Skip to main content
COVID-19 Update: The Library building is closed; limited access to physical material.

Sociology: Gender and Society

The library's sociology research guide contains information on library resources like books, e-books, data sources, scholarly, and peer-reviewed journals.

Tips for Searching Topics on Gender and Society

In addition to the databases mentioned in the Scholarly and Peer Review sources tab, the databases and resources below will also be helpful for topics on gender and society

Be sure to look at the following publisher e-book databases for free e-books that you can keep on gender topics. Monographs and specialized handbooks often have excellent references.

Check to see if we have a specific journal that frequently publishes gender topics by using the E-journals finder.

Boolean

  1. AND will narrow your searches
  2. OR will broaden your searches
  3. NOT will narrow your searches to exclude a particular term

  1. TX All - Text (selecting this field will tell the database to only search for a keyword in the full text of the article)
  2. AU author - (selecting this field will tell the database to only search for a keyword in author field in the article record)
  3. Abstract - (selecting this field will tell the database to only search for a keyword in the Abstract of an article, if the article has an abstract. Not all articles have an abstract.
  4. Select a Field (optional) - Many databases have a default search, that let’s the database decide where to search.