Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CISC Department | Brooklyn College Library

CISC 3810 Database Systems (Goldberg): Home

Prof. Goldberg's Summer OER

Course Description

Introduction to database systems. Comparison to file processing systems. Data models. Relational, hierarchical, and network systems. Database design. Normal forms. Study of several real-world database management systems, with an emphasis on microcomputer applications. Database recovery query and transaction processing, concurrency. Distributed and object-oriented databases.

Returning to Campus 2022

Go to page about returning to campus safely. Returning Safely Together  resources for students, faculty, staff and visitors.

Course Info

Instruction Method: Live lectures on campus.
Day and Time: Mondays-Thursdays 9:55 am – 11:40 am 
Location: Room: IA 236.

Teacher

Instructor: Harry Goldberg

Email: Harry.Goldberg@brooklyn.cuny.edu

Virtual office hours: Mondays 12:30-1:30pm. *Zoom Link in syllabus

Course Textbook

oer logo blue, red and green.There is no required textbook for this class.

This course is a zero cost/open educational resources (ztc/oer) course.  That means there is no textbook students need to purchase. All materials are available freely to students. All reference materials for the course can be found on the website you are currently on CISC 3810 Database Systems (https://libguides.brooklyn.cuny.edu/cisc3810)

Please notify the Professor RIGHT AWAY if you discover any broken links. Professor will try to provide you with updated links as soon as they are made aware of the problem.

Helpful Information on Accessing Resources Remotely

To access some items you need to login with your Brooklyn College ID and others you will need to enter a password given to you by your professor.

The following icons will let you know what you will need to do to access the items. 

If an item has no icon, then you don't need to do anything to access it.

Off-campus access. You will be prompted to enter your Brooklyn College ID and login.Off-campus access. New for Fall 2021: Use your CUNYfirst Username and Password to log in (same credentials for logging into Blackboard).

Password protected iconPassword protected item.  You will be prompted to enter the password given to you by your Professor.


Need assistance with off-campus access? Go to the library's Library Remote Access page for assistance and instructions.

The Brooklyn College Library's electronic resources (e.g. journals, ebooks, databases, etc.) are available to registered students, faculty, and staff when off-campus, including while abroad.

IMPORTANT: Starting Fall 2021

  • To authenticate for remote access to Library databases you will be prompted to use your CUNYfirst Username and Password to log in (same credentials for logging into Blackboard). You may see a redirection screen to the new login screen.
  • Using Firefox as your browser is recommended.
  • For further assistance go to the library's Ask a Librarian or read more on Library Remote Access.

image of page redirecting to login

All CUNY members have free access to The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal and the Chronicle of Higher Education.

  • Use CUNY.edu email to sign up.
  • Faculty & staff renew every year.
  • Students have access until graduation.
    • renewal requires working CUNY.edu address.  

NY Times: Anyone who initiates an account will have an active subscription for one year from the date she/he creates the account. If you already have an annual subscription to the NYTimes, you can cancel it and will receive a refund. However, if you only have a monthly subscription, the New York Times will not issue a refund for that month.

Newspaper Icons

Course Objectives

After successful completion of this course, students will have achieved proficiency in data modeling use the Entity-Relationship Model, Relational Database Design Techniques, Basic and Intermediate SQL query creation, and Database access techniques from current programming languages.

Course Software Suport

Creately, H2, Microsoft SQL, PostgreSQL, and Microsoft Access. Instructions on how to acquire these software products will be provided in class and in the Homework Guidelines document in the Homework Guidelines section on Blackboard.

Course Requirements/Grade Components

Grade Components:

  • Midterm: 40%
  • Homework assignments: 20%
  • Final Exam: 40%

Attendance: Attendance is mandatory.
Homework: 

  • Homework will be assigned after each lecture.
  • Homework assignments will be posted via Blackboard in the Topic folder.
  • Submission of homework assignments shall be done via Blackboard.
  • Students will have two attempts to achieve the results with which they are comfortable.
  • Late submissions will be accepted; late penalties may apply to certain assignments.
  • A minimum of 75% of homework assignments that achieve a passing grade must be submitted to pass the course.
  • Homework Guidelines are posted in the Course Documents section on Blackboard.
    • Please download and read these instructions as they contain important information on how to get full credit for your homework and access information to software tools that you will need for this course.
  • You’ll also find links to helpful support videos in the Homework Guidelines document.

 

Important Course Information

  • All course-related communications will be done via Blackboard-initiated email.
  • Please ensure that the email address listed in CUNYFIRST is an email address that you check daily.
  • To meet with the instructor during office hours, you may send email requesting an appointment, or just ‘drop in’ to the link provided in the syllabus. On request, your conversation can be moved to a breakout group or in a private session for privacy.
  • Homework assignments will be graded within 24 hours of submission.
  • Any students requiring technical assistance should contact ITS at 718-951-4357.
  • All course slides used during lecture will be available at the time of the lecture on BlackBoard.
  • If you are new to BlackBoard, you can get BlackBoard help.
  • Examinations will be exclusively on information presented in the slides and supporting videos.
    • Bear in mind that more slides may be included in the file.
    • View the file in Presentation Mode in PowerPoint to view only the required slides.

 

CUNY Policies

The Center for Student Disability Services is working remotely at this time.  Please email them at testingcsds@brooklyn.cuny.edu for assistance.

Students should inform the professor if they have a disability or any other situation that may require Section 504/ADA accommodations.  The faculty and staff will attempt to work out whatever arrangements are necessary.

Please provide me with your course accommodation form and discuss your specific accommodation with me as soon as possible to ensure accommodations are met in a timely fashion.

In order to receive academic accommodations students must first be registered with the Center for Student Disability Services. Students who have a documented disability or who suspect that they might have a disability are invited to set up an appointment with the Director of the Center for Student Disability Services, Ms. Valerie Stewart-Lovell or the Assistant Director, Josephine Patterson or their general email testingcsds@brooklyn.cuny.edu

Academic dishonesty of any type, including cheating and plagiarism, is unacceptable at Brooklyn College. Cheating is any misrepresentation in academic work. Plagiarism is the representation of another person’s work, words, or ideas as your own. Students should consult the Brooklyn College Student Handbook for a fuller, more specific discussion of related academic integrity standards.

Academic dishonesty is punishable by failure of the “…test, examination, term paper or other assignment on which cheating occurred” (Faculty Council, May 18, 1954).

In addition, disciplinary proceedings in cases of academic dishonesty may result in penalties of admonition, warning, censure, disciplinary probation, restitution, suspension, expulsion, complaint to civil authorities, or ejection (Adopted by Policy Council, May 8, 1991).

NOTE: If you have a question about how to cite correctly ask your teacher BEFORE submitting your work.

  • The faculty and administration of Brooklyn College support an environment free from cheating and plagiarism.
  • Each student is responsible for being aware of what constitutes cheating and plagiarism and for avoiding both.
  • View complete text of CUNY Academic Integrity Policy and Brooklyn College procedure for policy implementation.
  • If a faculty member suspects a violation of academic integrity and, upon investigation, confirms that violation, or if the student admits the violation, the faculty member must report the violation.
  • Please read the section entitled “Academic Regulations and Procedures” in the Brooklyn College Undergraduate Bulletin or Graduate Bulletin for a complete listing of academic regulations of the College.

Bereavement Policy:

  • Students who experience the death of a loved one must contact the Division of Student Affairs, 2113 Boylan Hall, if they wish to implement either the Standard Bereavement Procedure or the Leave of Absence Bereavement Procedure. The Division of Student Affairs has the right to request a document that verifies the death (e.g., a funeral program or death notice). Contact Email: studentaffairs@brooklyn.cuny.edu
  • Typically, this death involves that of a family member, in parallel to the bereavement policy for faculty and staff. However, it is up to the discretion of the Division of Student Affairs to determine if a death outside of the immediate family warrants implementation of the student bereavement policy.
  •  As an option, and in consultation with the Division of Student Affairs, students may take the Leave of Absence Bereavement after the Standard Bereavement.
  • Reference to the Student Bereavement Policies will be noted on course syllabi.
  • Students requesting a religious accommodation should contact the Division of Student Affairs as well. The chief student affairs officer, or a designee, and the student will engage in an interactive process with the goal of finding an acceptable accommodation.

Bereavement Procedure:

  • Upon approval from the Division of Student Affairs, the student is allowed one week, commencing from the day of notification to the Division of Student Affairs, of excused absence.
  • Should the student feel that he/she needs additional days, these should be discussed with individual course instructors and/or the Division of Student Affairs.
  • The Division of Student Affairs will contact the student’s faculty and academic staff of the student’s courses.
  • Faculty and academic staff will be advised that extensions must be granted to the student for the period of one week of excused absence.
  • Further extensions may be negotiated with the student when he or she returns to campus.
  • Students are encouraged to discuss options with their instructors.

Leave of Absence Bereavement Procedure:

  • Students may be allowed to withdraw from the semester in which the death occurs.
  • The Bereavement Leave of Absence is for one semester only.
  • Students who have opted to take the Bereavement Leave of Absence and have already attended classes for the semester of the leave will be allowed to re-enter the following semester without having to reapply to the college.
  • Students who wish to take the leave of absence prior to the beginning of the semester will be required to reapply for the following semester.
  • Students who are in good academic standing will be given the opportunity to successfully complete the credits for the semester in which they return.
  • Students will consult with the Division of Student Affairs, on a case-by-case basis, as to whether they should withdraw from their courses during this leave of absence or to request incompletes from the faculty member.
  •  Given that there may be a potential impact on financial aid, students who receive financial aid and who take the Bereavement Leave of Absence, upon arrangement with the Division of Student Affairs, will meet with a financial aid adviser prior to taking this option.
  • The New York State Education Law provides that no student shall be expelled or refused admission to an institution of higher education because he or she is unable to attend classes or participate in examinations or study or work requirements on any particular day or days because of religious beliefs.
  • Students who are unable to attend classes on a particular day or days because of religious beliefs will be excused from any examination or study or work requirements.
  • Faculty must make good-faith efforts to provide students absent from class because of religious beliefs equivalent opportunities to make up the work missed; no additional fees may be charged for this consideration.
  • If classes, examinations, or study or work requirements occur on Friday after 4 p.m. or on Saturday, similar or makeup classes, examinations, or study or work requirements will be made available on other days, where possible and practical.
  • The faculty and the administration will not allow any adverse or prejudicial effects to accrue to students availing themselves of this regulation.
  • If students have complaints about the application of this policy, they are entitled to bring action or a proceeding for enforcement of their rights in the Supreme Court of Kings County
Number-letter grade equivalents
Numerical grade Letter Grade
97-100 A+
93-96 A
90-92 A-
87-89 B+
83-86 B
80-82 B-
77-79 C+
73-76 C
70-72 C-
67-69 D+
63-66 D
60-62 D-
Below 60 F