Brooklyn College Library LibGuides Home: Speech Language Pathology: Data/Statistics/Government Info

NYC DOHMH Dept of Health and Mental Hygeine

Community Health Profiles (Interactive Tool)
EpiQuery A contraction of "epidemiology" and "query". An interactive tool for using NYC Health data.
Envrionment & Health Data Portal (Neighborhood Reports)
NYC Health Map Use the Health Map to search for health services, clinics, programs, etc. Search by by address, zip code, or borough and then select the service type from the menu. Your results will be in a list as well as marked on the map.
NYC Neighborhood Health Atlas (Tableau)
NYC Map Gallery

Community Health Survey The New York City Community Health Survey (CHS) is a telephone survey conducted annually by the DOHMH, Division of Epidemiology, Bureau of Epidemiology Services. CHS provides robust data on the health of New Yorkers, including neighborhood, borough, and citywide estimates on a broad range of chronic diseases and behavioral risk factors.
NYC Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NYCHANES) The New York City Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NYC HANES) is a community-based health survey. Two surveys have been conducted, one in 2004 and the most recent one in 2013-14. The first survey conducted by the New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (DOHMH), and the second by the CUNY School of Public Health and DOHMH. NYC HANES is modeled after a similar national survey - the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES). NHANES has been conducted by the National Center for Health Statistics for more than 35 years. Information from NHANES has led to important improvements in American health care and nutrition.
Vital Statistics Birth, mortality, infant mortality data, including links to relevant publications based on the data.

Publications:

The Health Department provides many health data publications and presentations on a variety of topics to assist New Yorkers in understanding the health of the city.

NYC Health Publications (search)
Health of Latinos in NYC (Special Report)
Salud de los Latinos en la Ciudad de Nueva York
NYC Vital Signs Brief data stories about important NYC health topics (such as mental health, adolescent health, asthma, and obesity) with policy and program recommendations.
Epi Data Briefs and Data Tables Epi Data Briefs are short (2-3 pages) publications that highlight data findings from varying Health Department programs and projects. For some topics, Epi Data Tables are available, which provide the data without additional description in table format.
Special Reports

NYC Dept of Planning

Community District Profiles The Community District Profiles from NYC Planning are useful for public health and nutrition research. Choose a community district by clicking on the map or using the dropdown menu. Click on the “Community Board” tab from within a profile to access the “Statement of Community District Needs.” These reports discuss the community's needs and priorities which often includes health and nutrition topics.
NYC Population FactFinder (Map) Population FactFinder allows you to easily define study areas within New York City and examine detailed population profiles showing critical demographic, social, economic, and housing statistics, and how these statistics have changed over time. Data is from the American Community Survey and decennial census.
NYC Population Reports/Data/Maps Links to Decennial Census, American Community Survey, and many reports and presentations. Also includes new Visualzing NYC interactive maps and graphs, and other GIS tools and info.
NYC Facilities Explorer (Map) The most comprehensive dataset of public and private facilities and program sites that shape the quality of New York City neighborhoods

More NYC Data/Statistics Sources

NYCityMap (DoITT)
Data 2 Go NYC Create maps from various data sources, including health and nutrition indicators, demographics, and more.
Data 2 Go Health NYC
NYC Open Data
NYC.gov
New York Academy of Medicine--Institute for Urban Health
Dynamics of Racial/Hispanic Composition in NYC Neighborhoods 2010 to 2020 (NYC Planning) ArcGIS StoryMap data visualization and report from NYC Planning Dept (Nov. 2021)
United Hospital Fund (Publications) Reports, commentaries, briefs, and other literature regarding many health topics in NYC
The Comprehensive Plan for Brooklyn: A Vision for a Healthier, More Equitable Borough (Office of Brooklyn Borough President, 2024))
Brooklyn Health Map (Prof. Sheena Philogene, Science Librarian/BC Cancer Center)

New York State

Health Data New York
New York State health data clearinghouse
New York State Data Center
New York State Open Data
New York State Dept of Health -- Family, Community, & Minority Health
NYS Dept of Health--Nutrition

US Government Resources

National Institutes of Health (NIH):

National Institutes of Health (NIH) The National Institutes of Health is the steward of medical and behavioral research for the Nation. Comprised of 27 separate components, mainly Institutes and Centers…the NIH mission is to uncover new knowledge that will lead to better health for everyone.
Health Information & Topics
NIH Institutes and Centers (links)
National Institute on Minority Health & Health Disparities

HHS (Dept. of Health and Human Services)

US Dept. of Health & Human Services
HHS Topic Pages
Links to many topics including Aging.gov, AIDS.gov, Flu, Food Safety, Opiods, Zika, and more
Health.gov The Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (ODPHP) leads efforts to improve the health of all Americans. Links to Dietary Guidelines, Physical Activity Guidelines, Health Literacy & Communication, Healthy People 2020, and more.
Dietary Guidelines (ODPHP)
HealthFinder.gov
Maternal & Child Health Bureau
Office of Minority Health (OMH)
Minority Population Profiles (OMH)

CDC:

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) Nation’s principal health statistics agency, compiles statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of our people. We are a unique public resource for health information–-a critical element of public health and health policy.
Data Briefs--National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) Data Briefs are statistical publications that provide information about current public health topics. Each report takes a complex data subject and summarizes it in text and graphics that provide readers with easily comprehensible information in a compact publication (PDF) and webpage. This list of all Data Briefs that have been released to date is presented in an interactive, searchable, and sortable data tables format.
NCHS Topics
Nutrition, Physical Activity, and Obesity Data Portal (CDC)
CDC Healthy Living Health topics, specific populations, life stages
FastStats A-Z
Health, United States (Current Edition) Health, United States is an annual report on trends in health statistics.
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)
Health, United States 2015 (Special Feature on Racial and Ethnic Health Disparities)

Census Bureau:

Healthy People 2030

Healthy People 2030 Website from the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Dept of Health & Human Services.
Healthy People 2020

Instructions for using NYC data sources

NYC Community Health Profiles
EpiQuery Basics
NYC Planning--Community District Profiles
Includes instructions on how to locate Statements of Community District Needs and how to use NYC PopulationFactFinder for demographic data

How do I cite data or statistics?

Citing Data & Statistics

More health information websites

Health and Medicine Division - The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine Publications from the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine provide objective and straightforward advice to decision makers and the public.
Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME) - University of Washington The Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME) is an independent population health research center at UW Medicine, part of the University of Washington, that provides rigorous and comparable measurement of the world's most important health problems and evaluates the strategies used to address them. IHME makes this information freely available so that policymakers have the evidence they need to make informed decisions about how to allocate resources to best improve population health.
MedlinePlus MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
National Information Center on Health Services Research & Health Care Technology (NICHSR)

LGBTQ

HIV/AIDS

Drugs and Alchohol

FDA (US Food & Drug Administration)

USDA

Food and Nutrition Information Center
USDA Center for Nutrition Policy & Promotion
Nutrition Evidence Systematic Review (NESR)
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP)
Nutrition.gov
My Plate
Local Food Directories (Farmers Markets, etc)
National Farmers Market Directory
FoodData Central FoodData Central is an integrated data system that provides expanded nutrient profile data and links to related agricultural and experimental research.

Food Safety

Immigration, Migration, Refugees

Mayor's Office of Immigrant Affairs (NYC)
Newest New Yorkers (NYC Dept of Planning) This report contains information about the foreign-born population NYC. The webpage includes a map of the Top 10 Immigrant Groups.
Office of Refugee Resettlement Facts & Data
Refugee Health Profiles (CDC)
Migration Data Portal
Rural Migrant Health (Rural Health Information Hub)

Aging

NYC Dept for the Aging
NYC DOHMH Bulletin on Healthy Aging
Healthy Aging (CDC)
NIH National Institute on Aging
National Institute on Aging YouTube Channel
National Institute on Aging Exercise & Physical Activity Nutrition, exercise, and safety resources
MedlinePlus Health Topics -- Older Adult Health
National Council on Aging
Center for Healthy Aging (New York Academy of Medicine) Age-friendly NYC is a one-of-a-kind partnership between the Office of the Mayor, the New York City Council, and the New York Academy of Medicine that works to identify and catalyze improvements to enable older people to access, enjoy, and contribute to city life.
Interactive Map on Aging in NYC (NY Academy of Medicine)

Health Insurance Programs

HealthCare.gov
Medicaid
Center for Medicare & Medicaid Services - Research, Statistics, Data and Systems
Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) The Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP) provides free or low-cost health coverage for more than 7 million children up to age 19. CHIP covers U.S. citizens and eligible immigrants. State by state program information.

Children & Youth

KIDS COUNT Data Center A project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation, KIDS COUNT is the premier source for data on child and family well-being in the United States. Access hundreds of indicators, download data and create reports and graphics on the KIDS COUNT Data Center that support smart decisions about children and families. Includes poverty, education, health, and other topics.
Kids' Well-Being Indicators Clearinghouse (KWIC) New York State KWIC includes a wide range of health, education and other well-being indicators to learn more about the status of children across New York State
National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health (NCEMCH) Based at Georgetown University. The National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health provides national leadership to the maternal and child health community in three key areas--systems-wide program development, education, and state-of-the-art knowledge--to improve the health and well-being of the nation's children and families.

Library & Academic IT

Library &

Academic IT

Speech Language Pathology: Data/Statistics/Government Info