Skip to main content

Government Information - By Topic: Reports and Major Hearings

Reports & Major Hearings

 

“Report On the Investigation Into Russian Interference In The 2016 Presidential Election” (2 vols.).  (Mueller Report)

https://permanent.fdlp.gov/gpo119242/report.pdf

PDF https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/GPO-SCREPORT-MUELLER/pdf/GPO-SCREPORT-MUELLER.pdf

9/11 Sources

9/11 Commission Report http://www.9-11commission.gov/report/911Report.pdf The 9/11 Commission Report is officially titled the Final Report of the National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States,  It was prepared by the National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States, sometimes referred to as the Kean Hamilton Commission, at the request of the President and Congress.

Congressional Reports Joint Inquiry into Intelligence Community Activities before and after the Terrorist Attacks of September http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/search/pagedetails.action?browsePath=107/HRPT/[700%3b799]&granuleId=CRPT-107hrpt792&packageId=CRPT-107hrpt792 from GPO, includes H report 107 -792, December 2001


Annotated Bibliography of Government Documents Related to the Threat of Terrorism and the Attacks of September 11, 2001 http://www.odl.state.ok.us/usinfo/terrorism/911.htm#Continued from the Oklahoma Department of Libraries

A Healthier You

This one-stop, easy-to-use resource brings together nutrition science and expertise to help Americans make smart choices from every food group, find balance between food and physical activity, and get the most out of the calories we consume.

Annual Report on International Religious Freedom, 2001 - Present

The annual Report to Congress on International Religious Freedom – the International Religious Freedom Report – describes the status of religious freedom in every country. The report covers government policies violating religious belief and practices of groups, religious denominations and individuals, and U.S. policies to promote religious freedom around the world.

Army Center of Military History (US)

Volume I: The United States Army and the Forging of a Nation, 1775-1917

http://www.history.army.mil/books/AMH-V1/AMH-V1-PDF.htm

Volume II: The United States Army in the Global Era, 1917-2003

http://www.history.army.mil/books/AMH-V2/AMH-V2-PDF.htm

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Reports (CDC)

National Report on Human Explosure to Environmental Chemicals http://www.cdc.gov/exposurereport/

Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report http://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/

Seasonal Influenza Report http://www.cdc.gov/flu/weekly/

HIV Surveillance Report http://www.cdc.gov/hiv/topics/surveillance/resources/reports/index.htm

Commission on Civil Rights

Since its inception in 1957, the United States Commission on Civil Rights has been at the forefront of efforts by the Federal Government and state governments to examine and resolve issues related to race, ethnicity, religion and, more recently, sexual orientation. Although the fortunes of the Commission have ebbed and flowed with changes in presidential administrations, the Commission has continued to be a vital part of the effort to build an America that is truly equal.

Commission on Online Child Protection Report (COPA)

Final report of the Commission was submitted to Congress in October, 2000.

Additional Papers http://www.copacommission.org/papers/

Congressional Research Service Reports (CRS)

The Congressional Research Service, an arm of the Library of Congress, serves the legislative process by providing Congress with non-partisan and in-depth legislative research and analysis on a variety of topics. CRS produces or updates more than 3,000 studies and other publications each year, none of which are distributed to the public. However many sites host reports relating to their main mission/interest providing a great public service.

LLRX http://www.llrx.com/features/crsreports.htm
Great overview site explaining what CRS reports are and with many links to various sites hosting them.

Open CRS http://www.opencrs.com/ Grass roots organization that seeks to make CRS reports available to the public.  Searchable database

Federation of American Scientists http://www.fas.org/sgp/crs/index.html Founded in 1945 by scientists who built the first atomic bombs, FAS works to ensure that public policy is informed by intelligent, accurate scientific research. 

University of North Texas http://digital.library.unt.edu/govdocs/crs/ This academic site is sponsored by ALA and hosts a growing collection of the reports

State Department http://fpc.state.gov/c18185.htm

Reports on Environmental Law and Policy
http://www.ncseonline.org/programs/science-policy/crs-reports hosted by the National Council for Science and the Environment

Reports on Homeland Security/Terrorism and Health Law and Policy  http://www.law.umaryland.edu/marshall/crsreports/index.asp hosted bt the Thurgood Marshall Law Library

Reports on Intellectual Property, cyberlaw and electronic commerce  http://www.ipmall.info/hosted_resources/crs_reports.asp hosted by the University of New Hampshire

Defense Department Publications (US)

List of reports prepared by the DoD and presented to Congress.  Includes annual reports on:

  • Military and Security Developments Involving the People's Republic of China

  • DoD Strategic Management Plan

  • Arctic Operations and the Northwest Passage

  • Measuring Stability and Security in Iraq

and many others.

Hart Rudman report http://www.au.af.mil/au/awc/awcgate/nssg/    Released in Jan 2001, this 3-year study suggests strategies and challenges for homeland security in the 21st Century.

Economic Report of the President 1995 - Present

The Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of conomic Advisers. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices. The Economic Report of the President is transmitted to Congress no later than ten days after the submission of the Budget of the United States Government.  Supplementary reports can be issued to the Congress which contain additional and/or revised recommendations. Documents are available in ASCII text and Adobe Portable Document Format (PDF), with many of the tables also available for separate viewing and downloading as spreadsheets in Microsoft Excel (XLS).

Environmental Protection Agency Reports (EPA)

Comprehensive database of EPA reports from prior to 1976 to present.

Federal Trade Commission (FTC) Reports

Reports on a number of subjects including:

  • Smokeless Tobacco

  • Marketing Violent Entertainment to Children

  • Fraud

  • Buy American Act

  • Generic Prescription Drugs

and many others.  Archive goes back to reports from 1996.

Government Accountability Office (GAO)

Their reports are wide ranging and authoritative. Many full-text reports can be found on their site as well as a searchable archive going back to 1995.

GreyNet International

Grey literature is produced by all levels of government, academics, business and industry.  It can either be in print or in digital formats, but is not controlled by commerical publishers.

The goal of GreyNet is to facilitate dialog, research, and communication between persons and organisations in the field of grey literature. GreyNet further seeks to identify and distribute information on and about grey literature in networked environments.

 

Health and Human Services Reports (HHS)

Includes reports from HHS subagencies such as:

  • Administration on Aging (AoA)

  • Indian Health Service (IHS)

  • Surgeon General Reports

Specific reports include:

Suicide Prevention (2012) http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/library/reports/national-strategy-suicide-prevention/index.html

Promoting Responsible Fatherhood http://fatherhood.hhs.gov/

Non-Custodial Parents' Participation in Their Children's Lives http://fatherhood.hhs.gov/Stability/SIPP/XSNONCUS.HTM

Part II http://fatherhood.hhs.gov/SIPP/pt2.htm

Homeland Security Reports (DHS)

Reports from DHS on topics including:

  • Border Security

  • Cyber Security

  • Immigration

  • FEMA

National Strategy to Secure Cyberspace http://www.dhs.gov/national-strategy-secure-cyberspace

Homeland Security Digital Library https://www.hsdl.org/?collection/stratpol&id=4 Administered by the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security

Housing and Urban Development Department Reports (HUD)

Recent publications from HUD cover a variety of topics. Includes:

  • Worst Case Housing Needs 2011: Report to Congress

  • US Housing Market Conditions: 4th Quarter 2012

  • Sustainable Communities eNews: Feburary issues

along with other published studies and reports on homelessness, affordable housing, sustainability, historic preservation and more. 

Hurricane Katrina Reports

Federal Response to Hurricane Katrina: Lessons Learned http://www.disastersrus.org/katrina/White%20House%20Katrina%20report.pdf

EPA's Response to Katrina http://www.epa.gov/oig/reports/2006/20060914-2006-P-00033.pdf

Disasterus.org has collected multiple sources on Katrina from multiple government agencies: http://www.disastersrus.org/katrina/

Justice Department Reports (DOJ)

Reports and findings from the DOJ on various topics including:


Branch Davidians in Waco (1993) http://www.justice.gov/publications/waco/wacoeval.htm

School Crime and Safety http://bjs.ojp.usdoj.gov/content/pub/pdf/iscs11.pdf

Midyear Jail Inmate Reports http://www.justice.gov/publications/publications_j.html

Labor Department Reports (US)

Findings from research conducted by the US Department of Labor.  Includes:

The American Worker http://www.dol.gov/oasam/programs/history/amworkerintro.htm

This was published as a lavishly illustrated book by the Department of Labor in 1976, in observance of the National Bicentennial. Edited by Professor Richard B. Morris of Columbia University, the core of the book consisted of seven specially commissioned sections by distinguished labor historians. These sections are reproduced in their entirety, along with selected materials from the appendix.  Not included are the picture essays and portfolios of readings.

Report on the American Workforce http://www.bls.gov/opub/rtaw/rtawhome.htm

Previous editions appeared in 1994, 1995, 1997, 1999 and 2001. Each volume has provided a broad context for analyzing the issues faced by the Department of Labor, as it delivers on its mandate to prepare the American workforce for new and better jobs and to ensure the adequacy and competitiveness of America’s workplaces.

The Moynihan Report: The Negro Family, the Case for National Action http://www.dol.gov/oasam/programs/history/webid-meynihan.htm

This historic and controversial report was prepared in 1965 by the Department's Office of Policy Planning and Review. The principal author was Assistant Secretary of Labor Daniel Patrick Moynihan, who later served as a United States Senator from New York.

Bureau of Labor Statistics Reports and Special Studies (BLS)

List of publications from the Bureaul of Labor Statistics, Department of Labor.  Includes:

Chartbooks http://www.bls.gov/opub/#chartbooks explores DOL statistics using charts, archived reports available.

Bulletins and Reports http://www.bls.gov/opub/#bulletins includes Highlights of Women's Earning and surveys on health plan provisions

Occupational Outlook Quarterly http://www.bls.gov/opub/#ooq

International Labor Comparisons http://www.bls.gov/fls/

Impact of Hurricane Sandy on Labor Markets http://www.bls.gov/spotlight/2012/sandy/

National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)

National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.  Part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). 

National Energy Policy (US)

Official site for current news about national energy policy.

National Pandemic Influenza Plan (HHS)

Includes national strategy for dealing with pandemic flu outbreaks.

Notable Congressional Hearings and Reports

Intelligence Community Activites Before and After The Terrorist Attacks of September 11th (2002) http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CHRG-107jhrg96166/pdf/CHRG-107jhrg96166.pdf

Report of the Select Committee on Intelligence on the US Intelligence Community's Prewar Intelligence Assessment on Iraq (2003) http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/search/pagedetails.action?browsePath=108/SRPT/[300%3b399]&granuleId=CRPT-108srpt301&packageId=CRPT-108srpt301

 

The Effect of Television Violence on Children (2004) http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CHRG-108hhrg96095/pdf/CHRG-108hhrg96095.pdf

Iraq Reconstruction Report (2005) http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CPRT-109SPRT24804/pdf/CPRT-109SPRT24804.pdf

Legislative history archive at National Archives http://www.archives.gov/legislative/research/

A list and archive of Congressional hearings organized by Congress (1986-Present) http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collection.action?collectionCode=CHRG&browsePath=112&isCollapsed=true&leafLevelBrowse=false&ycord=0

Daily schedule of current session available through CSPAN http://www.capitolhearings.org/

Office of Science and Technical Information (OSTI)

OSTI is the DOE office that collects, preserves, and disseminates DOE-sponsored R&D results that are the outcomes of R&D projects or other funded activities at DOE labs and facilities nationwide and grantees at universities and other institutions.


OSTI DOE R&D http://www.osti.gov/feature/RD_Results.html

OSTI Reports http://www.osti.gov/bridge/

Report of the Special Advisor to the DCI on Iraq’s WMD (Duelfer Report)

Contains revised version of 2004 report, complete with addendums.  Scroll to the bottom to find PDF links to the three volumes. 

Reports of the Surgeon General

Reports of the Surgeon General on the adverse health consequences of smoking triggered nationwide efforts to prevent tobacco use. Reports on nutrition, violence, and HIV/AIDS—to name but a few—have heightened America's awareness of important public health issues and generated major public health initiatives.


Includes reports on:

  • Youth Violence

  • Second Hand Smoke

  • HIV and AIDS

Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)

Reports and publications on topics including

  • Suicide Prevention

  • Addiction Counseling

  • Managing Depression

  • Dealing with Trauma

and more

The Networking and Information Technology Research and Development Program (NITRD)

The Nation's primary source of Federally funded revolutionary breakthroughs in advanced information technologies such as computing, networking, and software.  Full text articles available.

Includes President's Information Technology Advisory Committee Report to the President, 1999 http://www.nitrd.gov/pitac/report/pitac_report.pdf

US Constitution: Analysis and Amendments (2002)

Analysis of cases decided by the Supreme Court of the United States to June 28, 2002

US Courts Statistics

Statistics and tables

  • Federal Judicial Caseload Statistics

  • Federal Court Management Statistics

  • Bankruptcy Statistics

Reports include:

Wiretap Report (2011) http://www.uscourts.gov/Statistics/WiretapReports/WiretapReport2011.aspx

Civil Justice Reform Act Report (2012) http://www.uscourts.gov/Statistics/civilJusticeReformActReport.aspx