WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway connecting you to national and international scientific databases and portals.

Use the DOE Data Explorer (DDE) to find scientific research data - such as computer simulations, numeric data files, figures and plots, interactive maps, multimedia, and scientific images. DDE includes a database of citations prepared by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information based on the information found at data-hosting Web sites.

Use the browse by drop-down menu to search by content type or subject.

Science Accelerator locates scientific resources, including R&D results, project descriptions, accomplishments, and more, via resources made available by the Office of Scientific and TechnicalInformation, U.S. Department of Energy.

Search by key resources here http://www.scienceaccelerator.gov/resourcedescriptions

Both options have good help screens.

The Library of Congress SCIENCE TRACER BULLET SERIES contains research guides that help you locate information on science and technology subjects. With brief introductions to the topics, lists of resources and strategies for finding more, they help you to stay "on target."

Use the A-Z Site Index in the menu on the left side of the screen to find subject specific resources.

A gateway to genomics information, including the Human Genome Project, brought to you by the Department of Energy.

Scroll down to the site directory to get a better sense of available resources

The National Library of Medicine (NLM), is the world's largest medical library. The Library collects materials and provides information and research services in all areas of biomedicine and health care.

CDC Science Clips is an online bibliographic digest featuring scientific articles and publications that are shared with the public health community each week, to enhance awareness of emerging scientific knowledge.

PubMed.gov contains MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine's database of citations and abstracts of journal articles in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health-care, and the preclinical sciences.  PubMed.gov also provides citations to some additional literature and has additional medical search tools.

Regulated by the FDA:

Food http://www.fda.gov/Food/default.htm
Foodborne Illness, Nutrition, Dietary Supplements...

Drugs http://www.fda.gov/Drugs/default.htm
Prescription, Over-the-Counter, Generic...

Medical Devices http://www.fda.gov/MedicalDevices/default.htm
Pacemakers, Contact Lenses, Hearing Aids...

Biologics http://www.fda.gov/BiologicsBloodVaccines/default.htm
Vaccines, Blood Products...

Animal Feed and Drugs http://www.fda.gov/cvm/default.html
Livestock, Pets...

Cosmetics http://www.fda.gov/Cosmetics/default.htm
Safety, Labeling...

Radiation-Emitting Products http://www.fda.gov/Radiation-EmittingProducts/default.htm
Cell Phones, Lasers, Microwaves...

Tobacco Products http://www.fda.gov/TobaccoProducts/default.htm

Combination Products http://www.fda.gov/CombinationProducts/default.htm

Hot Topics at the FDA http://www.fda.gov/NewsEvents/PublicHealthFocus/default.htm
Check out the links to these topics on their page: West Nile Virus , Bioengineered Food, Hurricanes, Flu Information, Online Prescription Services, Counterfeit Drugs, Counterterrorism, Bioterrorism Act, and more.

For Kids http://www.fda.gov/Food/ResourcesForYou/Consumers/KidsTeens/default.htm

HHS is the principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services, especially for those who are least able to help themselves. DHHS oversees more than 300 programs; highlights include: health and social science research, preventing disease, including immunization services, assuring food and drug safety, Medicare (health insurance for elderly and disabled Americans) and Medicaid (health insurance for low-income people), health information technology, financial assistance and services for low-income families, improving maternal and infant health, Head Start (pre-school education and services), preventing child abuse and domestic violence, substance abuse treatment and prevention, services for older Americans, including home-delivered meals, comprehensive health services for Native Americans, and medical preparedness for emergencies, including potential terrorism.

Archive Collection http://archive.hhs.gov/drugs/
Provided for reference purposes only. It was current when produced, but is no longer maintained and may now be outdated. Check main site for up-to-date information.

They are rocket scientists, after all.
Use the links on the right side of the page to explore: Shuttle & Station; Moon & Mars; Solar System; Universe; Aeronautics; Earth; Technology, and NASA InYour Life. Information on missions and multimedia files are also available using the top navigation bar.

For Students http://www.nasa.gov/audience/forstudents/index.html

For Educators http://www.nasa.gov/audience/foreducators/index.html

NIH, as part of the US Department of Health and Human Services, is the steward of medical and behavioral research for the Nation. Its mission is science in pursuit of fundamental knowledge about the nature and behavior of living systems and the application of that knowledge to extend healthy life and reduce the burdens of illness and disability.

Health Information http://health.nih.gov/
Use the A-Z index of topics or browse health categories such as Body Location/Systems, Health & Wellness, Conditions, and Procedures. Quick Links on the home page include child and teen health, men’s health, minority health, seniors’ health, women’s health, and wellness and lifestyle issues. Scroll down for related links.

Grants & Funding Opportunities http://grants1.nih.gov/grants/index.cfm

News & Events http://www.nih.gov/news/
Press releases, podcasts and more, sign up here.

Research Training & Scientific Resources at NIH http://www.nih.gov/science/

Institutes, Centers & Offices http://www.nih.gov/icd/
The individual organizations that make up the NIH.

The NSF is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense.

Science & Engineering Indicators 2008 http://www.nsf.gov/statistics/seind08/

Science & Engineering Statistics http://www.nsf.gov/statistics/

Funding Opportunities http://www.nsf.gov/funding/aboutfunding.jsp

Discoveries Through NSF Funding http://www.nsf.gov/discoveries/

Educational Resources http://www.nsf.gov/news/classroom/

Founded in 1901, this agency oversees small details and large projects that make up our technology today. Everything from "automated teller machines and atomic clocks to mammograms and semiconductors, innumerable products and services rely in some way on technology, measurement, and standards" which are overseen by NIST. Their mission is "to promote U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards, and technology in ways that enhance economic security and improve our quality of life."

Time.gov http://www.time.gov
Really need to know the exact time? Go here. (Brought to you by NIST and the U.S. Naval Observatory.)

NIST Data Gateway http://srdata.nist.gov/gateway/
Search by keyword, property or substance name (above)
or link directly to a free database http://srdata.nist.gov/gateway/gateway?dblist=0
or search for articles from the Journal of Physical and Chemical Reference Data http://srdata.nist.gov/gateway/gateway?search=jpcrd

NIST Virtual Library http://nvl.nist.gov/
The searchable subject areas on the left are the most useful resource here, click on links that do not have a key symbol for free access.

See also the National Science and Technology Council http://www.whitehouse.gov/administration/eop/ostp/nstc

House Committee on Science and Technology http://science.house.gov/
The Committee on Science has its roots in the intense reaction to the Soviet launch of Sputnik on October 4, 1957. Early in 1958 Speaker Sam Rayburn convened the House of Representatives, and the first order of the day was a resolution offered by Majority Leader John McCormack of Massachusetts. It read, "Resolved that there is hereby created a Select Committee on Astronautics and Space Exploration...."

Senate Committee on Commerce, Science and Transportation http://commerce.senate.gov/public/
The U.S. Senate Committee on Commerce, Science, and Transportation is composed of 22 Senators. The Committee is composed of 10 Subcommittees, which together oversee for the vast range of issues under it jurisdiction. These issues range from communications, highways, aviation, rail, shipping, transportation security, merchant marine, the Coast Guard, oceans, fisheries, climate change, disasters, science, space, interstate commerce, tourism, consumer issues, economic development, technology, competitiveness, product safety, and insurance.
The subcommittee’s menu option on the left links to hearings and other potentially useful information.

Congressional Office of Technology Assessment http://www.wws.princeton.edu/ota/
Advised Congress on science matters.  Publications covering the period 1974-1995 are archived here.

National Academies http://www.nas.edu/
The National Academies perform an unparalleled public service by bringing together committees of experts in all areas of scientific and technological endeavor. These experts serve pro bono to address critical national issues and give advice to the federal government and the public. Four organizations comprise the Academies: the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine and the National Research Council.

Federation of American Scientists http://www.fas.org
The Federation of American Scientists (FAS) was founded in 1945 by scientists who had worked on the Manhattan Project to develop the first atomic bombs. These scientists recognized that science had become central to many key public policy questions. They believed that scientists had a unique responsibility to both warn the public and policy leaders of potential dangers from scientific and technical advances and to show how good policy could increase the benefits of new scientific knowledge.

The A to Z Guide to Political Interference in Science
http://www.ucsusa.org/scientific_integrity/interference/a-to-z-guide-to-political.html
In recent years, scientists who work for and advise the federal government have seen their work manipulated, suppressed, and distorted, while agencies have systematically limited public and policy maker access to critical scientific information. To document this abuse, the Union of Concerned Scientists has created the A to Z Guide to Political Interference in Science.