Brooklyn College Library LibGuides Home: PRLS 5710 Research Seminar in Puerto Rican &amp; LatinX Studies (Ortíz-Minaya): Week 6: Library Research Day

Library Research

Use the Brooklyn College Library and CUNY-wide library resources for student research on Final Paper Projects.

Contact Librarian Beth Evans, the subject specialist Puerto Rican & LatinX Studies.

Watch an hello message from your course librarian and check out some quick tips for using the library.

I look forward to working with the class.

Beth Evans

Brooklyn College Library

bevans@brooklyn.cuny.edu

Puerto Rican and Latino Studies
by Beth Evans Last Updated Dec 16, 2024 57 views this year

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch is a "discovery search" that searches across the CUNY catalog and many of our databases. Links sending you to full-text ejournals or ebooks will require a login.

Databases (Best Bets)

Contemporary Women's Issues (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Includes popular and scholarly content on issues impacting women globally covering topics including civil rights, health, education, professional development, and entrepreneurship.
Ethnic Newswatch (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch offers full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals from African American, Native American, Hispanic, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, and Jewish cultures. Featuring over 2.5 million articles, including historical coverage from 1959-1989, it is an essential resource for diverse perspectives in ethnic and minority studies.
Reveal Digital This link opens in a new window
Alternative Name(s) & Keywords: JSTOR Reveal Digital
Open Access documentary materials contributed and funded by libraries, museums, historical societies, and individual collectors worldwide. Currently available: alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals produced by underrepresented activists during the latter half of the 20th century.

Other Good Databases

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Good for all topics, this comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database provides access to almost 9,000 full-text periodicals and peer-reviewed journals.
Docuseek Complete Collection This link opens in a new window
Embark on a cinematic journey with Docuseek Complete! Gain unlimited streaming access to captivating documentary films spanning various subjects like environmental studies, sociology, anthropology, global studies, women’s studies, history, political science, criminal justice, health, psychology, the arts, and beyond.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar searches the Web for articles, books, and other scholarly materials in many different disciplines. See instructions for setting up the Link to Google Scholar from the Brooklyn College Library's website to access our electronic journal holdings via the "Find fulltext at Brooklyn" link next to any item the library has electronically. It's a great way to save time and avoid publisher paywalls. Also note this alternate search box for Google Scholar useful during intermittent moments of inaccessibility.
Informe Académico (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Access to a wide range of full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Excellent resource offers comprehensive coverage of the literature of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.

Helpful Information on Accessing Resources Remotely

To access some items you need to use your CUNYFirst login and others you will need to enter a password given to you by your professor.

The following icons will let you know what you will need to do to access the items.

If an item has no icon, then you don't need to do anything to access it.

Off-campus access. Use your CUNYfirst Username and Password to log in (same credentials for logging into Blackboard).

Password protected icon Password protected item. You will be prompted to enter the password given to you by your Professor.

Open Access item. Free to use, no need to create an account to access.

Internet Archive Item. Need to create a free Internet Archive account to access items fully.

NYTimes logo. Items located on the NYTimes site, access with free CUNY account.

Wall Street Journal logo (wsj initials). Items located on Wall Street Journal site, access with free CUNY account.

Need assistance with off-campus access? Go to the library's Library Remote Access page for assistance and instructions.

The Brooklyn College Library's electronic resources (e.g. journals, ebooks, databases, etc.) are available to registered students, faculty, and staff when off-campus, including while abroad.

IMPORTANT:

To authenticate for remote access to Library databases you will be prompted to use your CUNYfirst Username and Password to log in (same credentials for logging into Blackboard). You may see a redirection screen to the new login screen.
Using Firefox as your browser is recommended.
For further assistance go to the library's Ask a Librarian or read more on Library Remote Access.

image of page redirecting to login

All CUNY members have free access to The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal and the Chronicle of Higher Education.

Use CUNY.edu email to sign up.
Faculty & staff renew every year.
Students have access until graduation.
- renewal requires working CUNY.edu address.

NY Times: Anyone who initiates an account will have an active subscription for one year from the date she/he creates the account. If you already have an annual subscription to the NYTimes, you can cancel it and will receive a refund. However, if you only have a monthly subscription, the New York Times will not issue a refund for that month.

Newspaper Icons