Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Current week's course work schedule
Attribution:[Alex Barth] (2007) Puerto Rico [Flickr image] Retrieved from https://flic.kr/s/aHsiNxtFSW (CC BY 2.0)
The Emergence of Puerto Rican Studies, Latinx Studies, and PRLS Departmental Background (1960’s-1990’s; 1990-2016)
- Terminology--Puerto Ricans, Latin@s, Hispanics, Latin Americans, Americans in the Americas
- Before Plymouth Rock and Bypassing Ellis Island: Latin@ (Im)migration waves.
- Being in/Coming to “America,” Part I
- Mexicans: Strangers in their own land: 1848-2021
- Puerto Ricans: an unique status, 1898-1917; 1917-1970; 1970-2007/8; 2008-2021
- Cuban refugees, 1902-1959; 1959-1980; 1980-2021
- Dominican immigrants; 1945-1960; 1961-1984; 1984-2021
Online Exhibits of possible interest
ONLINE Exhibit: Unidos Por la Causa: The Chicana and Chicano Experience in San Diego
SDSU Library & Information Access: Special Collections & University Archives (2010) Unidos Por la Causa: The Chicana and Chicano Experience in San Diego. [Pachyderm presentation]. Retrieved from https://library.sdsu.edu/exhibits/2010/10/UnidosPorLaCausa/index.shtml
This exhibit celebrates San Diego’s Chicana/o community and the Chicana/o movement, and will be a guide to some of the most seminal events in San Diego’s Chicana/o history, including those which helped to shape the community during the 1960’s and 1970’s. It draws upon archival collections from the Special Collections and University Archive Department of San Diego State University’s Library and Information access. These collections include “Arturo Casares papers, Enriqueta Chavez Papers, Chicana and Chicano Studies Department Records, Chicano Federation of San Diego County Records, Leonard Fierro Papers, Maria Garcia Papers, MANA of San Diego County Records, Rene Nunez Memorial Collection and others.
ONLINE Exhibit: Pedro J. Gonzalez
UCLA Chicano Studies Research Center (n.d) Pedro J. Gonzalez. [Digital Collection]. Retrieved from Smithsonian Learning Lab https://learninglab.si.edu/collections/pedro-j-gonzalez/Act7yjHbR48AaCf6#r/UnidosPorLaCausa/index.shtml
A telegraph operator for Pancho Villa during the Mexican Revolution; a radio personality and popular recording artist in Los Angeles; an immigration activist framed for political purposes and sent to San Quentin prison; and finally, a man fighting for the rights of his fellow veterans. Pedro Gonzalez played all these roles and this collection consists of his papers, music, media coverage, and many photographs and photo montages documenting his life.