Brooklyn College Library LibGuides Home: Innovation & Entrepreneurship : Small Businesses/Mom & Pop

Small Business/Mom & Pop Entrepreneurs of Brooklyn

Nasim Almuntaser in his family's Bodega in Brighton Beach

Nasim Almuntaser '22, history and secondary education, works shifts at his family bodega in Brighton Beach.

Fauci Family Drugstore in Dyker Heights

The family of Dr. Anthony Fauci, director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases and the Chief Medical Advisor to the President, owned a drugstore in Dyker Heights. (Photo courtesy of The Academy of Achievement)

Katerina Bogatireva in front of her package-free store Precycle in Williamsburg

Katerina Bogatireva, who studied business, is the founder of Precycle. Precycle is a store that sells package-free produce, bulk food and home goods in Brooklyn. Customers are empowered to reduce their environmental impact by reducing food and packaging waste.

Michael Davidson, on the right, in front of his card and gift shop, Overtures, in Brooklyn Heights

Michael Davidson was a comparative literature major at Brooklyn College and opened his card and gift store in Brooklyn Heights in 1981.

Business Databases (Log in Required Off-Campus)

Bloomberg Professional at the Library This link opens in a new window
Bloomberg Professional is a premier international financial services data aggregator providing news and analytics for over 129 countries and 250 exchanges. Features include 24-hour historical and 15-minute delayed securities pricing in addition to news, data, and analysis on companies, markets and economies.Through a generous donation by an anonymous donor, Brooklyn College Library is fortunate to offer access to 12 Bloomberg Professional terminals. Click on the link to learn more about this resource.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Covers journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included.
Business: Insights (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Business Insights: Global delivers comprehensive international business intelligence, compiled into a logical, useable context. Content is organized by country, company, and industry. It includes access to detailed company financial reports, country overviews, interactive rankings and stats, and links to breaking news, case studies, and articles.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Mergent contains comprehensive financial information on publicly traded companies. Look here for financial ratios, SEC filings, income, cash flow, and other financial statements.
SpringerLink - Journals and Books This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink is Springer's online full-text archive for journals and books. SpringerLink currently offers over 1,250 fully peer-reviewed journals and a growing roster of book series, comprising more than 3,000 books online.
Wall Street Journal (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
This national financial newspaper offers in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as first rate coverage of hard news. Full-text coverage for the Eastern edition is 1984-current; for the online version, 2010-current. Users can search, as well as browse by controlled topics/subjects.
Wiley Online - Journals and Books This link opens in a new window
A database of abstracts and full text from journals and books from across disciplines - especially strong in the Social Sciences. Use limiters to focus results by discipline.