Attributions - CLAS 3239 | Ancient Medicine: The Classical Roots of the Medical Humanities - Brooklyn College Library LibGuides Home at Brooklyn College Library

Banner Image

Achilles Bandaging Patroclus
Berlin F 2278: Achilles Patroclus cup: Sosias Painter: Photograph by Maria Daniels, courtesy of the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Preußischer Kulturbesitz: Antikensammlung, February - March 1992
Asclepius Sculpture
Marble sculpture of Asclepios. Roman copy (circa 160 CE) after a 4th-century BCE Greek original. In the Greek National Archaeological Museum in Athens. Image from Wikimedia Commons.
Illustration from manuscript of Dioscorides 'De Materia Medica'
Folio 90v of Naples manuscript (7th century) of 'De Materia Medica' (redaction), a text on herbalism by Dioscorides, a first century BCE Greek military physician. Dioscorides' text includes descriptions of plants and their medicinal uses, but unlike the original text of 'De Materia Medica', this manuscript text is arranged alphabetically by plant. Manuscript in Biblioteca Nazionale, Naples (MS Suppl. gr. 28), 172 folios and a page size of 29.7 x 14 cm (11 11/16 x 5 1/2 inches). Image from Wikimedia Commons.
Fresco depicting Aeneas tended by a physician
Mid-1st century CE fresco from a house in Pompeii, Italy depicting the mythological scene from Vergil's 'Aeneid' in which the doctor Iapyx heals Aeneas, who is shown wounded and standing on on one leg. On display at the Museo Archeologico Nazionale (Naples). Image from Wikimedia Commons.
'Muscleman' Illustration by Vesalius
Illustration of muscular anatomy from Andreas Vesalius' 'De Humani Corporis Fabrica' (1543). Image from Wikimedia Commons.
Parturition Scene
"This marble plaque, which depicts a ‘parturition’, or birthing scene, was excavated at Ostia, Italy. Image from: http://www.sciencemuseum.org.uk/hommedia.ashx?id=93867&size=Large

Topics and Readings

Image for Topics and Readings
Aryballos with Bloodletting Scene. Louvre CA 2183 (Vase), early Classical, ca. 480 BC - ca. 470 BC. See Perseus Project.
Image: Multimedia
Illustration of European Bramble from the Vienna Dioscorides manuscript. c. 515 CE. Seite aus dem Wiener Dioskurides Kodex (Codex medicus graecus 1 der Österreichischen Nationalbibliothek, fol 83 recto). Image from Wikimedia Commons.
more...less...
(From Wikipedia) The Vienna Dioscurides or Vienna Dioscorides is an early 6th-century illuminated manuscript of De Materia Medica by Dioscorides in Greek. It is an important and rare example of a late antique scientific text. The 491 vellum folios measure 37 by 30 cm and contain more than 400 pictures of animals and plants, most done in a naturalistic style.

In addition to the text by Dioscorides, the manuscript has appended to it the Carmen de herbis attributed to Rufus, a paraphrase of an ornithological treatise by a certain Dionysius, usually identified with Dionysius of Philadelphia, and a paraphrase of Nicander's treatise on the treatment of snake bites.

The manuscript was created in about 515 and was made for the Western Roman imperial princess Juliana Anicia, the daughter of Emperor Anicius Olybrius. Although it was originally created as a luxury copy, there is some indication that in later centuries it was used daily as a hospital textbook. It includes some annotations in Arabic.[1]

The manuscript was discovered in Istanbul in the 1560s by the Flemish diplomat Ogier Ghiselin de Busbecq who was in the employ of Emperor Ferdinand I. The Emperor bought the manuscript and it is now held in the Österreichische Nationalbibliothek in Vienna, where it is identified as the "Codex Vindobonensis med. gr. 1." The manuscript was inscribed on UNESCO's Memory of the World Programme Register in 1997 in recognition of its historical significance.[2]
Image for Gallery of Medical Illustrations
Montage of engravings of The Four Temperaments; after George Pencz, print made by Virgil Solis: Originals: British Museum 1881,0611.326.

Topics and Readings

Image For: Greek and Latin Roots of Medical Terms
Ashmole manuscript 399 (ca 1292). 'Treatise on the human body'. Diagram of body showing muscles. (fol. 22r.). Miniature Painting. UNITED KINGDOM. ENGLAND. SOUTH EAST ENGLAND. Oxford. Bodleian Library.

Image for Unit 1: Hippocratic Medicine
Medieval Uroscopy Wheel Illustrated by Ullrich Pinder in 'Epiphanie Medicorum', 1506
Image for Unit 2: Gender and Sexuality in Ancient Medicine
Crop of Leonardo da Vinci. Coition of Hemisected Man and Woman. c.1492. Pen and ink on paper. Windsor Castle, Windsor, UK. See Wikimedia.
Image for Unit 3: Plagues
Robert Seymour: "Miasma." Cholera "Tramples the victors & the vanquished both." McLean's monthly sheet of caricatures; October 1, 1831; p.2 No. 22
See NLM database
Image for Unit 4: Medicine in the Roman Empire
Aurelius Celsus, De Medicina, Florence, Biblioteca Laurenziana, Plut. 73.4, folio 17r, 15th c.: Digital Collection: The MacKinney Collection of Medieval Medical Illustration
Image for Unit 5: Other Medical Traditions
Acupuncture chart from Hua Shou (fl. 1340s, Ming Dynasty). This image from Shi si jing fa hui (Expression of the Fourteen Meridians). (Tokyo: Suharaya Heisuke kanko, Kyoho gan 1716). -See Wikimedia

Oath handout image
Detail of: Hippocrates. Τα ενρισκομενα ... Opera omnia … (Francofurti: Apud Andreae Wecheli heredes, 1595).: National Library of medicine
Tragedy: The madness of Heracles
Tragedy image: Asteas (signed), Called Krater of the madness of Heracles or Madrid Krater. Calyx type. Side A. created: in Paestum, between 350 and 320 BC, red-figure ceramic Height: 55 cm (21.7 in). Diameter: 50 cm (19.7 in). National Archaeological Museum of Spain, accession # 11094, From Salamanca Collection. See Trendall, RVP, no.2/137, pl.46, and museum's website. Image: Marie-Lan Nguyen, 2 May 2008: See Wikimedia.
Celsus: prologue
Celsus: Unknown Artist (Flemish) written by Johannes Sambucus (Flemish, 1531-1584) Portrait of Celsus, published 1574. Etching, with engraving, on cream laid paper. 194 x 193 mm (image/plate); 311 x 216 mm (sheet) Gift of Mrs. Robert Sonnenschein, 1941.337. See original at Art Institute of Chicago website.
Celsus: De Medicina Book 1
Celsus: Treatment of a Head Injury: Aulus Cornelius Celsus, De medicina libri octo; title page. Lugduni Batavorum: Joh. Arn. Langerak, 1730. See original at National Library of Medicine Database.
Hippocrates: Works
Engraving after an antique bust in the Louvre, Paris. From Vies des Savants Illustres by Louis Figuier. (Paris, 1866). See NLM database.
Pseudo-Aristotle: Problema 30.1
Title page and frontispiece of Aristotle’s Master-piece improved. (London: Printed, and sold by the book sellers, [1766]).
more...less...
From NLM: "The frontispiece is a woodcut image showing a scholar in a library at a desk writing with a quill pen with a hirsute nude woman standing to his left and a black child standing to her left with a window behind them showing the sun shining in. NLM Call number: WZ 260 A718m 1766. Aristotle’s Master-piece first appeared in England in the 1690s as a popular guide to human reproduction; it was later published in more than 100 editions. Aristotle’s name was most likely used in order to add legitimacy to the work by claiming it had ancient, scientific sources. The true author is unknown.

The frontispiece of nearly every edition shows a hirsute woman and child by the desk of a scholar, most likely depicting popular notions of the time about the causes of birth defects." See Greek medicine online exhibit at NLM.

Image: Lucretius
Lucretius, De Rerum Natura
Oxford: pub. L. Lichfield, translated Thomas Creech, for Anthony Stephens, 1683. Engr. fp Wing L3448, at Pepys Library at Magdalene College, Cambridge. See more on this edition in James Gray's blog at https://jamesgray2.wordpress.com/2013/06/04/lucretius-on-the-nature-of-things/comment-page-1/
Image: Seneca's Phaedra
Phaedra hands to her nurse the letter accusing her step-son Hippolytus, 1st century AD, fresco, cm 130 x 102, Naples National Archaeological Museum
Sala LXIX, Accession number, Inv.114322
From Casa di Giasone, Pompeii (IX, 5, 18, cubiculum e). Photo by Marie-Lan Nguyen
Image: WLGR Document, Part 2
Würzburg - Martin-von-Wagner-Museum: Tonpuppe mit herausnehmbarem Embryo (unten), vermutlich Aphrodite, bewegliche Arme fehlen, 1. Jh. v. Chr., Myrina, Leihgabe der Stiftung Nereus Lugano, Inv.-Nr. ZA 147.
Image: WLGR Document, Part 1:
Models of the female body in terracotta: 1. Eye, 2. Uterus, 3. Ear, 4. Breast, 5. Intestines. In Greece and Rome replicas of body parts were often dedicated in shrines of healing gods in thanks for or hopes of a cure. Roman, 3-1st century BCE. London, British Museum. Image at VROMA
Image: WLGR: Diotima
Scene of childbirth in relief on an ivory plaque attached to one end of a papyrus winder (a roller for holding the papyrus while reading). The pregnant woman sits on a birthing chair. Behind her, a standing woman holds her steady as she lifts her left arm backwards to grasp the attendant. The midwife kneels in front of the mother with a sponge in her right hand. Behind her stands a veiled woman who extends her hands toward the mother. While this appears to be a scene from daily life, the relief at the other end of the winder shows three men lifting the body of a fallen companion, suggesting that the pair illustrate the birth and death of a mythological hero. Roman. From Pompeii, Region I, Insula 2, first century CE. Naples, National Archaeological Museum.
Women's Life in Greece and Rome
Illustration depicting gentle exercise on a swing as a method of therapy based upon the recommendations of the 2nd-1st cen. BCE author Asclepiades of Bithynia. From H. Mercurialis' 'De Arte Gymnastica' (1672), a Renaissance treatise that reintroduced ancient medical ideas on exercise and physiotherapy. Published by A. Frisius, Amsterdam, p. 272.

Image: Iliad Book 1
The Niobid Krater: Museum: Paris, Louvre. 55cm. (calyx-crater), red-figure with variable ground lines and landscape elements. Early classical (Mid 5th c. BCE). Apollo and Artemis avenge their mother by slaughtering the children of Niobe who boasted of her superiority.
Image: Sophocles' Oedipus the King, lines 1-101
The Plague of Thebes: Oedipus and Antigone. Painting by Charles Jalabert (1842). In the Musée des beaux-arts de Marseille. Image from Wikimedia Commons.
Image: Septuagint, Samuel 2.24
Image: Thucydides
The Plague at Ashdod: Nicolas Poussin
(b. 1594, Les Andelys, d. 1665, Roma)
1630. Oil on canvas, 148 x 198 cm
Musée du Louvre, room 14, Paris. Image at Wikimedia.
Image: Procopius
The Black Death-from the 10 Plagues of Egypt,” Switzerland, 1411, from the World Chronicle (Toggenburg Bible) of Rudolf von Ems, (transcribed by Deittrich von Lichtensteig), Kupferstichkabinett, Staatliche Museen, Berlin, Germany. Image: Wikimedia Commons.
Image: Boccaccio, Decameron: The Plague in Florence
Etching by L. Sabatelli depicting the plague of Florence in 1348, as described in Boccaccio's Decameron. Image from Wikimedia Commons.
Image: Poe
Image taken from "Illustrations to Edgar Allan Poe by Aubrey Beardsley", privately printed for the Aubrey Beardsley Club, Indianapolis, 1926. Image on Wikimedia Commons
Image: Burkert: Guilt and Causality
Cover of Walter Burkert's Creation of the Sacred, Harvard University Press; 3rd prt. edition (January 13, 1998). Arrangement of Images from Alabaster Vase of Uruk, Sumerian, 3000 BC, Showing Animals, men, goddesses and plants. Design by Annamarie McMahon.

Image: Galen: Exercise with small ball
Roman women playing at sports. Mosaic at the Villa Romana del Casale near Piazza Armerina in Sicily. 3rd century CE. Image "Villa romana bikini girls" by Kenton Greening - Own work. Licensed under Public Domain via Wikimedia Commons.
Galen by Froben
Portrait of Galen of Pergamon, circa 129 - circa 216, Greek physician, "Omnia Opera Quae exstant" printed by Johann Froben, Basel, 1561.
Galen: Giunta
Galeni librorum prima classis, naturam corporis humani... complectens Venice : Giunta, 1565. Image at Biusante (online exhibit)
Image: Pliny, Naturalis Historia
Title page (Volume I) of Pliny's Natural History (ca. 77-79 CE). Published by Lugd. Batav. & Roterodami: Apud Hackios. Three volume Latin edition (with Greek references) published 1668-1669.

Figure with human body and Seth-animal head
Greco-Roman Period, Roman, 4th century (CE 300 / 350) 27 x 52 cm (10 5 / 8 x 20 1 / 2 in.)
Leiden Museum, AMS 75. Set detail: His arms are stretched to the left and right and keeping big man standards. On his chest is "Seth" in Coptic letters, he wears a short skirt."
-Photos © Monique van der Veen

Image for Epilepsy in the Graeco-Roman World: Hippocratic Medicine and Asklepian Temple Medicine Compared
Marble relief depicting the Greek god Asklepios and his daughter Hygeia. From Therme, Greece, ca. late 5th century BCE. Currently in the Istanbul Archaeological Museums. Image from Wikimedia Commons.
Image: Wikkiser selections
Marble relief of Asclepius and his daughter Hygieia. From Therme, Greece, end of the 5th century BC. Istanbul Archaeological Museums. Image from Wikimedia Commons.
Image for Horstmanhoff: Galen and his patients
Image for H.F.J. Horstmanhoff's official webpage at Leiden University
Image for Rasko and Power on Prometheus' Liver
Depiction of the punishment of the Titans Prometheus and Atlas on a black figure amphoriskos, ca. 530 BCE. In the Vatican Museum.

Gallery of Medical Illustrations

Image for 18th and 19th Century
Sculpture of Hercules and Lichas by Canova, Antonio (1757-1822)work completed between 1795 et 1815, marble Salle de l'Hercule Galerie nationale d'art moderne (GNAM) Site officiel de la Galerie www.gnam.beniculturali.it/index.php?fr/1/home. Image from Wikimedia Commons.
Illustration of Black Hellebore (common treatment for melancholy)
Antique Folio Copper Plate published by J. Millan for Botanicum Medicinale, An Herbal of Medicinal Plants on the College of Physicians List, by Timothy Sheldrake 1759. Image from: http://www.albion-prints.com/ekmps/shops/albionprint/images/sheldrake-1759-medical-botany.-black-hellebore.-hand-col-14843-p.jpg

Achilles Bandaging Patroklos
Berlin F 2278: Achilles patroklos cup: Sosias Painter: Photograph by Maria Daniels, courtesy of the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Preußischer Kulturbesitz: Antikensammlung, February - March 1992. See Perseus Project.
Detail of Achilles bandaging Patroklos
Aryballos with Bloodletting Scene
Louvre CA 2183 (Vase), early Classical, ca. 480 BC - ca. 470 BC. See Perseus Project.
Iapyx tends Aeneas
Pompeii, Wall Painting, c. 1st c. AD: House of Siricus.
Parturition scene
Marble plaque of parturition. collection: Wellcome Institute, Science Museum, London, object. Object number: A129245, registered number 17/1936, discovered Racchi, Italy, 1932; puchased at the time for 11 British pounds
Marble Tombstone of an Athenian Physician
Marble tombstone of an Athenian physician named Jason shown examining the enlarged abdomen of a child. To the right is an object that may be meant to represent a physician's cupping vessel. 2nd century CE. In The British Museum, Reg. No. 1865,0103.3.
Asclepius and Two Goddesses
Stele depicting the god Asklepios with two goddesses. Late fifth century BCE. National Archaeological Museum, Athens (inv. no. 1346).
Votive Stele of Mother Fainting After Childbirth
Classical Period, 5th century, Marble, from Athens, in The Metropolitan Museum of Art, Fletcher Fund, 1924; MMA 24.97.92.
Hippocrates Mosaic
A mosaic from the Greek island of Cos (the birthplace of Hippocrates) depicting Hippocrates (seated) and a fisherman greeting the god Asklepios (center) as he either arrives or disembarks from the island. Second or third century CE. Image from: http://www.ostia-antica.org/kos/museum/museum.htm
Bronze Cupping Vessel
Bronze Cupping Vessel from Egypt, ca. 300BCE-300CE. In the Science Museum, London, Object No. A608649. Image from www.sciencemuseum.org.uk
Surgical tools from Pompeii
Various types of surgical tools found at Pompeii. Currently in the Naples National Archaeological Museum. Photograph by Giorgio Sommer. Image from Wikimedia Commons.

Galen Cautery scene: Art of medicine
London, British Library, Sloane 2839, folio 1v Galen. Hippocrates.
Scene: Surgeon holds bowl, cautery irons in fire; nude figure with cautery points marked (right)
Date: 11th-12th centuries
Celsus, Aulus Cornelius: De Medicina: Bibliotheca Laurenziana
Aurelius Celsus, De Medicina, Florence, Biblioteca Laurenziana, Plut. 73.4, folio 17r, 15th c.: Digital Collection: The MacKinney Collection of Medieval Medical Illustration
Agrippina and Nero
Nero looking on as the body of his mother Agrippina is disembowelled, in order to see the place where he was conceived, and praising her beauty. From Roman de la Rose. c 1490-c 1500. By Guillaume de Lorris and Jean de Meun. f. 59v, Image from British Library Typepad.
Vitruvian Man
Da Vinci's famous illustration entitled 'Le proporzioni del corpo umano secondo Vitruvio' (The Proportions of the Body according to Vitruvius), or simply 'Vitruvian Man' (1490). The image demonstrates da Vinci's attempts to relate the human body to the rules of mathematics and nature. Illustrated using pen and ink, with wash over metal point on paper. 34.4 cm × 25.5 cm (13.5 in × 10.0 in)
Anatomical Studies of the Arm
Illustrations and descriptions from the notes of Leonardo da Vinci (ca. 1510) demonstrating the movements made by the biceps. Source: http://www.drawingsofleonardo.org/
Studies of the Fetus in the Womb
Colored annotated sketch by Leonardo da Vinci (ca. 1510–1513), depicting the development and position of the fetus in the human body with greater accuracy than any previous artist or scientist. Da Vinci based his embryological drawings on observations of a fetus within a cadaver, which he conducted alongside the anatomist Marcatonio della Torre.
Medieval Physician Examining a Patient's Urine
Medieval Illustration of a physician examining a patient's urine. Urinalysis was considered important diagnostic tool from the time of the Hippocratics through the Middle Ages, as it was thought to provide insight into the state of a person's humours and other aspects of the interior of the body. Image from: http://digi.ub.uni-heidelberg.de/diglit/cpg644/0194?sid=5c36bc9c759105226dc9e43ab77a4610
Dissection of a Cadaver (15th century painting)
Dissection scene from 'Le Livre des Proprietes des Choses' (The Book on the Properties of Things) by Barthelemy l'Anglais. Image from Wikimedia Commons; also see: http://www.biol.unlp.edu.ar/images/anatomia/anatomia-antiguavesalio.jpg

Al Birunyi manuscript
Manuscript of al-Bīrūnī, Al-Athār al-Bāqiyah `an al-Qurūn al-Khāliyah, (Chronology of the Ancient Nations) MS 161, 1307. Edinburgh University. Depicting birth of either "Emperor Augustus" or Ahmad Ibn Sahl, who was a leader of a revolution against the Sāmānid ruler Nasr II (914-943 CE) of Transaxiana by post-mortem Caesarean section. Image at University of Edinburgh Image database
Imaginary debate between Averroes and Porphyry
Monfredo de Monte Imperiali Liber de herbis, 14th century.[18]
Monfredo de Monte Imperiali - Monfredo de Monte Imperiali "Liber de herbis", 14th century. Reproduction in "Inventions et decouvertes au Moyen-Age", Samuel Sadaune

1) Frontispiece of Andreas Vesalius' 'De Humani Corporis Fabrica Libri Septem' (Seven Books on the Structure of the Human Body). First published in 1543. Image from exhibition at The University of Missouri: Anatomical Illustration: Art Informing Science 1543-1950. See: https://library.missouri.edu/exhibits/anatomy/pre17th.htm

2) The Anatomical Lesson of Professor Pauw. Engraving by Andries Stock (1616). Image from: http://www.artic.edu/aic/collections/artwork/51094

3) Illustration by Andreas Vesalius: De Humani Corporis Fabrica Libri Septem. Basel: Johannes Oporinus, 1555. Image from: https://library.missouri.edu/exhibits/anatomy/images/vesalius1555_plate.jpg

4) Illustration by Juan Valverde de Amusco in 'Historia de la composición del cuerpo humano' (p. 64). Published in Rome, 1560. Image from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Juan_Valverde_de_Amusco#/media/File:Valverde_p64.jpg.

5) Bartholin: Frontispiece of Thomas Bartholin, Anatomia, Ex Caspari Bartholini Parentis
Institutionibus... Ad Sanguinis Circulationem....The Hague: Adrian Vlacq, 1666. Image at: https://library.missouri.edu/exhibits/anatomy/images/bartholin_1666.jpg From Anatomical Illustration: Art informing Science: an online exhibit at University of Missouri Library.

6) Frontispiece of John Browne's 'Myographia Nova: Or, A Graphical Description of All of the Muscles in the Humane Body, As They Arise in Dissection'....London: Thomas Milbourn, 1698. image: https://library.missouri.edu/exhibits/anatomy/images/browne_plate.jpg. From Anatomical Illustration: Art informing Science: an online exhibit at University of Missouri Library.

7).The Four Temperaments

Woodcut illustration by Leonhard Thurneysser in 'Quinta Essentia' (1574). The illustration represents an alchemical understanding of the human body, relating the four humours to the four elements and twelve signs of the zodiac. Image from Wikimedia Commons.

8) Herophilus and Erisistratus (woodcut)

Detail of a woodcut made by Lorenz Fries (1532) depicting ancient herbalists and scholars of medicinal lore. This image portrays the Alexandrian physicians Herophilus and Erisistratus, who were pioneers of human dissection and vivisection in the first half of the third century BCE. For entire woodcut, see: https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/common /7/70/Woodcut_depicting_ancient_herbalists_and_scholars_

Wellcome_L0040792.jpg

9) Frontispiece of Juan Valverde de Amusco's 'La anatomia del corpo umano', 1586 edition. Image from: https://becker.wustl.edu/about/news/pigs-monkeys-and-flayed-satyrs-two-title-pages-valverde

10) Speigel: Plate "IIII" from De Formato Foetu, Adriaan van den Spiegel. Adriani Spigelli Brvxellensis Equvistis... De Formato Foetu: Liber Singularis Aeneis Figvris Exornatus.... Frankfort: Matthæus Merianus, 1631. From Anatomical Illustration: Art informing Science: an online exhibit at University of Missouri Library

11) Frontispiece illustration of operating theatre in Bartolomeo Eustachius' 'Tabulae Anatomicae'. Published in Amsterdam, 1722. Image from Anatomical Illustration: Art informing Science: an online exhibit at University of Missouri Library.

12) Illustration of kidneys from Bartolomeo Eustachius' 'Tabulae Anatomicae'. Published in Amsterdam, 1722. Image from https://library.missouri.edu/exhibits/anatomy/images/eustachius_plate.jpg

13) Illustration of dissection scene from 'Fasiculus Medicinae, an eclectic collection of six medieval treatises on medicine. This collection, which originally existed only in two handwritten manuscripts, was first printed in 1491 in Latin and came out in numerous editions over the next 25 years. Johannes de Ketham, the German physician to whom the text is often attributed, was neither the author nor even the original compiler, but merely an owner of one of the manuscripts. A copy of this text is currently in the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

14) The Great Doctors of Antiquity (Frontispiece of 'Methodus Medendi, 1530) Frontispiece of Thomas Linacre's Latin version (Paris, S. de Colines, 1530) of the Galenic treatise 'Method of Healing". Image from The Wellcome Library, London.

15) Woodcut illustration of 'wound man' from an early German translation of' 'Fasciculus Medicinae', a collection of medical texts on various topic including the treatments of wounds and injuries, herbal remedies, bloodletting, and urology. Image from: http://circulatingnow.nlm.nih.gov/2014/07/22/the-wound-man-in-two-recent-acquisitions/

16) Points for Bloodletting Illustration by the surgeon Hans von Gersdorff from Feldtbůch der Wundartzney (Field Book for Wound Medicine, 1517) illustrating the major points for administering bloodletting. Image from: https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Gersdorff_Feldbuch_s16.jpg

Tibetan Embryology
Reproduction of a tangka, or painting, illustrating fetal development, by dint of the father's contribution. One of a series of tangkas commissioned by the fifth Dalai Lama's regent, Desi Sangye Gyatso, for a comprehensive, four-volume medical text called 'The Blue Beryl' (created between 1687 and 1703). Catalog #70.3/5470 Courtesy, Division of Anthropology, AMNH. Image: Glenn Loney Arts Archive.
Tibetan Medical Instruments
Painting depicting the great variety of medical instruments used in 17th century Tibet. The instruments include probes for exploring fractures, forceps, tweezers, scalpels, surgical saws, catheters, and syringes. One of a series of paintings commissioned by the fifth Dalai Lama's regent, Desi Sangye Gyatso. Image from http://mobile.the-scientist.com/article/29620/ancient-anatomy-circa-1687
Methods of Treatment
Reproduction of a tangka, or painting, illustrating various medical treatments employed in 17th century Tibet. One of a series of tangkas commissioned by the fifth Dalai Lama's regent, Desi Sangye Gyatso, for a comprehensive, four-volume medical text called 'The Blue Beryl' (created between 1687 and 1703, reproduction 1990). Image from http://mobile.the-scientist.com/article/29620/ancient-anatomy-circa-1687
Anatomy of Vulnerable Points
Reproduction of a tangka, or painting, depicting the points of the body thought to be most vulnerable to injury and disease. The figure who is standing illustrates the vulnerable blood vessels, muscles and bones; the figures who are seated display the vulnerable internal organs. One of a series of tangkas commissioned by the fifth Dalai Lama's regent, Desi Sangye Gyatso, for a comprehensive, four-volume medical text called 'The Blue Beryl' (created between 1687 and 1703, reproduction 1990). Image from http://mobile.the-scientist.com/article/29620/ancient-anatomy-circa-1687

Cupping and Leeching Advertisement
A 19th century business card for a company that provided cupping and leeching services in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. Image from http://ridiculouslyinteresting.com/2012/05/06/leeches-leeches-leeches-a-small-collection-of-vintage-advertisements-for-medical-leeches/
Via Life as a Human: The Human Interest Magazine for Evolving Minds (http://lifeasahuman.com/2011/arts-culture/history/collecting-medical-ephemera/).
Signor Sarti's Anatomical Venus
On p. [1]: Advertisement for 'Anatomical and physiological description of the Florentine Venus', 2nd ed. Various editions of this work were published between 1847 and 1854. Image from Wikimedia Commons; also available in Wellcome Library, London (http://wellcomeimages.org/indexplus/image/L0068100.html)
The Anatomy Lesson of Dr. Nicolaes Tulp
Painting by Rembrandt (1632). Currently housed in the Royal Picture Gallery Mauritshuis (The Hague, Netherlands). Image from Wikimedia Commons.
Sömmerring Illustration of Fetal Development
Samuel Thomas von Sömmerring :
Icones Embryonum Humanorum.
Frankfurt: Varrentrapp and Wenner, 1799.
The Four Temperaments
Image of woodcut representing the four humoural temperaments. Woodcut by Johann Kaspar Lavater in Physiognomische Fragmente zur Beförderung der Menschenkenntnis und Menschenliebe (1775-1778). Image from Wikimedia Commons (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Johann_Kaspar_Lavater#/media/File:Lavater1792.jpg)
Illustration of Black Hellebore (common treatment for melancholy)
Antique Folio Copper Plate published by J. Millan for Botanicum Medicinale, An Herbal of Medicinal Plants on the College of Physicians List, by Timothy Sheldrake 1759.
Phrenology Diagram (1883)
Phrenology Diagram in the 'People's Cyclopedia of Universal Knowledge' (1883).
Phrenology in Webster's Dictionary (ca. 1900)
Dictionary gloss of 'phrenology', with accompanying illustrations, circa 1900

Zombie Phrenology
Print illustration by graphic design artist Andy Pitts parodying the outdated 'science' of phrenology.
The Consciouness of the Body: Illustrations by Laura Ferguson
Skeleton scroll with spinal cord and nerves: http://www.lauraferguson.net/body-narrative-galleries/nerve-pathways-brain-to-body/
Reclining figure with visible skeleton: http://www.lauraferguson.net/body-narrative-galleries/the-visible-skeleton-series/
Neural network with floating colors: http://www.lauraferguson.net/body-narrative-galleries/inner-space/
Gold-black skeleton #2: http://www.lauraferguson.net/body-narrative-galleries/drawing-from-medical-images/

1) Ancient Discoveries Series 1 Episode 2: Galen, Doctor to the Gladiators: Wild Dream Films: Youtube: https://youtu.be/nnhDMNlq298

2) The Secrets of Ancient Medicine: Documentary & Life Discovery HD: Youtube: https://youtu.be/lQ3L2BMNVkk

Podcasts from Kings College London series "The History of Philosophy without any Gaps" curated by Peter Adamson:

1) Hippocratics: the Good Humour Men. narrated by Peter Adamson,

Posted on 16 January 2011. 2) The Joy of Sects narrated by Peter Adamson 3) Hankinson on Galen, narrated by Jim Hankinson.

CLAS 3239 | Ancient Medicine: The Classical Roots of the Medical Humanities: Attributions

About Attributions

Banner Image

Topics and Readings

Topics and Readings

Gallery of Medical Illustrations

Multimedia