Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LOOP (Library Online Orientation Program): Getting Help

Welcome to the LOOP!

Reference

If you need help with finding information, talk to a librarian! Whether you are looking for specific books and/or articles or need assistance with a research topic, you can stop by the Reference Desk on the first floor (when the Library is open), get in touch with a librarian online, or use our 24/7 Ask A Librarian service to get help via email or chat. Experienced librarians will help you with your research-related questions.

Research Basics

If you have a question about OneSearch (to find books owned by the Library) or need help using a database (when searching for journal articles), you can ask for assistance at the Reference Desk (when the Library is open) or use our online Ask A Librarian service.

OneSearch

OneSearch (the big search box on the Library's homepage) is a good starting point to look for a specific book or article, or to look for a mix of books and articles on a topic.

Databases

The Library subscribes to hundreds of databases that cover a wide variety of subjects. A good database to start with is Academic Search Complete, accessible from the Databases link above the big search box on the Library's homepage.

Subject-Specific Research

The Library's research guides list discipline-specific resources, including databases, journals, and web resources. To get started, visit the Library homepage and click on Research Guides under the Research Help tab (along the top of the homepage). From there, choose the discipline in which you are interested and begin your research. For further research assistance, see the Doing Research page, or see below.

Research Assistance

If you get stuck with your research when you're working remotely, don't worry! You can get assistance on the phone (718-951-5628) (when the Library is open), via email, or via live chat. Please visit the Ask-A-Librarian page.

Circulation Desk

The Circulation Desk, located by the entrance on the 1st floor, is where you check out, return, and renew books. To check out books from the Library, you need your validated college ID card (physical or electronic). To access your patron account information in OneSearch, you will authenticate using your CUNYFirst user ID and password. 

There is no limit to the number of circulating books you can check out. Circulating books have an initial four week loan period.

Renewal of Material

Brooklyn College books may be renewed up to three times. Books are renewable in person or online. Books are not renewable by telephone or mail.

Books may not be renewed if:

  • The book has been placed on hold or recalled by another patron.
  • There is a block on your Library record. 
  • The book is more than 5 weeks overdue.
  • The renewal limit has been reached.
  • Your ID card is not registered in the Library system.

Returning Material

Materials from any CUNY library that circulate for regular loan periods can be returned to any CUNY library. You do not need to go back to the library from which you borrowed the item(s).

NOTE: Music items checked out from the Brooklyn College Library must be returned to the Music Library (2nd floor).

Late Fees

You must pay library fines to the library to which you return the item(s), which can be any CUNY library.

NOTE: Local policies governing the payment of fines vary from library to library. Check with the staff at the Circulation Desk if you have any questions.

Late fines at the Brooklyn College Library are:

  • $0.25 per day for regular loans.
  • $6.00 per hour for all Reserve loans (fees capped at $100.00).

For more information, see Circulation policies, or contact the Circulation Desk via CircDesk@brooklyn.cuny.edu or at (718) 951-5335. (Non-receipt of overdue notices does not exempt the borrower from overdue fees.)

Ask-A-Librarian

Assistance

If you need any kind of assistance with your research, please do not hesitate to contact the Brooklyn College Library! We are here to help you.

There are several ways to get help when you're stuck:

General Library Help

Ask by chat: Librarians are here to help you 24/7

Ask by email: Get a response within 2 business days

Ask in person: Come to the reference desk whenever the Library is open

Ask by phone: Call the reference desk at (718) 951-5628 whenever the library is open

In-Depth Research Help

Ask a subject librarian if you have an in-depth question about research in a specific field

Technical Help

Contact the ITS Helpdesk at (718) 677-6180 or helpdesk@brooklyn.cuny.edu if you're having problems with Blackboard or off-campus access to databases.

New Media Center

The New Media Center oversees the LIbrary's computing labs (on the first floor, second floor and on the Lower Level). It also has well-equipped media rooms appropriate for study or class sessions, the Woody Tanger Auditorium (a fully automated high capacity venue), and a large collection of physical media available for in-house loan.

Note: Streaming media is available via OneSearch and/or databases such as Kanopy, Swank, Academic Video Online (AVON), etc. For a full listing of streaming video platforms available via the Library, see here

Computing Lab

There are hundreds of PCs and a dozen Macs available to all library users in the New Media Center's computer labs. In addition to the Internet and online Library resources, these computers provide access to Microsoft Office and additional software such as statistical and graphics packages. For more information about all of the software available, please see the Computing Services page.

Laptop Loan

Laptops are available to students on a first come, first served basis. They are available for 1-day and 3-day loans. Laptops must be checked out from the New Media Center and returned to the New Media Center no later than 30 minutes before closing on the due date. Macbooks and iPads are available for 1-day loans, and are also checked out from, and returned to, the New Media Center.

Language Labs

The New Media Center makes available many of the same materials that are in the Language Labs on campus. For a full list of language materials available in the New Media Center, call (718) 951-5327 or email NewMedia@brooklyn.cuny.edu.

Circulation of Media Material

Circulating videos are charged out on the 2nd floor. The loan period for BC students is 10 days. The loan period for all CUNY faculty is 2 weeks. Loan periods for reserve media are usually 2 hours (for in-library use only) or 3 days. Borrowing time limits are placed on materials to ensure that they are accessible to as many people as possible. Videos and DVD's may be returned to the Music Library Service Desk or the Main Circulation Desk. 

Media items that circulate must be returned on time. Videos returned late incur late fees of $5.00 per day.

Viewing Rooms

The New Media Center also has rooms that can be reserved for group viewing/listening. For more information, contact the New Media Center at (718) 951-5327 or NewMedia@brooklyn.cuny.edu.

English 1010 LOOP Quiz