Brooklyn College Library LibGuides Home: PRLS 5710 Research Seminar in Puerto Rican &amp; LatinX Studies (Ortíz-Minaya): Data and Research sources

Sources to explore

El Instituto, University of Connecticut
El Instituto is a multidisciplinary research and teaching institute that stands in service of the information needs of Latinx people in Connecticut and nationwide as well as advancing scholarship, creative endeavors and undergraduate and graduate instruction and academic advising across multiple disciplines in the fields of Latinx and Latin American studies. By merging Latinx and Latin American studies, El Instituto supports the development of hemispheric perspectives on issues of core relevance to both critical ethnic studies and world area studies: coloniality, race, migration, education, media, human development, health, visual and literary culture and human rights.
CENTRO, City University of New York
Disseminates relevant interdisciplinary research. Centro also collects, preserves, and provides access to library resources documenting Puerto Rican history and culture. We seek to link scholarship to social action and policy debates and to contribute to the betterment of our community and enrichment of Puerto Rican studies.
CENTRO, Rebuild Puerto Rico
Hurricane Maria, a devastating Category 4 hurricane, caused billions of dollars in damages to Puerto Rico and left 3.4 million island residents without power, potable water, and telecommunications. Recovery is estimated to take years. Centro has launched Rebuild Puerto Rico, an online information clearinghouse for the stateside Puerto Rican community and other allies to support disaster relief and recovery efforts. A Rebuild Puerto Rico newsletter highlighting new content on the online platform will be issued weekly and as needed.
National Institute for Latino Policy (NiLP)
The National Institute for Latino Policy (NiLP) is a nonpartisan center established in 1982 in New York City, originally as the Institute for Puerto Rican Policy (IPR). NiLP provides a unique approach and voice to the policy analysis and advocacy needs of the Latino community in the United States. Originally focused on the Puerto Rican community, our work has grown organically to include all Latinos and has gone from a local to a national focus.
Puerto Rico Citizenship Archives Project, Scholars Collaborative/El Instituto, University of Connecticut
The Puerto Rico Citizenship Archives Project (PRCAP) is part of a public repository designed to document the legal history of the extension of citizenship to the U.S. territories. The PRCAP provides a comprehensive overview of 120+ year story of debates over the extension of citizenship to Puerto Rico. It also provides public access to the key historical documents shaping this history. The main goal is to create a reliable public archive of primary documents that can foster new research projects on Puerto Rico and its relationship to the United States as well as on broader visions of U.S. citizenship.
STORM SURGE: New report on Hartford survey by Centro and El Instituto (UConn)
The devastation caused by the hurricane, and the limited and insufficient response from government authorities at every level, has resulted, among other things, in a massive outflow of residents from the island to destinations in the United States, including the state of Connecticut

Not sure how to access these items from off-campus? Here are instructions on accessing items from off-campus

Latin America Network Information Center (LANIC)
LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America. Our target audience includes people living in Latin America, as well as those around the world who have an interest in this region. While many of our resources are designed to facilitate research and academic endeavors, our site has also become an important gateway to Latin America for primary and secondary school teachers and students, private and public sector professionals, and just about anyone looking for information about this important region.
Inter-American Development Bank (IADB) The Latin American and Caribbean Research Network
The Latin American and Caribbean Research Network Created in 1991, this network of nearly 350 research institutes has proven to be an effective vehicle for financing quality research to enrich the public policy debate in Latin America and the Caribbean. The objectives of the Network are to leverage the Research Department's research capabilities, to improve the quality of research performed in the region, and to contribute to the development policy agenda in Latin America and the Caribbean.

Readings discuss research methods relevant for Latino, Caribbean, Africana, Ethnic and Native American Studies.

Build your OWN personal library. On your own, seek and read scholarship from: Gloria Anzaldúa, Gineta Candelario, Aimé Césaire, Frantz Fanon, María Lugones, Audre Lorde, Silvia Rivera Cusicanqui, Linda Tuhiwai Smith, Cornell West, Barbara Christian and Sylvia Wynter amongst others.

How to access e-resources from off-campus (click to expand)

The Brooklyn College Library's electronic resources (e.g. journals, ebooks, databases, etc.) are available to registered students, faculty, and staff when off-campus, including while abroad. If you would like to connect from off-campus you will need to authenticate yourself. Click here to Authenticate yourself now.

Instructions
If you are a student:

User ID = your 8-digit CUNY EmpID
Password format = FLMM/DD/YY
- FL = your CUNYfirst official First and Last initials (upper case)
- MM/DD/YY = your 6-digit birthday with the SLASHES
- Example: If your name is Jalil Doe and your birthday is November 21, 1998, your password would be JD11/21/98

Don't know your EMPLID? Check under My Info in the BCWebCentral Portal

If you are Faculty or Staff:

User ID: is found before the @ sign of your BC Email (e.g. jalil.doe01 of jalil.doe01@brooklyn.cuny.edu).
Password: is your BC Email Password.

If you need to request an account, use this account request form.

For further assistance go to the library's Ask a Librarian page, or use this form. If you want read more on Library Remote Access, .

Spend critical time reading on:

Joshua Kopin on Walter Benjamin’s on Critique of Violence
Ben Weiss on Slavoj Žižek’s theory of Violence
Jing Zhai on Jacques Derrida and Deconstruction
Charles Stewart on Foucault’s Power, Bodies, and Discipline
Juan Carlos de Orellana on Gramsci’s Hegemony
Michel Lee on Louis Althusser’s ideas on Interpellation, and the Ideological State Apparatus
Katherine Maddox on Ranajit Guha’s ideas about hegemony

Walter Benjamin’s Critique of Violence

Walter Benjamin on Divine Violence by Joshua Abraham Kopin
Kopin, Joshua A. "Walter Benjamin on Divine Violence." Not Even Past 18, Nov. 2015. The University of Austin. https://hdl.handle.net/2152/81667

Violence: Six Sideways Reflections
Žižek, Slavoj. Violence: Six Sideways Reflections. London: Profile, 2009.

Slavoj Žižek and Violence
Weiss, Ben. Slavoj Žižek and Violence." Not Even Past 14, Oct. 2015. The University of Austin. https://hdl.handle.net/2152/81667
Discipline and punish : the birth of the prison
Foucault, Michel. Discipline and Punish: The Birth of the Prison. New York: Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group, 2012. Access provided by Internet Archive Open Library. Free account with the Internet Archive required to read this e-book.
Foucault on Power, Bodies, and Discipline
Stewart, Charles. "Foucault on Power, Bodies, and Discipline". Not Even Past 16, Sept. 2015. The University of Austin. https://hdl.handle.net/2152/81656

All CUNY members have free access to The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal and the Chronicle of Higher Education.

Use CUNY.edu email to sign up.
Faculty & staff renew every year.
Students have access until graduation.
- renewal requires working CUNY.edu address.

NY Times: Anyone who initiates an account will have an active subscription for one year from the date she/he creates the account. If you already have an annual subscription to the NYTimes, you can cancel it and will receive a refund. However, if you only have a monthly subscription, the New York Times will not issue a refund for that month.

NYTimes logo. Items located on the NYTimes site, access with free CUNY account..

Wall Street Journal logo (wsj initials). Items located on Wall Street Journal site, access with free CUNY account..

PRLS 5710 Research Seminar in Puerto Rican & LatinX Studies (Ortíz-Minaya)

Sources to explore

Sources on Puerto Rico

Academic Journals on Latin America

Networks

E-books

Some Articles

Newspapers

How to access e-resources from off-campus (click to expand)