Brooklyn College Library LibGuides Home: Theater: Reviews

Newspapers

New York Times Theater Reviews This link opens in a new window
Theater Reviews.

The New York Times Theater Reviews
Call Number: Brooklyn - Reference - Folio PN2266 .N4
Publication Date: 1973 -
These reviews also available through New York Times Historical Edition (ProQuest).

New York Times Historical Edition: 1851 - 2013 (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The New York Times Historical Edition offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue in 1865. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

New York Theatre Critics' Reviews

New York Tribune - Historical Edition: 1841-1922 (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Brooklyn Newsstand This link opens in a new window
Brooklyn Newsstand is a collection of digitized Brooklyn newspapers made possible through a partnership between Brooklyn Public Library and Newspapers.com. The titles represent various Brooklyn neighborhoods and each newspaper, provides a wide variety of coverage and includes information on politics, business, education, church events, sports, entertainment, and community happenings. Some papers provide coverage of international events while others are exclusively devoted to events in Brooklyn. Since no two titles are identical in scope the individual descriptions should be consulted to discover the precise contents of each paper.
Brooklyn Newsstand (2,402,000 digitized pages) contains 44 Brooklyn based newspapers, each listed below with date ranges and description.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
America's Historical Newspapers allows users to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states. Created by Readex through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and others, America's Historical Newspapers enables researchers to explore virtually every aspect of America during the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.
Gale Primary Sources: The Times Digital Archive, 1785 - 1985 This link opens in a new window
Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London) from 1785-1985, using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources; U.S. Federal and state case law, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information; Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases. A tutorial is available at http://academic.Nexis Uni.com/online-services/academic-overview.aspx (under "Learn More").

Collection of Newspaper Clippings of Dramatic Criticism
Microfilm collection of newspaper and magazine clippings from the New York Public Library's Billy Rose Theatre Collection at Lincoln Center. Includes reviews, interviews, press releases and news reports.

Periodicals

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to reviews in scholarly and peer-reviewed periodicals.
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega Edition (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text reviews beginning in 1994 for most periodical titles.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to general-interest periodicals from 1890 to 1982.

A Guide to Critical Reviews by James M. Salem
Call Number: Brooklyn - Reference - Z5781 .S16
Part I - American Drama, 1909-1982; Part II - The Musical, 1909-1974; Part III - Foreign Drama, 1909-1977.
American Literary and Drama Reviews by Patricia Marks
Call Number: Brooklyn - Reference - PN2256 .M37 1984
Publication Date: 1984
An index to late nineteenth century periodicals.

Library &
Academic IT

Library & Academic IT

Theater: Reviews

Newspapers

Periodicals