Brooklyn College Library LibGuides Home: ARTD 3015: The Development of the Silk Road: Exhibitions

Assignment Description

Assignment Description PDF

Exhibition Assignment

Using storymaps (a software which we will discuss how to use in class), create an online exhibition relating to the development of the silk road. Think of this assignment as a small exhibition in which you can tell a story about the Silk Road that you find interesting. You could trace the movement of object(s), people, or even ideas along the Silk Road. Include at least 3 geographic points for which to write description explaining why that point is significant. Your exhibition should have a thesis, which is the central theme of your exhibition. What are you trying to convey through this storymap? This should be made clear in your introduction and supported by text throughout the map.

You will need to register with storymaps. This is free if you create a public account. Directions are on the assignments page of our course website.

You should not cover the same objects and topic as you wrote about for your research paper. If you have trouble coming up with an idea, please email me.

Assignment Grading Rubric

Grading Rubric PDF

Exhibition Rubric

Thesis and Introduction: 30 points

For 30 points:

Exhibition has a clear theme that engages with the history of the Silk Road and explains how the exhibition/map will convey this history to the viewer
Thesis is clear and concise and based on visual elements as well as historical context

For 15 points:

Exhibition has a clear theme that engages with the history of the Silk Road but does not explain how the exhibition/map will convey this history to the viewer
Thesis is clear and concise and based on visual elements as well as historical context

For 10 points

Exhibition theme is unclear and does not explain how the exhibition/map will convey this history to the viewer
Thesis is based on visual elements as well as historical context but is not clear or concise

For 0 points

Exhibition does not engage with the history of the Silk Road and does not explain how the exhibition/map will convey this history to the viewer
No thesis

Argument: 70 points

For 70 points

Exhibition uses StoryMaps effectively to mark important places/moments along the Silk Road that are relevant to this exhibition’s particular theme
Exhibition includes at least 3 geographic points and includes at least 3 works of art
Argument for each geographic point relates to that particular point and clearly connects this evidence back to the overall theme and thesis of the exhibition

For 50 points:

Exhibition uses StoryMaps effectively to mark important places/moments along the Silk Road that are relevant to this exhibition’s particular theme
Exhibition includes 1-2 geographic points and includes 1-2 works of art
Argument for each geographic point relates to that particular point but does not clearly connect this evidence back to the overall theme and thesis of the exhibition

For 30 points:

Exhibition uses StoryMaps effectively to mark important places/moments along the Silk Road that are not relevant to this exhibition’s particular theme
Exhibition includes 1-2 geographic points and includes 1-2 works of art
Argument for each geographic point relates to that particular point but does not clearly connect this evidence back to the overall theme and thesis of the exhibition

For 0 points:

Exhibition does not use StoryMaps effectively to mark important places/moments along the Silk Road that are not relevant to this exhibition’s particular theme
Exhibition includes no geographic points and includes no works of art
Argument for each geographic point does not relate to that particular point and does not clearly connect this evidence back to the overall theme and thesis of the exhibition