It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
IBISWorld's team of economists and industry experts research and analyze economic, demographic and government statistics. If you require a better understanding of market conditions and forecasts, or you need a clearer picture of a supply chain, or you need to keep abreast of competitor activity in your industry, IBISWorld's comprehensive reports will keep you informed.
Covers journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. Indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included.
Mergent Online is a suite of information resources that enables in-depth business and financial research. Mergent Online provides data about companies, but is not an article database.
Mergent Online includes: U.S. and International Company Data, U.S. and International Company Archives, U.S. and International Annual Reports, U.S. and International Earnings Estimates, Company FactSheets, Institutional Holdings Data, Insider Trading Data, Expanded Long-Term Debt, Executive Biographies, Industry Reports (North America, Europe, and Asia Pacific), Equity Portraits, and Corporate Bond Portraits.
Provides access to full-text national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources; U.S. Federal and state case law, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information; Shepard's Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases. A tutorial is available at http://academic.Nexis Uni.com/online-services/academic-overview.aspx (under "Learn More").
The Gartner database provides research and analysis about the global information technology industry. Log in with your CUNY Login credentials
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), Industries, and Sectors
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. Companies are grouped by industries, according to the NAICS code. Reports, news, and financial data is grouped by this code, so it's important to identify a company's primary industry.
The terms industry and sector are often used interchangeably to describe a group of companies that operate in the same segment of the economy or share a similar business type. Although the terms are commonly used interchangeably, they do, in fact, have slightly different meanings. This difference pertains to their scope; a sector refers to a large segment of the economy, while the term industry describes a much more specific group of companies or businesses.
What industry is your company in?
The easiest way to identify which industry a company belongs to to do a company search on Nexis Uni. You can find the primary industry of a company in the company "Snapshot" page.
Searching by NAICS Code
Specialized databases like Business Source Complete can search articles using this code.
IBIS World, a special database for industry reports
In order to compare companies in the same industries with each other IBIS reports the key industrial ratios and other measures of industry performance.