Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New Deal Exhibit: Acknowledgements and Resources

An Online Catalog for the Exhibit at Brooklyn College

Special Thanks

Special thanks to Dean Maria Ann Conelli, School of Visual, Media and Performing Arts, for her support throughout this project and making this exhibit a reality. Many thanks to Asya Dodina who assisted with all facets of preservation, planning and installation of the exhibit; and to Beth Farryn Levine, Associate Executive Director, Brooklyn College Foundation for her expert guidance. We are greatly appreciative of Joseph LoGuirato’s graphic design for both the exhibit and catalogue. We are grateful to Colin McDonald for his expert software design for the touch screen and Emily Fairey for designing a terrific exhibit website.


Michelle J. Anderson, President Brooklyn College

Maria Ann Conelli, Dean: School of Visual, Media and Performing Arts

Mary Mallery, Chief Librarian and Exec. Director of Academic Information Technology

WPA Painting Restoration Supporters

Brooklyn College gratefully acknowledges these members of the Class of 1964 for their generosity and commitment to the preservation of this important piece of our history.‚Äč

Potoula Anastation
Stuart B. Bauer
Arlene Baxt
Stephen M. Belis
Rochelle Benezra
Michele J. Birnbaum
Julia M. Blair
Leonard Blum
Martin Brenner
Eva Brisman
Roslyn H. Chernesky
Adele F. Cohen
Rita E. Cooperman
Madelyn Donoff
Robert F. Dore
Jeanette Dowdell
Shirley F. Ebner
Stephen A. Edelstein
Emily G. Eisen
Joel D. Feinblatt
Joan Felsen
Philip N. Fluhr
Maude S. Fribourg
Bonita Ganot
Ronald B. Gold
Arlene Goldberg
Elinor Goldberg
Leonard Goldberg
Miriam Goldhaber
Arthur M. Goldstein
Eileen I. Haber-Davis
Joel A. Hertz
Rita Hofer
Bernard Hoffman
Ellis Horowitz
Philip Howort
David Kafkewitz
Julian Karelitz
Lawrence K. Katz
Roslyn M. Kaye
Leslie W. Keena
Ellen M. Koukoudeas
Gershom Kravitz
Lorraine Laighold
Antoinette N. Lamb
Joel S. Levine
Arthur H. Mackler
Barbara J. Malinsky
Judith A. Malz
Syma Mendelsohn
Julia-Anne Merker
Gloria M. Montalto
Maryann Morale
Leslie J. Morris
Irwin K. Neswitz
Norman M. Panitch
Carole J. Parker
Oliver G. Patterson
Laurence Perlman
Louise M. Pirrello
Gerald J. Post
Gail Postal
Herbert R. Roland
Dennis S. Rosenberg
Harold Rosenblatt
Eileen Rosenthal
Carol Ann Rudolph
Lynn D. Sacks
Joyce M. Saltman
Linda M. Schoenberg
Barbara M. Schonfeld
Carol J. Schwartz
Robert D. Schwartz
Karen M. Scoglio
Michael L. Sesnowitz
Frances J. Shapiro-Skrobe
Lea N. Siciliano
Elliot R. Siegel
Edward B. Sussman
Melvin B. Taub
Neil P. Tessler
Ralph P. Testa
Marguerite R. Tumminio
Alice P. Walsh
David Weinstein
Roberta E. Weisbrod
Linda S. Weiss
Ann R. Yerman
Sheila P. Young
David M. Zieff

References

Books and Journal Articles:

Carr, Eleanor. “New York Sculpture during the Federal Project.” Art Journal, vol. 31, no. 4, 1972, pp. 397–403.

Crew, Spencer R., Lonnie Bunch, and Clement Price, eds. 1949- Slave Culture: A Documentary Collection of the Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers’ Project. ABC-CLIO LLC, 2014.

Di Nunzio, Mario R., 1936 - The Great Depression and New Deal: Documents Decoded. Published Santa Barbara, California, 2014.

Edsforth, Ronald, 1948- The New Deal: America’s Response to the Great Depression, Ronald Edsforth. Publisher: Malden, MA, Blackwell Publishers, 2000.

The Federal Writers’ Project. The WPA Guide to New York City. Publisher New York: Pantheon Books, 1982. Hill, Jeff. The WPA - Putting America to Work. Omnigraphics, 2014. Defining Moments, Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Hill, Jeff. The WPA - Putting America to Work. Omnigraphics, 2014. Defining Moments, Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Mangione, Patricia. Dream and The Deal: The Federal Writers’ Project, 1935-1943. Syracuse University Press, 1996.

McElvaine, Robert S., editor in chief. Encyclopedia of the Great Depression. Publisher New York, N.Y. Macmillan Reference USA, 2004.

Monroe, Gerald M. “Mural Burning by the New York City WPA.” Archives of American Art Journal, vol. 16, no. 3, 1976, pp. 8–11.

O’Connor, Francis V. The New Deal Art Projects, An Anthology of Memoirs. Washington, D.C.: Smithsonian Institution Press, 1972.

O’Connor, Francis V. Art for the Millions: Essays from the 1930s by Artists and Administrators of the WPA Federal Art. New York Graphic Society Books, 1974.

O’Connor, Francis V. “The New Deal Art Projects in New York.” American Art Journal, vol. 1, no. 2, 1969, pp. 58–79.

Opdycke, Sandra. The WPA: Creating Jobs and Hope in the Great Depression. New York: Routledge, 2016.

Park, Marlene. “City and Country in the 1930s: A Study of New Deal Murals in New York.” Art Journal, vol. 39, no. 1, 1979, pp. 37–47.

Verdicchio, Joseph. New Deal Work Relief and New York City:1933-1948. Thesis (Ph.D.), New York University, 1980.

Watkins, T. H. The Hungry Years: A Narrative History of the Great Depression in America. Holt Paperbacks, 1st edition, 2000.

Williams, Mason B., City of Ambition: FDR, La Guardia, and the Making of Modern New York. New York, W.W. Norton Company, Inc., 2013.

Websites

The Eleanor Roosevelt Papers Project https://www2.gwu.edu

FDR Presidential Library and Museum https://fdrlibrary.org

General Service Administration https://www.gsa.gov

Library of Congress http://memory.loc.gov

The Living New Deal https://livingnewdeal.org

National Archives https://www.archives.gov

New Deal Art Registry http://www.newdealartregistry.org

Smithsonian American Art Museum https://americanart.si.edu

Smithsonian Institution Archives https://www.si.edu

Audio Sources

WNYC http://www.wnyc.org

Information on Artists

Information on Artists:

Canadé, Vincent (1879 – 1961)

Smithsonian American Art Museum, Washington D.C. https://americanart.si.edu

Csoka, Stephen (1897-1989) Vail Fine Art, Vail, Colorado http://www.vailfineart.com http://www.csoka.com

NY Times Obituary, publ. 1/11/1989

D’Agostino, Vincent (1896-1981)

Smithsonian American Art Museum, Washington D.C. https://americanart.si.edu

Davis, Hubert (1902-1981) http://www.mcall.com https://news.psu.edu https://www.metmuseum.org

Galos, Ben (1894- 1963)

  1. Falk, Peter Hastings, Who Was Who in American Art: 1564-1975, Sound View Press, 1999. (2) Lozowick, Louis. 100 Contemporary American Jewish Painters and Sculptors, Art Section, YKUF, 1947. (3) The New York Times, “Ben Galos, 67, Portraitist and Painter of Landscapes,” May 20, 1963. http://www.papillongallery.com

Pantuhoff, Igor (1911-1972) Decaso Decorative Arts Society, https://www.decaso.com https://www.liveauctioneers.com http://www.blouinartinfo.com https://www.moma.org

Swisher, Allen Lee (1888-1960)

New Deal Gallery, Mount Morris, N.Y. http://newdeal.livingstonarts.org

Laufman, Sidney (1891-1985)

Ro Gallery, Long Island City, N.Y. http://rogallery.com

Hermes, R. Allen (1913 – 2004)

Western Connecticut State University Archives and Special Collections, Danbury, CT. http://archives.library.wcsu.edu

Patterson, Claude (20th century)

Treadway Toomey Galleries, Oak Park, Illinois https://treadwaygallery.com

Volpe, Nicholas A. (1911-- 1992) https://immortalephemera.com https://en.wikipedia.org

Warsager, Hyman J. (1909-1974) http://www.aaa.si.edu