Skip to main content

ENG 1010: English Composition-Student Version (2018-19 Archive): Diehl, Heidi

2018-2019 Archive Copy of ENG 1010: English Composition-Student Version

Course Overview, Objectives

Course Overview

This class will serve as an introduction to college-level composition. During this course you will practice and perfect strategies for writing expository essays and for engaging with different kinds of texts. You will read actively and think critically about your reading and writing. You will write both in and out of class, with an emphasis on drafting and revision. Our time in class will be split between writing, work in groups, and discussion of the readings and your own work.

Course Objectives

Students who successfully complete this course will be able to:

-Read critically and write analytically

-Develop and support theses and arguments

-Summarize, paraphrase, and synthesize information from a variety of sources

-Structure persuasive and cohesive essays

- Identify a thesis, whether explicit or implied

-Incorporate and integrate evidence into their writing using MLA documentation

-Edit and revise their writing using peer and instructor critiques

-Use appropriate conventions of language, including correct grammar, spelling, and punctuation

 

Course Requirements and Policies

Course Requirements & Policies Materials

  1. Freshman Common Reading: Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Americanah (required)

  2. Course Packet (required): Online at: http://libguides.brooklyn.cuny.edu/1010/Diehl_Heidi

  3. Grammar Handbook (required): Online at: http://libguides.brooklyn.cuny.edu/1010/grammar_handbook

 

Attendance & Punctuality: You should be present at every class. That said, I understand that extenuating circumstances arise and you may be absent up to 3 times without penalty; the next 2 absences will each lower your final grade by half a letter. Also, I expect you to come to class on time. Two late arrivals equal one absence, and a pattern of lateness will affect your grade negatively. Arriving more than 20 minutes late counts as an absence.

 

Participation: Participation includes completing and commenting on the assigned reading, contributing to class discussion through listening and responding to classmates or the instructor, bringing required materials to class, and engaging in peer review and group activities.

NOTE: Cellphones must be silenced and put away during class. The use of cellphones and other electronics is not permitted in the classroom, except under exceptional circumstances. Students should inform the instructor about these circumstances.

 

Reading: Class discussion is a critical element of this course, and participation is essential. Students are expected to have closely read and be ready to discuss all readings on the day they are assigned. There will be unannounced reading quizzes. Bring the assigned reading to every class.

Assignments:

Essays & Other Writing: Students will write the following: a personal narrative (750-1000 words), two summaries (250-500 words each), an argumentative essay (1000-1250 words), a comparative essay (1000-1250 words). Students will revise each of these essays. These essays

 

must be typed, double-spaced, in 12-point font, and formatted with one-inch margins. In addition, students will have an in-class essay exam. Students will be asked to complete other assignments, such as journal entries, in-class writing, and reading responses.

 

Final Exam: English 1010 students must take a final exam. The exam is based on responses to two pieces of writing: one 5-7 page essay, distributed one week before the end of the term, and a second 1-2 page piece, distributed along with the question on the day of the exam. The exam will count for 20% of the final grade for the class. The instructor will discuss the test format in class.

 

LOOP workshop: The Brooklyn College Bulletin states the following:

All students in English 1010 will complete the required Brooklyn College library orientation, which will introduce them to the services and resources of the library, including access to and ethical use of its print and electronic resources.

 

Grading: The Brooklyn College policy on grading for English 1010 is as follows:

Grades for English 1010 are: A+, A, A-, B+, B, B-, C+, C, C-, NC or F. Note that the minimum passing grade is C-.Students who have completed all the course work but are not yet writing at the college level will receive a grade of NC; students who have not completed the course work will receive a grade of F. Students who do not pass English 1010 must repeat it the following semester. The course may not be taken more than three times; students who receive three grades of F, NC and/or WU may be dismissed from the college.

 

NOTE: Essays turned in late will be penalized half a letter grade for each class meeting they are late. Late work will not be accepted after one week has passed from the original due date. If students miss a class during which an essay is to be submitted, students are still responsible for submitting (e-mailing) the essay on the same day AND bringing a hard copy of it the next time they attend class.

 

 

Possible grades are as follows:

 

A

A-

 

93-100

90-92

B+

B

B-

88-89

83-87

80-82

C+

C

C-

78-79

73-77

70-72

D+

D

D-

68-69

63-67

60-62

F

 

 

Below 60

 

 

 

Essays: 60%

Personal narrative: 10 % Summaries: 10%

Argumentative essay: 15%

In-class comparative essay: 10% Comparative essay: 15%

Final Exam: 20%

Other Assignments: 10%

This includes take-home assignments, in- class writing, and quizzes.

Attendance & Participation: 10%

This includes attendance, promptness, participation in class discussions and group work, etc.

 

Grading Breakdown:

 

Plagiarism: Brooklyn College's statement on plagiarism is as follows:

The faculty and administration of Brooklyn College support an environment free from cheating and plagiarism. Each student is responsible for being aware of what constitutes cheating and plagiarism and for avoiding both. The complete text of the CUNY Academic Integrity Policy and the Brooklyn College procedure for implementing that policy can be found at this site: http://www.brooklyn.cuny.edu/bc/policies.

Non-attendance Because of Religious Beliefs: Brooklyn College’s statement on non-attendance because of religious belief is located on page 66 of the Brooklyn College Undergraduate Bulletin: http://www.brooklyn.cuny.edu/web/off_registrar/2017-2018_Undergraduate_Bulletin.pdf

2

 

Student Bereavement Policy: http://www.brooklyn.cuny.edu/web/about/initiatives/policies/bereavement.php

 

NOTE: English 1010 is an Academic Foundations course. Brooklyn College’s policy on withdrawing from English 1010 is as follows:

 

Students are not permitted at any time to delete, drop, or withdraw from an assigned Academic Foundations course without obtaining permission of the academic department involved and consulting the Center for Academic Advisement and Student Success.

 

Resources

 

Office Hours: I encourage you to use my office hours so that we can discuss your work and any questions you have. I am also happy to find another time to meet with you if you are unable to come to my office hours.

 

Help with Writing: The Learning Center (1300 Boylan) has writing tutors available to help you with your writing on both a drop-in and ongoing basis.

 

Students with Disabilities: In order to receive disability-related academic accommodations students must first be registered with the Center for Student Disability Services. Students who have a documented disability or suspect they may have a disability are invited to set up an appointment with the Director of the Center for Student Disability Services, Ms. Valerie Stewart-Lovell at 718-951-5538. If you have already registered with the Center for Student Disability Services, please provide me with the course accommodation form and discuss your specific accommodation with me.

 

CUNY Citizenship Now: If you have questions about immigration status or DACA for yourself or for someone else, please visit the website of CUNY Citizenship Now: http://www1.cuny.edu/sites/citizenship-now/

“CUNY Citizenship Now! provides free, high quality, and confidential immigration law services to help individuals and families on their path to U.S. citizenship. Our attorneys and paralegals offer one-on-one consultations to assess participants’ eligibility for legal benefits and assist them in applying when qualified.”

Course Information

English 1010, Composition 1

T2BH/17705 T/Th. 2:15 – 3:30

Classroom: 3405 Boylan

Fall 2018

Prof. Heidi Diehl Office: 2314 Boylan

Office Hours: T/Th. 3:30 – 4:30 & by appt. Email: hdiehl@brooklyn.cuny.edu

 

Readings and Resources

Schedule

Class Schedule (Please note: class schedule is subject to change.)

Date

Discussion

Assignment/Reading Due

8/28

Introduction to course & in-class writing

Americanah,

8/30

Reading like a writer

Americanah, Chapter 1 (pgs. 3 - 22)

9/4

The personal narrative

Americanah, Chapter 17 (pgs. 213 - 228) & Adichie, “Real Food”

9/6

Language & voice

Americanah & Ocean Vuong, “A Letter to My Mother That She Will Never Read”

9/11

No classes held

No classes held

9/13

Plagiarism

Essay 1 due

9/18

No classes held

No classes held

9/20

Revision/Essay 1 feedback

Amy Tan, “Mother Tongue” &

LOOP Tour form of completion due

9/25

Summary vs. Analysis

Mona El-Ghobashy, “Quandaries of Representation.”

 

 

9/27

Summary vs. Analysis

Revision of Essay 1 due

10/2

Persuasion

Colson Whitehead, “City Limits”

10/4

Argument

John Gatto, “Against School”

10/9

Thesis statements

Roxane Gay, “Peculiar Benefits” & Summary due

10/11

Thesis statements

Lukianoff & Hyde, “The Coddling of the

American Mind”

10/16

Close reading/evidence

James Baldwin, “Notes of a Native Son”

10/18

Peer review

Essay 2 due – bring 3 copies for peer review

10/23

Structure/digging deeper

Lars Eighner, “On Dumpster Diving”

10/25

Revision/Essay 2 feedback

Eighner continued

10/30

Comparison

Revision of Essay 2 due

11/1

Comparative thesis & structure

Cristina Henriquez,“Lunch” & Jhumpa Lahiri, “Rice”

11/6

Incorporating quotations & evidence

Nicholas Carr, “Is Google Making Us Stupid?”

11/8

MLA Citation

Carr continued

11/13

In class comparative essay

Sherry Turkle, “Stop Googling. Let’s Talk.”

In class comparative essay

11/15

Introductions & Conclusions

George Orwell, “Politics and the English Language”

11/20

Texts in conversation

Tristran Korten “In Florida, Officials Ban Term ‘Climate Change’”

11/22

Thanksgiving – college closed

College closed

11/27

Peer review

Essay 3 due – bring 3 copies for peer review

11/29

Revision/Essay 3 feedback

Reading TBA

12/4

Final exam prep

Reading TBA

12/6

Final exam prep

Revision of Essay 3 due

12/11

Final Class

Final exam reading Part 1

* Final Exam: Friday, December 14, 10:30 - 12:30, Room TBA*