Skip to main content

Transfer Student LOOP: Other Collections

Music Library

The Walter W. Gerboth Music Library is located on the 2nd floor of the Library. The collection contains printed music scores, collected works, and sound and video recordings dealing with both music and dance. (All music items have a call number that begins with the letter M.) Playback equipment for on-site listening is available. General and specialized books about music and dance as well as a fine selection of periodicals and yearbooks round out the collection. Subject strengths lie in books about American music and performing editions of musical compositions.

Government Documents

The Brooklyn College Library is a selective depository receiving 49.12% of materials printed by the U.S. government. The Library became a depository in 1937, but our holdings go back much further than that. Our holdings from 1976 to the present are included in OneSearch. Paper indexes are available for older materials. Aside from a small collection of reference materials kept behind the service desk (on the Lower Level), the collection is shelved on open stacks. The collection includes a wide range of Congressional materials that date back to the 1800s and deal with a wide range of topics including health care, economics, foreign policy, equal rights, the environment, and education. Collection strengths include statistical information on education, health and nutrition, U.S. Census, crime and justice, historical information, maps, science, and geology.

Some non-reference print and electronic materials may be borrowed by members of the Brooklyn College community. Online resources are freely available to anyone with Internet access; you can find links to many of these resources on the Government Information subject page.

If you have any questions, contact the Government Documents Librarian, Prof. Jane Cramer, at (718) 951-5332 or janec@brooklyn.cuny.edu

FDLP logo

Statistical Research

For those interested in statistical research, see the Government Information and Demographics & Statistics subject pages.

Special Collections

The Archives and Special Collections Division of the Brooklyn College Library was established in 1950. It is committed to acquiring, preserving, and providing access to the records of enduring value that document the Brooklyn College community. The unit collects published and unpublished works relating to the unique cultural, social, and historical development of the Borough of Brooklyn and its neighborhoods.

The Archives' records, files, and materials include a wide array of sources, such as reports, studies, memoranda, correspondence, newspapers, photographs, drawings, paintings, maps, atlases, audiotapes and video recordings, and memorabilia. These materials document the growth and development of the institution and its students, faculty, and administrators. The unit relies upon the transfer of records from the college's academic and administrative departments and the direct donation of archival materials from alumni, faculty, and other private donors to build the collections.

Unlike other Library materials, you cannot check out materials from Special Collections. These materials must be used in the Special Collections room on the Library's first floor. Special Collections is open Monday through Friday, 9am-5pm (closed on weekends).

Check out their great Instagram page!

Research Assistance

Reference and research assistance is offered to all Brooklyn College students. Please consult the Special Collections website for further information on accessing the archives and collections.

The book titles in the Archives and Special Collections Division are cataloged and appear in OneSearch. Some of the Special Collections finding aids are available online at the Finding Aid page.

Transfer Student LOOP Quiz