Skip to main content
COVID-19 Update: THE LIBRARY IS OPEN ONLINE! The Library building is closed; limited access to physical material.

Children's Literature: Home

Children's Literature at the Brooklyn College Library

*** Freely Available Coronavirus-related E-books for Children ***

The Children's Literature collection (located on the 3rd floor) is one of the Library's discrete collections. Students enrolled in children's literature courses through the English department (whether English majors or minors, or in the Children and Youth Studies program), pre-service teachers looking for resources for lesson plan and curriculum development, and faculty in the School of Education creating their own curricula or using children's literature for their research will all find the Library's collection of fiction and non-fiction valuable.

To meet the needs of these diverse users, the collection development policy for children's literature is one that follows a social justice ethos, celebrating, among other qualities, diversity of opinions, abilities, backgrounds, and languages. Guided by this orientation, a narrower focus of the policy is to collect resources which reflect the diversity of Brooklyn College, its surroundings, and students in New York City's public education system. 

While its primary focus is to support academic research, curriculum development, and classroom use, the collection recognizes the rich tradition and history of children's literature, and holds copies of classic and award-winning books, as well as more recent works of popular fiction users can check out to read for pleasure.

Researchers will also find that the Library subscribes to an assortment of journals (both in print and electronically) that publish research on the field of children's literature.

The Children's Literature collection is supported by a generous gift from Howard and Diane Wohl.

Library Services

CUNY OneSearch

Use OneSearch to search across library catalog, article databases, digital collections, and more!

Outreach & Instruction Librarian

Matthew Harrick's picture
Matthew Harrick
Contact:
2900 Bedford Ave.
Brooklyn NY 11210

718-758-8209 (office)
718-951-5826 (reference desk)
Website