Introduction to database systems. Comparison to file processing systems. Data models. Relational, hierarchical, and network systems. Database design. Normal forms. Study of several real-world database management systems, with an emphasis on microcomputer applications. Database recovery query and transaction processing, concurrency. Distributed and object-oriented databases.
Instruction Method: Live lectures on campus.
Day and Time: Mondays-Thursdays 9:55 am – 11:40 am
Location: Room: IA 236.
Instructor: Harry Goldberg
Virtual office hours: Mondays 12:30-1:30pm. *Zoom Link in syllabus
There is no required textbook for this class.
This course is a zero cost/open educational resources (ztc/oer) course. That means there is no textbook students need to purchase. All materials are available freely to students. All reference materials for the course can be found on the website you are currently on CISC 3810 Database Systems (https://libguides.brooklyn.cuny.edu/cisc3810)
Please notify the Professor RIGHT AWAY if you discover any broken links. Professor will try to provide you with updated links as soon as they are made aware of the problem.
To access some items you need to login with your Brooklyn College ID and others you will need to enter a password given to you by your professor.
The following icons will let you know what you will need to do to access the items.
If an item has no icon, then you don't need to do anything to access it.
Off-campus access. New for Fall 2021: Use your CUNYfirst Username and Password to log in (same credentials for logging into Blackboard).
Password protected item. You will be prompted to enter the password given to you by your Professor.
Need assistance with off-campus access? Go to the library's Library Remote Access page for assistance and instructions.
The Brooklyn College Library's electronic resources (e.g. journals, ebooks, databases, etc.) are available to registered students, faculty, and staff when off-campus, including while abroad.
IMPORTANT: Starting Fall 2021
All CUNY members have free access to The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal and the Chronicle of Higher Education.
NY Times: Anyone who initiates an account will have an active subscription for one year from the date she/he creates the account. If you already have an annual subscription to the NYTimes, you can cancel it and will receive a refund. However, if you only have a monthly subscription, the New York Times will not issue a refund for that month.
After successful completion of this course, students will have achieved proficiency in data modeling use the Entity-Relationship Model, Relational Database Design Techniques, Basic and Intermediate SQL query creation, and Database access techniques from current programming languages.
Creately, H2, Microsoft SQL, PostgreSQL, and Microsoft Access. Instructions on how to acquire these software products will be provided in class and in the Homework Guidelines document in the Homework Guidelines section on Blackboard.
Attendance: Attendance is mandatory.
The Brooklyn College Center for Student Disability Services is working remotely at this time. Please email them at firstname.lastname@example.org for assistance.
Students should inform the professor if they have a disability or any other situation that may require Section 504/ADA accommodations. The faculty and staff will attempt to work out whatever arrangements are necessary.
Please provide me with your course accommodation form and discuss your specific accommodation with me as soon as possible to ensure accommodations are met in a timely fashion.
In order to receive academic accommodations students must first be registered with the Center for Student Disability Services. Students who have a documented disability or who suspect that they might have a disability are invited to set up an appointment with the Director of the Center for Student Disability Services, Ms. Valerie Stewart-Lovell or the Assistant Director, Josephine Patterson or their general email email@example.com
Academic dishonesty of any type, including cheating and plagiarism, is unacceptable at Brooklyn College. Cheating is any misrepresentation in academic work. Plagiarism is the representation of another person’s work, words, or ideas as your own. Students should consult the Brooklyn College Student Handbook for a fuller, more specific discussion of related academic integrity standards.
Academic dishonesty is punishable by failure of the “…test, examination, term paper or other assignment on which cheating occurred” (Faculty Council, May 18, 1954).
In addition, disciplinary proceedings in cases of academic dishonesty may result in penalties of admonition, warning, censure, disciplinary probation, restitution, suspension, expulsion, complaint to civil authorities, or ejection (Adopted by Policy Council, May 8, 1991).
NOTE: If you have a question about how to cite correctly ask your teacher BEFORE submitting your work.
|Numerical grade||Letter Grade|