Skip to main content

ENG 1010: English Composition-Student Version (2018-19 Archive): Harlan, Chelsea

2018-2019 Archive Copy of ENG 1010: English Composition-Student Version

Course Overview, Objectives

ENGLISH 1010, An Introduction to Expository Writing

Description

Workshop in expository writing: strategies of, and practice in, analytical reading and writing about texts. Fundamentals of grammar and syntax. Frequent assignments in writing summaries, analyses, comparisons of texts, and such other expository forms as narration, description, and argumentation. Emphasis on writing as a process: invention, revision, editing. Satisfies Pathways Required Core English composition requirement. (Not open to students who have completed English 1.7.)

Discussion

This class will serve as an introduction to college-level composition. During this course students will practice and perfect strategies for writing expository essays and for engaging with different kinds of texts. Students will read actively and think critically about course reading and assigned writing. Students will write both in and out of class, with an emphasis on drafting and revision. Class will be split between writing, working in groups, and discussing readings and student work. Students will focus on the following: reading critically and writing analytically; developing and supporting theses and arguments; summarizing, paraphrasing, and synthesizing information from a variety of sources; structuring persuasive and cohesive essays; incorporating and integrating evidence into their writing using MLA documentation; editing and revising; using appropriate conventions of language, including correct grammar, spelling, and punctuation.

Course Objectives
Students who successfully complete this course will be able to:

  • Read and think critically
  • Understand how language operates
  • Express ideas — both orally and in writing — correctly, cogently, persuasively, and in conformity with the conventions of the discipline
  • ​Conduct research

Course Packet

Course Requirements and Policies

Required Materials

Freshman Common Reading: Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Course Packet: https://tinyurl.com/ycez9pwt

Grammar Handbook: https://libguides.brooklyn.cuny.edu/1010/grammar_handbook            

Attendance & Punctuality

If you miss more than four classes, you will receive no credit for participation. Four latenesses count as one absence. Arriving more than 15 minutes late counts as an absence. A pattern of lateness will affect your grade.

Participation

Participation includes completing and commenting on the assigned reading, contributing to class discussion through listening and responding to classmates or the instructor, bringing required materials to class, and engaging in peer review and group activities.

NOTE: Cellphones must be silenced and put away during class. The use of cellphones and other electronics is not permitted in the classroom, except under exceptional circumstances. Students should inform the instructor about these circumstances.

Reading

Class discussion is a critical element of this course, and participation is essential. Students are expected to have closely read and be ready to discuss all readings on the day they are assigned. There will be unannounced reading quizzes. Bring the assigned reading to every class.

Assignments

Essays & Other Writing: Students will write the following: a personal narrative (750-1000 words), two summaries (250-500 words each), an argumentative essay (1000-1250 words), and a compare and contrast essay (1000-1250 words). Students will revise each of these essays. These essays must be typed, double-spaced, in 12-point font, and formatted with one-inch margins. In addition, students will have an in-class essay exam. Students will be asked to complete other assignments, such as journal entries, in-class writing, and reading responses.

NOTE: Essays are due at the beginning of class. Essays submitted by email will not be accepted.*

Final Exam: English 1010 students must take a final exam. The exam is based on responses to two pieces of writing: one 5-7 page essay, distributed one week before the end of the term, and a second 1-2 page piece, distributed along with the question on the day of the exam. The exam will count for 20% of the final grade for the class. The instructor will discuss the test format in class.

LOOP workshop: The Brooklyn College Bulletin states the following:

All students in English 1010 will complete the required Brooklyn College library orientation, which will introduce them to the services and resources of the library, including access to and ethical use of its print and electronic resources.

Grading

The Brooklyn College policy on grading for English 1010 is as follows:

Grades for English 1010 are: A+, A, A-, B+, B, B-, C+, C, C-, NC or F. Note that the minimum passing grade is C-.Students who have completed all the course work but are not yet writing at the college level will receive a grade of NC; students who have not completed the course work will receive a grade of F. Students who do not pass English 1010 must repeat it the following semester. The course may not be taken more than three times; students who receive three grades of F, NC and/or WU may be dismissed from the college.

 NOTE: Essays turned in late will be penalized half a letter grade for each class meeting they are late. Late work will not be accepted after one week has passed from the original due date. If students miss  a class during which an essay is to be submitted, students are still responsible for submitting the essay on the same day (*the one exception for email) and bringing a hard copy of it the next time they attend class.

Possible grades are as follows:

A

A-

B+

B

B-

C+

C

C-

93-100

90-92

88-89

83-87

80-82

78-79

73-77

70-72

Grading Breakdown

Essays: 60%

Personal Narrative: 10 % Summaries: 10%

Argumentative Essay: 20%

Compare and Contrast: 20%

Final Exam: 20%

Other Assignments: 10%

This includes take-home assignments, in-class writing, and quizzes.

Attendance & Participation: 10%

This includes attendance, promptness, participation in class discussions and group work, etc.

Plagiarism:

Brooklyn College's statement on plagiarism is as follows:

The faculty and administration of Brooklyn College support an environment free from cheating and plagiarism. Each student is responsible for being aware of what constitutes cheating and plagiarism and for avoiding both. The complete text of the CUNY Academic Integrity Policy and the Brooklyn College procedure for implementing that policy can be found at this site: http://www.brooklyn.cuny.edu/bc/policies

The Learning Center

The Learning Center (1300 Boylan) provides free peer tutoring in writing by trained students. Students may attend weekly or on a drop-in basis. If you are interested in weekly tutoring sessions, please see me for a referral. You may make appointments for drop-in sessions by calling the Learning Center at 718-951-5821, by emailing LC@brooklyn.cuny.edu, or by requesting an appointment at the Learning Center’s front desk.

  Center for Student Disability Services

In order to receive disability-related academic accommodations students must first be registered with the Center for Student Disability Services. Students who have a documented disability or suspect they may have a disability are invited to set up an appointment with the Director of the Center for Student Disability Services, Ms. Valerie Stewart-Lovell at (718) 951-5538. If you have already registered with the Center for Student Disability Services, please provide your professor with the course accomodation form and discuss your specific accommodation with him / her.

Non-attendance Because of Religious Beliefs

The New York State Education Law provides that no student shall be expelled or refused admission to an institution of higher education because he or she is unable to attend classes or participate in examinations or study or work requirements on any particular day or days because of religious beliefs. Brooklyn College’s statement on non-attendance because of religious belief is located on page 66 of the Brooklyn College Undergraduate Bulletin:

http://www.brooklyn.cuny.edu/web/off_registrar/2017-2018_Undergraduate_Bulletin.pdf

Student Bereavement Policy

Brooklyn College’s statement on non-attendance because of the death of a loved one is located here: http://www.brooklyn.cuny.edu/web/about/initiatives/policies/bereavement.php

Important Dates

Monday, August 27 

Weekday classes begin

Sunday, September 2 

Last day to add a course

Wednesday, September 5

Conversion Day; Classes follow a Monday Schedule

 Last day to file for elective course Pass/Fail

Saturday, September 8 

Weekend classes begin

Sunday, September 16

Last day to drop a course without a grade.

Tuesday, November 6

Last day to withdraw from course with a W (non-penalty) grade.

NOTE: English 1010 is an Academic Foundations course. Brooklyn College’s policy on withdrawing from English 1010 is as follows:

Students are not permitted at any time to delete, drop, or withdraw from an assigned Academic Foundations course without obtaining          permission of the academic department involved and consulting the Center for Academic Advisement and Student Success.

The full academic calendar, including many other important dates, and the undergraduate final exam “grid” are available on the Office of the Registrar’s website: www.brooklyn.cuny.edu/web/about/administration/enrollment/registrar.php

Course Information

Brooklyn College The City University of New York 

English 1010,  Fall 2018

MON / WEDS:

Code: 17721, Section: M9CF
Mondays & Wednesdays 9:30 - 10:45

TUES / THURS:

Code: 18879, Section: TR9G
Tuesdays & Thursdays 9:30 - 10:45 am

Professor Chelsea Harlan

chelseaclaireharlan@gmail.com

chelsea.harlan@brooklyn.cuny.edu

Office Hours:

Mondays & Tuesdays 11:00 am - 12:00 pm
(
or by appointment)

Adjunct Office: Boylan 2311

3 hours and conference; 3 credits                                                                                                                                                                

Schedule

Date

Reading / Assignment Due

MON ~ 8/27

First class, Introductions

TUES ~ 8/28

First class, Introductions

WEDS ~ 8/29

“Real Food” & Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

THURS ~ 8/30

“Real Food” & Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

MON ~ 9/3

NO CLASS — COLLEGE CLOSED

TUES ~ 9/4

Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

WEDS ~ 9/5

CONVERSION DAY — Classes follow Monday schedule

Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

THURS ~ 9/6

Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

MON ~ 9/10

NO CLASS

TUES ~ 9/11

NO CLASS

WEDS ~ 9/12

Personal Narrative Rough Draft Due

THURS ~ 9/13

Personal Narrative Rough Draft Due

MON ~ 9/17

“Peculiar Benefits” by Roxane Gay

Short Summary #1 Due

TUES ~ 9/18

NO CLASS

 

WEDS ~ 9/19

NO CLASS

THURS ~ 9/20

“Peculiar Benefits” by Roxane Gay

Short Summary #1 Due

MON ~ 9/24

“On Dumpster Diving” by Lars Eighner

Short Summary #2 Due

Personal Narrative Final Draft Due

TUES ~ 9/25

“On Dumpster Diving” by Lars Eighner

Short Summary #2 Due

Personal Narrative Final Draft Due

WEDS ~ 9/26

“Men Explain Things to Me” by Rebecca Solnit

THURS ~ 9/27

“Men Explain Things to Me” by Rebecca Solnit

MON ~ 10/1

“The Careless Language of Sexual Violence” by Roxane Gay

TUES ~ 10/2

“The Careless Language of Sexual Violence” by Roxane Gay

WEDS ~ 10/3

“The Obligation to Endure” by Rachel Carson

“If Nature Had Rights” by Cormac Cullinan

THURS ~ 10/4

“The Obligation to Endure” by Rachel Carson

MON ~ 10/8

NO CLASS — COLLEGE CLOSED

TUES ~ 10/9

“If Nature Had Rights” by Cormac Cullinan

WEDS ~ 10/10

Analytical Essay Rough Draft Due - Peer Review

THURS ~ 10/11

Analytical Essay Rough Draft Due - Peer Review

MON ~ 10/15

“Is Google Making Us Stupid? What the Internet Is Doing to Our Brains” by Nicholas Carr

TUES ~ 10/16

“Is Google Making Us Stupid? What the Internet Is Doing to Our Brains” by Nicholas Carr

WEDS ~ 10/17

Analytical Essay Final Draft Due

THURS ~ 10/18

Analytical Essay Final Draft Due

MON ~ 10/22

“Growing Up Tethered” by Sherry Turkle

TUES ~ 10/23

“Growing Up Tethered” by Sherry Turkle

WEDS ~ 10/24

“The Case for Working with Your Hands” by Matthew B. Crawford

THURS ~ 10/25

“The Case for Working with Your Hands” by Matthew B. Crawford

MON ~ 10/29

Sample Student Compare & Contrast Essay

TUES ~ 10/30

Sample Student Compare & Contrast Essay

WEDS ~ 10/31

Take-Home Compare & Contrast Essay Rough Draft Due - Peer Review

THURS ~ 11/1

Take-Home Compare & Contrast Essay Rough Draft Due - Peer Review

MON ~ 11/5

“The End of History” by Ernest B. Furguson

& “Confederate Memorials as Instruments of Racial Terror” by Brent Staples

TUES ~ 11/6

“The End of History” by Ernest B. Furguson

& “Confederate Memorials as Instruments of Racial Terror” by Brent Staples

WEDS ~ 11/7

In-Class Compare & Contrast Essay (Midterm)

THURS ~ 11/8

In-Class Compare & Contrast Essay (Midterm)

MON ~ 11/12

“Consider the Lobster” by David Foster Wallace

TUES ~ 11/13

“Consider the Lobster” by David Foster Wallace

WEDS ~ 11/14

“Regarding the Pain of Others” by Susan Sontag

Take-Home Compare & Contrast Essay Final Draft Due

THURS ~ 11/15

“Regarding the Pain of Others” by Susan Sontag

Take-Home Compare & Contrast Essay Final Draft Due

MON ~ 11/19

“The Empathy Exams” by Leslie Jamison

TUES ~ 11/20

“The Empathy Exams” by Leslie Jamison

WEDS ~ 11/21

“The Empathy Exams” by Leslie Jamison (cont’d)

THURS ~ 11/22

NO CLASS  — THANKSGIVING

MON ~ 11/26

Exam Prep: The Rubrics

Sample Student Exam #1

TUES ~ 11/27

Exam Prep: The Rubrics

Sample Student Exam #1

WEDS ~ 11/28

Exam Prep: The Form

Sample Student Exam #2

THURS ~ 11/29

Exam Prep: The Form

Sample Student Exam #2

MON ~ 12/3

Exam Prep: Strategies

Sample Student Exam #3

TUES ~ 12/4

Exam Prep: Strategies

Sample Student Exam #3

WEDS ~ 12/5

Exam Prep: Any Questions?

Sample Student Exam #4

THURS ~ 12/6

Exam Prep: Any Questions?

Sample Student Exam #4

MON ~ 12/10

Exam Prep: Any Questions? (cont’d)

TUES ~ 12/11

Exam Prep: Discussion of Exam Essay #1

1010 Exam Essay #1

WEDS ~ 12/12

Exam Prep: Discussion of Exam Essay #1

1010 Exam Essay #1

THURS ~ 12/13

READING DAY — NO CLASS

FRI ~ 12/14

EXAM DAY

Assignment Schedule

Assignment

Due Date

 

Personal Narrative, Rough Draft

Weds. 9/12

Thurs. 9/13

Personal Narrative, Final Draft

Mon. 9/24

Tues. 9/25

Summary #1

Mon. 9/17

Thurs. 9/20

Summary #2

Mon. 9/24

Tues. 9/25

Argumentative / Analytical Essay, Rough Draft

Weds. 10/10

Thurs. 10/11

Argumentative / Analytical Essay, Final Draft

Weds. 10/17

Thurs. 10/18

Take-Home Compare & Contrast Essay, Rough Draft**

Weds. 10/31

Thurs. 11/1

Take-Home Compare & Contrast Essay, Final Draft

Weds. 11/14

Thurs. 11/15

In-Class Compare & Contrast Essay (midterm)**

Weds. 11/7

Thurs. 11/8

In-Class Compare & Contrast Essay (final exam)

Fri. 12/14

Fri. 12/14