Baldwin Library of Historical Children's Literature: Contains more than 130,000 books and periodicals published in the US and Great Britain from the mid-1600s to present day. Over 6,000 titles are digitally available.
Children's Library (Internet Archive): Books for children from around the world, from University of California Libraries, the University of Florida's "Literature for Children" Collection, the National Yiddish Book Center, the New York Public Library, International Children's Digital Library, and other libraries.
Children's Picture Book Database at Miami University: Picture book abstracts searchable by topics, concepts, and skills for building content area reading across all academic subjects. Abstracts of over 5,700 picture books for children, preschool to grade three. Search over 900 keywords. A useful collection for English Language Learners and adult literacy programs.
Database of Award-Winning Children's Literature: The purpose of this database is to create a tailored reading list of quality children's literature, or to find out if a book has won one of the indexed awards. Over 12,000 records from 142 awards across six English-speaking countries (US, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, England, and Ireland). Users can search for languages other than English, too.
Digital Public Library of America Children's Books: The Open Bookshelf collection has thousands of ebooks available for free, instant download. No registration or password required.
Digitized Children's Literature - Library of Congress: Digitized children's literature from the late 18th through the early 20th Centuries. Titles include A Little Pretty Pocket-Book, Intended for the Instruction and Amusement of Little Master Tommy, and Pretty Miss Polly (Isaiah Thomas, 1787), The Raven (Edgar Allan Poe; illustrated By Gustave Doré, 1884), and The Wonderful Wizard of Oz (pictures by W.W. Denslow, 1899-1900). Full color images; users can read texts in PDF, or by using the Library's Page Turner reader.
International Children's Digital Library: Access thousands of contemporary and out of print books/picture books in full text and in the original language of publication. Browse by country, title, author, and illustrator; search by keyword, age, content, and subject.
SurLaLune Fairy Tales: Features 49 annotated fairy tales, including their histories, similar tales across cultures, modern interpretations, and over 1,500 illustrations. Also discover over 1,600 folktales & fairy tales from around the world in more than 40 full-text Books.
Bank Street College of Education Center for Children's Literature: The mission of the Bank Street College of Education Center for Children’s Literature is to create, identify, and advocate for the highest quality literature for all children from infancy through adolescence. They ensure that such literature is readily accessible to every child, and to foster in parents, educators, and policy makers a commitment to the principle that good literature is fundamental to literacy.
