Brooklyn College Library LibGuides Home: Theater: Video / Image / Audio Resources & Performances

Video Performances & Resources

Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 250 definitive performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries. Users can search or browse by subjects such as actors, directors, genres, and playwrights, and can create individual playlists for further viewing. Each entry contains important bibliographic information.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a streaming video service. Faculty may request film activation for use with classes through the form on the Kanopy website; requests are processed weekly on Fridays. Activated films are available for one year and may be accessed by all members of our community.
Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Dive into a treasure trove of over 70,000 captivating films covering diverse subjects like anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and beyond. Explore, learn, and be inspired with AVON!
University of Fashion This link opens in a new window
The University of Fashion offers fashion professionals and consumers the first ever online fashion design video library, comprised of professionally produced online fashion how-to videos covering the five fashion design disciplines of draping, pattern making, fashion art, sewing and product development.
National Theatre Collection, Vols I & II This link opens in a new window
In partnership with the U.K.'s National Theatre, these collections offer high-definition streaming of world-class productions, enriched with exclusive digitized archival materials like prompt scripts, costume designs, and background information. Ideal for theater and performance studies.

Audio Performances

Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection This link opens in a new window
Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection features key dramatic works from the 19th to 21st centuries, showcasing renowned actors with high-quality sound. Ideal for research and instruction, these plays highlight underrepresented groups and address complex historical, cultural, and social issues.

Image Resources

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor contains over one million images in art, architecture, religion, anthropology, literature, and world history. Users can search and browse categories, view full-color and black-and-white images with zoom, and find details on date, repository, and materials. The database also offers subject guides and folders for saving search results.

Flickr: The Commons
More and more cultural heritage institutions are contributing digital images to Flickr. The Smithsonian, Brooklyn Museum, the Getty, and Library of Congress are just a few of them. Some images may be subject to copyright restrictions.
Google Images
Over 10 billion images are available. The quality of the images varies and may be subject to copyright restrictions.
Library of Congress American Memory
American Memory is the gateway to 9 million digitized items organized into 100 thematic collections from the Library of Congress's vast resources that document U.S. history and culture. Original formats include manuscripts, prints, photographs, posters, maps, sound recordings, motion pictures, books, pamphlets, and sheet music.
Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
This online catalog features nearly one million digital images taken from the Library's 50+ collections of prints and photographs. Included are images from the National Child Labor Committee Collection, the U.S. News and World Report Magazine Photograph Collection, the Library of Congress Baseball Card Collection, and the Collection of Architecture, Design and Engineering Drawings.
Motley Collection of Theatre & Costume Design
A rare collection of original materials on the theatre comprising over 5000 items from more than 150 productions in England and the United States, including costume and set designs, sketches, notes, photographs, prop lists, storyboards, and swatches of fabric.
Museum of the City of New York
Images documenting NYC theater productions, including over 30,000 photographs from over 5,000 Broadway productions.

New York Public Library Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 650,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage poster, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.

Metropolitan Museum of Art
Search the digital collections of the Museum of Metropolitan Art.

Theatre in Context Collection This link opens in a new window
The Theatre in Context Collection includes in-copyright sources like O'Dell’s *Annals of the New York Stage*, the Oxford University Press Companion series, and Greenwood’s *American Theatre Companies* series. Alongside thousands of playbills, posters, photos, and related ephemera, these resources help users paint a comprehensive picture of the evolution of dramatic works.

Library & Academic IT

Library &

Academic IT

Theater: Video / Image / Audio Resources & Performances

Video Performances & Resources

Audio Performances

Image Resources