A wide range of tables, articles, and data that describe and measure elements of the U.S. tax system.

Agriculture Dept. NASS Reports http://www.nass.usda.gov/

Bureau of Economic Analysis http://www.bea.gov/

Bureau of Labor Statistics http://stats.bls.gov/

Immigration Statistics http://www.uscis.gov/graphics/shared/statistics/index.htm
PDF format, tables are in Excel files for easy data manipulation.

Bureau of Transportation Statistics http://www.bts.gov/

Economic and Statistics Administration https://www.esa.doc.gov/
“The Economics and Statistics Administration (ESA) is the bureau within the U.S. Department of Commerce where economic and social changes are chronicled, understood, and explained.”

Energy Information Administration http://www.eia.doe.gov/

Environmental Protection Agency http://www.epa.gov/

Covers crimes, justice, trends in crime, federal investigations and prosecutions, felony convictions in state courts, corrections, capital punishment trends and expenditure trends.

American FactFinder http://factfinder2.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml

A-Z List http://www.census.gov/main/www/a2z/

Historical Census Data http://www.census.gov/population/www/censusdata/hiscendata.html
Time periods and geographical units vary from table to table, but still a nice data set up to 1990.

Census Questionnaires from 1850- 1990 http://www.ipums.org/usa/index.html
Click on Enumeration Forms.

Census 2000 http://www.census.gov/main/www/cen2000.html

Census 2010 http://www.census.gov/2010census/

National Center for Education Statistics http://nces.ed.gov/
Many of the center's reports and publications are available here. The site is searchable and user friendly.

Quick Tables and Figures http://nces.ed.gov/quicktables/

• • This search tool lets you locate all tables/figures/charts published in the inventory of NCES' Education Statistics Quarterly; the National Education Data Resource Center (NEDRC) Post Secondary Tables Library; the Condition of Education; the Digest of Education Statistics, and other NCES publication. Tables are constantly being added to this database (close to 4,500 tables, graphs, and figures are now available).

Programs and surveys http://nces.ed.gov/surveys/
Another useful page which allows you to select data from various programs within the Center for Education Statistics.

NY City Dept. of Education http://schools.nyc.gov/default.aspx
From this page the "Our Schools" link gives a full range of information about the NYS school system from maps to school report cards.

NYC Dept. of Education Statistics http://schools.nyc.gov/AboutUs/data/stats/default.htm

The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) is an independent, nonpartisan agency that works for Congress. Often called the "congressional watchdog," GAO investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars.

National Center for Health Statistics http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/
Now part of the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) the NSHS offers everything from a quick snapshot of the nation's health to the statistical equivalent of an MRI. There is full text access to many familiar print publications here.

Medicare and Medicaid data http://www.cms.gov/Research-Statistics-Data-and-Systems/Research-Statistics-Data-and-Systems.html

National Institutes of Health http://www.nih.gov/
Many of the individual institutes have statistical data about the diseases and conditions in which they specialize.

Substance Abuse and Mental Health http://www.fedstats.gov/key_stats/index.php?id=samhsa

CDC Statistics http://www.cdc.gov/features/datastatistics.html

Poverty Guidelines, Research and Measurement http://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty/index.cfm

Healthy People http://healthypeople.gov/2020/

Income, Poverty and Health Insurance Coverage in the US http://www.census.gov/hhes/www/hlthins/data/incpovhlth/

NY City Community Health Profiles http://www.nyc.gov/html/doh/html/community/community.shtml

NYS Kids Well-Being Indicators http://www.nyskwic.org/access_data/access_data.cfm
provides data about “children’s health, education and well-being”

NYS Health Statistics http://www.health.state.ny.us/statistics/

A wide range of tables, articles, and data that describe and measure elements of the U.S. tax system.

The National Institute of Justice — the research, development and evaluation agency of the U.S. Department of Justice — is dedicated to improving knowledge and understanding of crime and justice issues through science. NIJ provides objective and independent knowledge and tools to reduce crime and promote justice, particularly at the state and local levels.

The National Technical Information Service serves as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today. For more than 60 years NTIS has assured businesses, universities, and the public timely access to approximately 3 million publications covering over 350 subjects.

NYC City Planning Reference site http://www.nyc.gov/html/dcp/html/subcats/resources.shtml
Offers the best up-to-date data for NYC for either Census Tracts or Community Districts. Good coverage for social and economic stats for the whole city plus excellent data for immigrant communities.

Social Explorer http://www.socialexplorer.com.brooklyn.ezproxy.cuny.edu/pub/home/home.aspx.
Offers NYC data for more than 50 years in both tables and maps. Some coverage for other metropolitan areas as well.

InfoShare available on thehttp://www.infoshare.org.brooklyn.ezproxy.cuny.edu/
Provides coverage for a variety of unique NYC geographies from 1980-2000.

NYC Administration for Children's Services http://www.nyc.gov/html/acs/html/statistics/statistics_links.shtml  Data complied by the cit's child welfare agency.

The Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP) provides national leadership, coordination, and resources to prevent and respond to juvenile delinquency and victimization.

The World Factbook provides information on the history, people,government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.

Statistics and tables

• Federal Judicial Caseload Statistics

• Federal Court Management Statistics

• Bankruptcy Statistics

Reports include:

Wiretap Report (2011) http://www.uscourts.gov/Statistics/WiretapReports/WiretapReport2011.aspx

Civil Justice Reform Act Report (2012) http://www.uscourts.gov/Statistics/civilJusticeReformActReport.aspx

The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. For data prior to 2013 see the US Census Bureau Statistical Abstracts of the United States.

A vast archive of social science data preserved and maintained by the Consortium for Political and Social Research.

Search any branch of State or Federal government from the links here. As well as a good selection of hard to find independent agencies.