Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Semester: Spring 2021
Class Time: Tu.Thu. 3:40-4:55pm
(ONLINE Synchronous sessions mixed with asynchronous sessions)
Class Location: Online Bb Collaborate and Zoom
Instructor: Kiyoka Koizumi, Ph.D., MCHES
Office Location: Online via Bb Collaborate
Officer Hours: Wed 3-6pm
Contact email: firstname.lastname@example.org
- For e-mail contact, please provide the following in the subject line: "HNSC2140 and your name"
- Email address: KKoizumi@brooklyn.cuny.edu.
Helpful Information on Accessing Resources Remotely
To access some items you need to login with your Brooklyn College ID and others you will need to enter a password given to you by your professor.
The following icons will let you know what you will need to do to access the items.
If an item has no icon, then you don't need to do anything to access it.
Off-campus access. You will be prompted to enter your Brooklyn College ID and login.
Password protected item. You will be prompted to enter the password given to you by your Professor.
Need assistance with off-campus access? Go to the library's Library Remote Access page for assistance and instructions.
Items located on the NYTimes site, access with free CUNY account..
Items located on Wall Street Journal site, access with free CUNY account..
The Brooklyn College Library's electronic resources (e.g. journals, ebooks, databases, etc.) are available to registered students, faculty, and staff when off-campus, including while abroad. If you would like to connect from off-campus you will need to authenticate yourself. Click here to Authenticate yourself now.
If you are a student:
- User ID = your 8-digit CUNY EmpID
- Password format = FLMM/DD/YY
- FL = your CUNYfirst official First and Last initials (upper case)
- MM/DD/YY = your 6-digit birthday with the SLASHES
- Example: If your name is Jalil Doe and your birthday is November 21, 1998, your password would be JD11/21/98
Don't know your EMPLID? Check under My Info in the BCWebCentral Portal
If you are Faculty or Staff:
- User ID: is found before the @ sign of your BC Email (e.g. jalil.doe01 of email@example.com).
- Password: is your BC Email Password.
If you need to request a Brooklyn College email account, use this account request form.
For further assistance go to the library's Ask a Librarian page, or use this form. If you want read more on Library Remote Access, .
All CUNY members have free access to The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal and the Chronicle of Higher Education.
- Use CUNY.edu email to sign up.
- Faculty & staff renew every year.
- Students have access until graduation.
- renewal requires working CUNY.edu address.
NY Times: Anyone who initiates an account will have an active subscription for one year from the date she/he creates the account. If you already have an annual subscription to the NYTimes, you can cancel it and will receive a refund. However, if you only have a monthly subscription, the New York Times will not issue a refund for that month.
Items located on the NYTimes site, access with free CUNY account..
Items located on Wall Street Journal site, access with free CUNY account..
Introduction to the U.S. Health System and Policy 3 hours, 3 credits
Overview and examination of problems in health care delivery in the United States. Introduction to the fundamental characteristics and organizational structures of the health system. Study of the historical, political, ethical, and economic, and regulatory aspects of the public and private health systems. Critical evaluation of the quality, organization, and accessibility of health care services, and the role of different agencies and branches of government. Comparison of health care policy and systems in different countries. (Not open to students who have completed Health and Nutrition Sciences 26.) Prerequisite: Health and Nutrition Sciences 1100 [6.1]
At the end of the semester students will have:
- Gained a deeper understanding of the organization and nature of the health care system, including the public and private delivery of care, the role of third-party payers, reimbursement methods, cost-control methods, and quality-control activities.
- Gained a basic comprehension of the nature and operations of hospitals; physicians, nurses, and allied health professionals; ambulatory care; and the ways in which they interact.
- Gained an understanding of the major ethical, economic, professional, and legal challenges confronting providers, insurers, government, and consumers.
- Gained increased knowledge and skills in their ability to maneuver the complicated health care system to protect their own health.
Your final course grade will be comprised of the following components:
|Semester Projects/assignments ((Insurance project: 20%; 4 DB assignments 20%)
Project #1: Insurance Policies (20 pts.):
10 pts for written report/PP and 10 pts for class presentation. (You can do this with another person.)
You are to examine your own health policy (or your family policy), with another policy (such as Medicare) and report the following:
Part 1 of Project #1:
Written work/PP should include all the following. (10pts)
- Name of the insurance, sponsoring company/organization, its address and contact
- Is it your own? Your parents’? Is it through your work? Is it Medicaid?
- What is the premium per month?
- Hospital care: Does your neighborhood hospital take your insurance? Maximum number of days allowed for hospitalization.
- Outpatient: Copay? Find a GP in your neighborhood who takes your insurance (or family doctor, OB/GNY specialist).
- Telemedicine coverage?
- Pharmacy coverage – copay
- Contraceptive coverage?
- Mental health care – For out patient care, how many times/visits per year allowed, copay, deductible?
- Dental coverage?
- Compare with another insurance (such as your classmate’s): Briefly discuss which insurance plan may be better for participants and why. (less than 100 words.)
Part 2 of Project #1:
- Your presentation to class (via Blackboard) (10pts.)
Project 2: Collection of assignments (5 x 4 = 20pts)
- Health Disparities “Unnatural Causes” and “Class Divided” (5pts x2=10pts)
- Mental Health Care DB (5pts.)
- Health Care around the world BB-DB (5pts.)
Bonus point opportunities:
Choose one article from the reading list on the syllabus. Summarize it in one page and do a class presentation (3-5min.) You need to let the instructor know of your intention ahead of time (at least by one session before your intended date.) (First come, first served. Only one presenter for each article. If a long article – longer than 4 full pages, two students could collaborate.) (3pts.)
Instructions: For e-mail contact, please provide the course number HNSC2140 and your name on the Subject Line.
Email address: KKoizumi@brooklyn.cuny.edu.
||Last day to drop for 100% tuition refund
Last day to file Permit request
||Start of Spring Regular Session
||Last day to add a course
Last day to drop for 75% tuition refund
Financial Aid Certification Enrollment Status Date
||Verification of Enrollment Rosters Available to faculty
Grade of WD is assigned to students who officially drop a course
||Last day to drop for 50% tuition refund
||Last day to drop for 25% tuition refund
Last day to Change or Declare a Major/Minor to be effective Spring 2021 Census date – Spring Term
Verification of Enrollment Rosters Due from faculty
||100% Tuition obligation for course drops
WN Grades assigned
Grade of W is assigned to students who officially drop a course
||WA Grades Assigned – Immunization non-compliance
||R2T4 60% Regular Session
||Last day to drop a course with a grade of W
||End of Spring Regular Session
||Final Grade Submission Deadline*
||Spring 2021 Degree Conferral Date
Number-letter grade equivalents
“Curving” may take place depending upon the total class grade distribution.
The Center for Student Disability Services is working remotely at this time. Please email them at firstname.lastname@example.org for assistance.
Students should inform the professor if they have a disability or any other situation that may require Section 504/ADA accommodations. The faculty and staff will attempt to work out whatever arrangements are necessary.
Please provide me with your course accommodation form and discuss your specific accommodation with me as soon as possible to ensure accommodations are met in a timely fashion.
In order to receive academic accommodations students must first be registered with the Center for Student Disability Services. Students who have a documented disability or who suspect that they might have a disability are invited to set up an appointment with the Director of the Center for Student Disability Services, Ms. Valerie Stewart-Lovell or the Assistant Director, Josephine Patterson or their general email email@example.com
- The faculty and administration of Brooklyn College support an environment free from cheating and plagiarism.
- Each student is responsible for being aware of what constitutes cheating and plagiarism and for avoiding both.
- View complete text of CUNY Academic Integrity Policy and Brooklyn College procedure for policy implementation.
- If a faculty member suspects a violation of academic integrity and, upon investigation, confirms that violation, or if the student admits the violation, the faculty member must report the violation.
- Please read the section entitled “Academic Regulations and Procedures” in the Brooklyn College Undergraduate Bulletin or Graduate Bulletin for a complete listing of academic regulations of the College.
Types of Academic Dishonesty Explicitly Prohibited
- Cheating is the unauthorized use or attempted use of material, information, notes, study aides, devices or communication during an academic exercise.
- Plagiarism is the act of presenting another person’s ideas, research or writings as your own.
- Internet plagiarism includes submitting downloaded term papers or parts of term papers, paraphrasing or copying information from the internet without citing the source, and “cutting & pasting” from various sources without proper attribution.
- Obtaining unfair advantage is any activity that intentionally or unintentionally gives a student an unfair advantage in his/her academic work over another student. This includes sharing specific information about exam questions with other students.
- Falsification of records and official documents includes, but is not limited to, forging signatures of authorization and falsifying information on an official academic record.
- Students who experience the death of a loved one must contact the Division of Student Affairs, 2113 Boylan Hall, if they wish to implement either the Standard Bereavement Procedure or the Leave of Absence Bereavement Procedure. The Division of Student Affairs has the right to request a document that verifies the death (e.g., a funeral program or death notice). Contact Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
- Typically, this death involves that of a family member, in parallel to the bereavement policy for faculty and staff. However, it is up to the discretion of the Division of Student Affairs to determine if a death outside of the immediate family warrants implementation of the student bereavement policy.
- As an option, and in consultation with the Division of Student Affairs, students may take the Leave of Absence Bereavement after the Standard Bereavement.
- Reference to the Student Bereavement Policies will be noted on course syllabi.
- Students requesting a religious accommodation should contact the Division of Student Affairs as well. The chief student affairs officer, or a designee, and the student will engage in an interactive process with the goal of finding an acceptable accommodation.
- Upon approval from the Division of Student Affairs, the student is allowed one week, commencing from the day of notification to the Division of Student Affairs, of excused absence.
- Should the student feel that he/she needs additional days, these should be discussed with individual course instructors and/or the Division of Student Affairs.
- The Division of Student Affairs will contact the student’s faculty and academic staff of the student’s courses.
- Faculty and academic staff will be advised that extensions must be granted to the student for the period of one week of excused absence.
- Further extensions may be negotiated with the student when he or she returns to campus.
- Students are encouraged to discuss options with their instructors.
Leave of Absence Bereavement Procedure:
- Students may be allowed to withdraw from the semester in which the death occurs.
- The Bereavement Leave of Absence is for one semester only.
- Students who have opted to take the Bereavement Leave of Absence and have already attended classes for the semester of the leave will be allowed to re-enter the following semester without having to reapply to the college.
- Students who wish to take the leave of absence prior to the beginning of the semester will be required to reapply for the following semester.
- Students who are in good academic standing will be given the opportunity to successfully complete the credits for the semester in which they return.
- Students will consult with the Division of Student Affairs, on a case-by-case basis, as to whether they should withdraw from their courses during this leave of absence or to request incompletes from the faculty member.
- Given that there may be a potential impact on financial aid, students who receive financial aid and who take the Bereavement Leave of Absence, upon arrangement with the Division of Student Affairs, will meet with a financial aid adviser prior to taking this option.
- The New York State Education Law provides that no student shall be expelled or refused admission to an institution of higher education because he or she is unable to attend classes or participate in examinations or study or work requirements on any particular day or days because of religious beliefs.
- Students who are unable to attend classes on a particular day or days because of religious beliefs will be excused from any examination or study or work requirements.
- Faculty must make good-faith efforts to provide students absent from class because of religious beliefs equivalent opportunities to make up the work missed; no additional fees may be charged for this consideration.
- If classes, examinations, or study or work requirements occur on Friday after 4 p.m. or on Saturday, similar or makeup classes, examinations, or study or work requirements will be made available on other days, where possible and practical.
- The faculty and the administration will not allow any adverse or prejudicial effects to accrue to students availing themselves of this regulation.
- If students have complaints about the application of this policy, they are entitled to bring action or a proceeding for enforcement of their rights in the Supreme Court of Kings County
Other Important Notes to Remember
Other Notes to remember:
- This course will be generally conducted synchronously with periodical asynchronous sessions using Blackboard Collaborate and Zoom.
- It is imperative for students to have good internet connection. If you have any problem, please contact the student IT office. If not resolved, please let me know as soon as possible.
- It is expected that students participate in class and attend all classes.
- In order to get the full 10% of attendance/participation points, students need to attend minimum of 10 synchronous class sessions, and complete all the assignments.
- In order to get a letter grade “A-” and above, students need to complete all the assignments.
- Students are expected to follow strict professional conducts. (especially for the exam taking and written paper work, i.e. no cheating, no plagiarism of any kind, including your old work ) (See Academic Integrity Policy, above.)
- Missed mid-term exam needs to be made-up within one week, if with a legitimate excuse (documented illness, emergencies, recognized religious holidays). After two weeks, 5% of penalty may be added.
- “Inc” grade is given only when the assigned works were not completed due to unavoidable circumstances and only when it is requested by the student.
- All late assignments may carry a penalty.
- More current reading assignments may be given throughout the semester.