Bilingualism and Identity in Expressing Emotions and Thoughts. Íkala, Revista De Lenguaje Y Cultura, 22(1), 33–54. https://doi.org/10.17533/udea.ikala.v22n01a03
Cervantes, A., Fernandez, I. T., & Carmona, J. F. Nosotros Importamos (We Matter): The Use of Testimonios with Latino Male Adolescents in Group Counseling
Cervantes, A., Fernandez, I. T., & Carmona, J. F. (2019). Nosotros Importamos (We Matter): The Use of Testimonios with Latino Male Adolescents in Group Counseling, Journal of Creativity in Mental Health. http://brooklyn.ezproxy.cuny.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=137070048&site=ehost-live
Elizalde-Utnick, G. Young selectively mute English language learners: School-based intervention strategies.
Elizalde-Utnick, G. (2007). Young selectively mute English language learners: school-based intervention strategies. Journal of Early Childhood and Infant Psychology, 3, 141+. https://link.gale.com/apps/doc/A220640561/AONE?u=cuny_broo39667&sid=bookmark-AONE&xid=7d0b6242

Hoffman, Eva. Lost in Translation
Call Number: E184 .J5 H63 1990
ISBN: 0140127739
Hoffman, Eva (1990). Lost in Translation: A Life in a New Language.

FYI: This link will take you to the CUNY Library catalog record for this book, where you will be able to see which CUNY libraries has this title. You can also search for this title in your local public library.

Hwang W. C. Acculturative family distancing: Theory, research, and clinical practice.
Hwang, W.-C. (2006). Acculturative family distancing: Theory, research, and clinical practice. Psychotherapy: Theory, Research, Practice, Training, 43(4), 397–409. https://doi-org.brooklyn.ezproxy.cuny.edu/10.1037/0033-3204.43.4.397
Ivers, N., Ivers, J., & Duffey, T. Second Language Acquisition: Cultural, Cognitive, and Clinical Considerations for Counseling Practice.
Ivers, N., Ivers, J., & Duffey, T. (2013). Second Language Acquisition: Cultural, Cognitive, and Clinical Considerations for Counseling Practice. Journal of Creativity in Mental Health, 8(3), 219–234. https://doi-org.brooklyn.ezproxy.cuny.edu/10.1080/15401383.2013.821920
Ivers, N.N., & Villalba, J. A.The effect of bilingualism on self-perceived multicultural counseling competence.
Ivers, N. N., & Villalba, J. A. (2015). The effect of bilingualism on self-perceived multicultural counseling competence. The Professional Counselor, 5(3), DOI: http://dx.doi.org.ez-proxy.brooklyn.cuny.edu:2048/10.15241/nni.5.3.419
Martin, A. Mixed System 1: A language strategy for bilingual families.
Martin, A. (2017). Mixed System 1: A language strategy for bilingual families. ELIA, 17, DOI: http://dx.doi.org/10.12795/elia.2017.i17.06

Martinovic, I., & Altarriba, J. Bilingualism and emotion.
Martinovic, I., & Altarriba, J. (2013). Bilingualism and emotion. In T. K. Bhatia & W. C. Ritchie (Eds.), The handbook of bilingualism and multilingualism, 2nd Ed. Wiley-Blackwell.

Pavlenko, A. (Ed.). Chapter 1: Bilingual Selves
Pavlenko, A. (Ed.). (2006). Chapter 1: Bilingual Selves In Aneta Pavlenko Bilingual minds : Emotional experience, expression, and representation. Multilingual Matters.

Perez Foster, R. Chapter 4, 5 & 7: The power of language in the clinical process: Assessing and treating the bilingual person.
Perez Foster, R. (1998). Chapter 4, 5 & 7: The power of language in the clinical process: Assessing and treating the bilingual person. Northvale, NJ: Aronson. (selection)
Perez Foster, R. Chapter 10: The power of language in the clinical process: Assessing and treating the bilingual person.
Perez Foster, R. (1998). Chapter 10: The power of language in the clinical process: Assessing and treating the bilingual person. Northvale, NJ: Aronson. (selection)
Perez Foster, R. Chapter 11: Conceptual Models, Clinical Interventions, and Hope for the Monolingual Clinician In The power of language in the clinical process: Assessing and treating the bilingual person.
Perez Foster, R. (1998). Chapter 11: Conceptual Models, Clinical Interventions, and Hope for the Monolingual Clinician In The power of language in the clinical process: Assessing and treating the bilingual person. Northvale, NJ: Aronson. (selection)
Rapisarda, C. Working with Spanish-speaking clients: Interpreter use or bilingual counselors.
Rapisarda, C. (2007). Working with Spanish-speaking clients: Interpreter use or bilingual counselors. NC Perspectives, 1, 21-28. (North Carolina Counseling Association Journal)
Rodriguez, R. Chapter 1 Aria In Hunger of memory.
Rodriguez, R. (1982). Chapter 1 Aria In Hunger of memory. NY: Penguin. (selection)
Rodriguez, R. Chapter 5 Profession In Hunger of memory.
Rodriguez, R. (1982). Chapter 5 Profession In Hunger of memory. NY: Penguin. (selection)
Shin, S. J. Chapter 1: Facts and Myths about Bilingualism InBilingualism in schools and society: Language, identity, and policy.
Shin, S. J. (2018). Chapter 1: Facts and Myths about Bilingualism In Bilingualism in schools and society: Language, identity, and policy (2nd Edition). NY: Routledge. (selection)
Shin, S. J. Chapter 5: Bilingualism and Identity In Bilingualism in schools and society: Language, identity, and policy
Shin, S. J. (2018). Chapter 5: Bilingualism and Identity In Bilingualism in schools and society: Language, identity, and policy (2nd Edition). NY: Routledge. (selection)

Sue, D. W., & Sue, D. Counseling the culturally diverse : Theory and practice.
Sue, D. W., & Sue, D. (2015). Counseling the culturally diverse : Theory and practice. John Wiley & Sons, Incorporated. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/brooklyn-ebooks/reader.action?docID=4189578&ppg=155
Swazo, R. Chapter 7 Developing Spanish Bilingual Materials and Techniques on How to Work with an Interpreter
Swazo, R. (2013). Chapter 7 Developing Spanish Bilingual Materials and Techniques on How to Work with an Interpreter In The bilingual counselor's guide to Spanish : Basic vocabulary and interventions for the non-Spanish speaker. Taylor & Francis Group.
Vogel, S., & García, O. Translanguaging
Vogel, S., & García, O. (December 2017). Translanguaging. DOI: 10.1093/acrefore/9780190264093.013.181 Retrieved from: https://academicworks.cuny.edu/gc_pubs/402
Wang, X.-L. Multilingualism and Family Welfare.
Wang, X.-L. (2012). Multilingualism and Family Welfare. In The Handbook of Bilingualism and Multilingualism (eds T.K. Bhatia and W.C. Ritchie). https://doi-org.brooklyn.ezproxy.cuny.edu/10.1002/9781118332382.ch22

Citations for Videos

Frenglish - Swearing: Montrealers on their language of choice words. (3:51) [Video File]
[Montreal Gazette] (2012, Nov. 12) Frenglish - Swearing: Montrealers on their language of choice words. (3:51) [Video File]. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/gmV84wwyZ0o
Importance of learning a second language Goldfish v. Kitty (0:42) [Video File].
[latinlord92] (n.d) Importance of learning a second language Goldfish v. Kitty (0:42) [Video File]. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/mzEjzL6_gyE
Jim Cummins on language and identity (4:14) [Video File].
[Binogi Pedagogiskt Forum] (2018, Nov. 6) Jim Cummins on language and identity (4:14) [Video File]. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/xuvFaNgAv88
Jim Cummins Reasarch BICS and CALP (4:01) [Video File].
[West Middle School] (2016, Oct. 19) Jim Cummins Reasarch BICS and CALP (4:01) [Video File]. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/N-JvqObf5qk
Man Speaks 25 Languages (With English Subtitles) (5:24) [Video File]
[Gabriel Silva] (2016, Jan. 2) Man Speaks 25 Languages (With English Subtitles) (5:24) [Video File]. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/6vtaIwn88hQ
Richard Rodriguez (6:33) [Video File].
[USEmbassy Madrid] (2011, April) Richard Rodriguez (6:33) [Video File]. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/zbcRQYMRqD0
What Does It Mean To Be Bilingual? (4:28) [Video File]
[Babble] (2015, Oct. 30) What Does It Mean To Be Bilingual? (4:28) [Video File]. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/ABcNewF69Nw
How language shapes personality (8:35) [Video File]
[Luca Lampariello] (2014, May 4) How language shapes personality (8:35) [Video File]. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/HhU3z2oYh3w