Skip to Main Content

Access to the Library: Patrons: Categories and Privileges

This guide provides information on access to the Brooklyn College Library for alumni/ae, friends, and the wider community of patrons.

Patron Categories and Access Options

Priority of Users

Please note that Brooklyn College students have priority, at all times, over all other categories of patrons.  Please keep that in mind when reading the charts below. Valid Brooklyn College digital identification cards are acceptable for access to the Library.

Brooklyn College

Adult Literacy 

Access

Yes

Borrowing: 8 week loan period w/ 1 renewal. 10 book limit 

Yes

Computer Labs

Yes

WiFi Access

No

Laptop Loan

No

Faculty Development Lab

No

Government Information

Yes

Inter-Library Loan/CUNY Remote Sharing

No

Current Periodicals

In-Library Use

*Library Café

Yes

Album, CD, DVD, Video Viewing and Listening

Yes

Remote Access

No

Reserves

Yes

Archives & Special Collections

Yes

Group Study/Media Rooms

Weekends Only

 

Audit ID Card Holders

Access

Yes

Borrowing 8 week loan period w/ 1 renewal. 10 book limit. 

Yes 

Computer Labs

Yes

WiFi Access

No

Laptop Loan

No

Faculty Development Lab

No

Government Information

Yes 

Inter-Library Loan/CUNY Resource Sharing

No

Current Periodicals

Yes 

*Library Café

No

Album, CD, DVD, Video Viewing and Listening

 Yes

Remote Access

No

Reserves

Yes

Archives & Special Collections

Yes

Group Study/Media Rooms

Weekends Only

 

BC Alumni/ae

Access

Yes

Borrowing

No

Computer Labs

Yes

WiFi Access

No

Laptop Loan

No

Faculty Development Lab

No

Government Information

In-Library Use

Inter-Library Loan/CUNY Resource Sharing

No

Current Periodicals

In-Library Use

*Library Café

Yes

Album, CD, DVD, Video Viewing and Listening

In-Library Use

Remote Access

No

Reserves

No

Archives & Special Collections

Yes

Group Study/Media Rooms

Weekends Only

 

BC Faculty (retired)

Access

Yes

Borrowing: 8 week loan period w/ 1 renewal

Yes

Computer Labs

Yes

WiFi Access

Yes w/ BC email 

Laptop Loan

No

Faculty Development Lab

Yes

Government Information

Yes

Inter-Library Loan/CUNY Resource Sharing

Yes

Current Periodicals

In-Library Use

*Library Café

Yes

Album, CD, DVD, Video Viewing and Listening

Yes

Remote Access

Yes

Reserves

Yes

Archives & Special Collections

Yes

Group Study/Media Rooms

Yes

 

BC Faculty (active)

Access

Yes

Borrowing: 8 week loan w/ 1 renewal

Yes

Computer Labs

Yes

WiFi Access

Yes

Laptop Loan

Yes

Faculty Development Lab

Yes

Government Information

Yes

Inter-Library Loan/CUNY Resource Sharing

Yes

Current Periodicals

Yes

*Library Café

Yes

Album, CD, DVD, Video Viewing and Listening

Yes

Remote Access

Yes

Reserves

Yes

Archives & Special Collections

Yes

Group Study/Media Rooms

Yes

 

BC Faculty Family Members

Access

Yes

Borrowing: 8 week loan w/ 1 renewal

Yes

Computer Labs

Yes

WiFi Access

No

Laptop Loan

No

Faculty Development Lab

No

Government Information

Yes

Inter-Library Loan/CUNY Resource Sharing

No

Current Periodicals

In-Library Use

Library Café

No

Album, CD, DVD, Video Viewing and Listening

Yes

Remote Access

No

Reserves

Yes

Archives & Special Collections

Yes

Group Study/Media Rooms

Weekends Only

 

BC Staff (active)

Access

Yes

Borrowing: 8 week loan w/ 1 renewal

Yes

Computer Labs

Yes

WiFi Access

Yes

Laptop Loan

No

Faculty Development Lab

FT staff only

Government Information

Yes

Inter-Library Loan/CUNY Resource Sharing

Yes

Current Periodicals

In-Library Use

Library Café

Yes

Album, CD, DVD, Video Viewing and Listening

Yes

Remote Access

Yes

Reserves

Yes

Archives & Special Collections

Yes

Group Study/Media Rooms

Yes

 

BC Students (graduate & doctoral)

Access

Yes

Borrowing: 8 week loan w/ 1 renewal

Yes

Computer Labs

Yes

WiFi Access

Yes

Laptop Loan

Yes

Faculty Development Lab

Permission
Required

Government Information

Yes

Inter-Library Loan/CUNY Resource Sharing

Yes

Current Periodicals

In-Library Use

*Library Café

Yes

Album, CD, DVD, Video Viewing and Listening

Yes

Remote Access

Yes

Reserves

Yes

Archives & Special Collections

Yes

Group Study/Media Rooms

Yes

 

BC Students (undergraduate)

Access

Yes

Borrowing: 8 week loan w/ 1 renewal

Yes

Computer Labs

Yes

WiFi Access

Yes

Laptop Loan

Yes

Faculty Development Lab

No

Government Information

Yes

Inter-Library Loan/CUNY Resource Sharing

Yes

Current Periodicals

In-Library Use

*Library Café

Yes

Album, CD, DVD, Video Viewing and Listening

Yes

Remote Access

Yes

Reserves

Yes

Archives & Special Collections

Yes

Group Study/Media Rooms

Yes

 

Brooklyn Lifelong Learning (formerly IRPE)

Access

Yes

Borrowing: 8 week loan w/ 1 renewal 

Yes

Computer Labs

Yes

WiFi Access

No

Laptop Loan

No

Faculty Development Lab

No

Government Information

Yes

Inter-Library Loan/CUNY Resource Sharing

Yes

Current Periodicals

In-Library Use

*Library Café

Yes

Album, CD, DVD, Video Viewing and Listening

Yes

Remote Access

No

Reserves

Yes

Archives & Special Collections

Yes

Group Study/Media Rooms

Weekends Only

 

Preparatory Center for the Performing Arts

Access

Yes

Borrowing

No

Computer Labs

Yes

WiFi Access

No

Laptop Loan

No

Faculty Development Lab

No

Government Information

In-Library Use

Inter-Library Loan/CUNY Resource Sharing

No

Current Periodicals

In-Library Use

Library Café

No

Album, CD, DVD, Video Viewing and Listening

In-Library Use

Remote Access

No

Reserves

No

Archives & Special Collections

Yes

Group Study/Media Rooms

Weekends Only

 

Recreation Pass Holders

Access

No

Borrowing

No

Computer Labs

No

WiFi Access

No

Laptop Loan

No

Faculty Development Lab

No

Government Information

In-Library Use

Inter-Library Loan/CUNY Resource Sharing

No

Current Periodicals

No

Library Café

No

Album, CD, DVD, Video Viewing and Listening

No

Remote Access

No

Reserves

No

Archives & Special Collections

No

Group Study/Media Rooms

No

 

BC HEOs, CLTs, and Research Assistants

Access

Yes

Borrowing: 8 week loan w/ 1 renewal 

Yes

Computer Labs

Yes

WiFi Access

Yes

Laptop Loan

No

Faculty Development Lab

Yes

Government Information

Yes

Inter-Library Loan/CUNY Resource Sharing

Yes

Current Periodicals

In-Library Use

*Library Café

Yes

Album, CD, DVD, Video Viewing and Listening

Yes

Remote Access

Yes

Reserves

Yes

Archives & Special Collections

Yes

Group Study/Media Rooms

Yes

CUNY

CUNY Faculty

Access

Yes

Borrowing: 8 week loan w/ 1 renewal

Yes

Computer Labs

Yes

WiFi Access

No

Laptop Loan

No

Faculty Development Lab

Yes

Government Information

Yes

Interlibrary Loan/CUNY Resource Sharing

Yes

Current Periodicals

In-Library Use

*Library Café

Yes

Album, CD, DVD, Video Viewing and Listening

Yes

Remote Access

Not to BC databases

Reserves

Yes

Archives & Special Collections

Yes

Group Study/Media Rooms

Weekends Only

 

CUNY PhD Alumni Association

Access

Yes

Borrowing

No

Computer Labs

Yes

WiFi Access

No

Laptop Loan

No

Faculty Development Lab

No

Government Information

In-Library Use

Interlibrary  Loan/CUNY Resource Sharing

Yes

Current Periodicals

In-Library Use

*Library Café

Yes

Album, CD, DVD, Video Viewing and Listening

In-Library Use

Remote Access

No

Reserves

No

Archives & Special Collections

Yes

Group Study/Media Rooms

Weekends Only

 

CUNY Students (graduate & doctoral)

Access

Yes

Borrowing: 8 week loan w/ 1 renewal

Yes

Computer Labs

Yes

WiFi Access

No

Laptop Loan

No

Faculty Development Lab

No

Government Information

Yes

Interlibrary Loan/CUNY Resource Sharing

Yes

Current Periodicals

In-Library Use

*Library Café

Yes

Album, CD, DVD, Video Viewing and Listening

In-Library Use

Remote Access

Not to BC databases

Reserves

Yes

Archives & Special Collections

Yes

Group Study/Media Rooms

Weekends Only

 

CUNY students (undergraduate)

Access

Yes

Borrowing: 8 week loan w/ 1 renewal

Yes

Computer Labs

Yes

WiFi Access

No

Laptop Loan

No

Faculty Development Lab

No

Government Information

Yes

Interlibrary Loan/CUNY Resource Sharing

Yes

Current Periodicals

In-Library Use

*Library Café

Yes

Album, CD, DVD, Video Viewing and Listening

In-Library Use

Remote Access

Not to BC databases

Reserves

Yes

Archives & Special Collections

Yes

Group Study/Media Rooms

Weekends Only

 

Community Resident Pass Members

Community Residents Pass Holders

Access

No

Borrowing

No

Computer Labs

No

WiFi Access

No

Laptop Loan

No

Faculty Development Lab

No

Government Information

In-Library Use

Inter-Library Loan/CUNY Resource Sharing

No

Current Periodicals

No

Library Café

No

Album, CD, DVD, Video Viewing and Listening

No

Remote Access

No

Reserves

No

Archives & Special Collections

No

Group Study/Media Rooms

No

 

Friends of the Library

Access

Yes

Borrowing: 8 week loan w/ 1 renewal. 10 book limit 

Yes 

Computer Labs

Yes

WiFi Access

No

Laptop Loan

No

Faculty Development Lab

No

Government Information

In-Library Use

Inter-Library Loan/CUNY Resource Sharing

No

Current Periodicals

In-Library Use

**Library Café

Alumni Only

Album, CD, DVD, Video Viewing and Listening

In-Library Use

Remote Access

No

Reserves

Yes

Archives & Special Collections

Yes

Group Study/Media Rooms

Weekends Only

High Schools

Brooklyn College Academy (students enrolled in Brooklyn College courses)

Access

Yes

Borrowing: 8 week loan w/ 1 renewal

Yes

Computer Labs

Yes

WiFi Access

Yes

Laptop Loan

Yes

Faculty Development Lab

No

Government Information

Yes

Interlibrary Loan/CUNY Resource Sharing

Yes

Current Periodicals

In-Library Use

Library Café

Yes

Album, CD, DVD, Video Viewing and Listening

Yes

Remote Access

Yes

Reserves

Yes

Archives & Special Collections

Yes

Group Study/Media Rooms

Yes

 

Brooklyn College Academy (students NOT enrolled in Brooklyn College courses)

Access

Yes

Borrowing: 8 week loan w/ 1 renewal. 10 book limit

Yes

Computer Labs

Yes

WiFi Access

Yes

Laptop Loan

No

Faculty Development Lab

No

Government Information

Yes

Interlibrary Loan/CUNY Resource Sharing

Yes

Current Periodicals

In-Library Use

Library Café

Space Permitting

Album, CD, DVD, Video Viewing and Listening

Yes

Remote Access

No

Reserves

Yes

Archives & Special Collections

Yes

Group Study/Media Rooms

Yes

 

College Now (students enrolled in Brooklyn College courses)

Access

Yes

Borrowing: 8 week loan w/ 1 renewal.  

Yes

Computer Labs

Yes

WiFi Access

Yes

Laptop Loan

Yes

Faculty Development Lab

No

Government Information

Yes

Interlibrary Loan/CUNY Resource Sharing

Yes

Current Periodicals

In-Library Use

Library Café

Yes

Album, CD, DVD, Video Viewing and Listening

In-Library Use

Remote Access

Yes

Reserves

Yes

Archives & Special Collections

Yes

Group Study/Media Rooms

Yes

 

College Now (students NOT enrolled in Brooklyn College courses)

Access

Yes

Borrowing: 8 week loan w/ 1 renewal. 10 book limit 

Yes

Computer Labs

Yes

WiFi Access

No

Laptop Loan

No

Faculty Development Lab

No

Government Information

In-Library Use

Interlibrary Loan/CUNY Resource Sharing

No

Current Periodicals

In-Library Use

Library Café

No

Album, CD, DVD, Video Viewing and Listening

In-Library Use

Remote Access

No

Reserves

No

Archives & Special Collections

Yes

Group Study/Media Rooms

No

 

STAR (students enrolled in Brooklyn College courses)

Access

Yes

Borrowing: 8 week loan w/ 1 renewal.  

Yes

Computer Labs

Yes

WiFi Access

Yes

Laptop Loan

Yes

Faculty Development Lab

No

Government Information

Yes

Interlibrary Loan/CUNY Resource Sharing

Yes

Current Periodicals

In-Library Use

Library Café

Yes

Album, CD, DVD, Video Viewing and Listening

In-Library Use

Remote Access

Yes

Reserves

Yes

Archives & Special Collections

Yes

Group Study/Media Rooms

Yes

 

STAR (students NOT enrolled in Brooklyn College courses)

Access

Yes

Borrowing: 8 week loan w/ 1 renewal. 10 book limit. 

Yes

Computer Labs

Yes

WiFi Access

No

Laptop Loan

No

Faculty Development Lab

No

Government Information

In-Library Use

Interlibrary Loan/CUNY Resource Sharing

No

Current Periodicals

In-Library Use

Library Café

No

Album, CD, DVD, Video Viewing and Listening

In-Library Use

Remote Access

No

Reserves

No

Archives & Special Collections

Yes

Group Study/Media Rooms

No

 

Midwood High School (faculty)

Access

Yes

Borrowing: 8 week loan w/ 1 renewal. 10 book limit 

Yes

Computer Labs

Yes

WiFi Access

No

Laptop Loan

No

Faculty Development Lab

No

Government Information

Yes

Interlibrary Loan/CUNY Resource Sharing

No

Current Periodicals

In-Library Use

Library Café

No

Album, CD, DVD, Video Viewing and Listening

Yes

Remote Access

No

Reserves

Yes

Archives & Special Collections

Yes

Group Study/Media Rooms

Weekends Only

 

Midwood High School (students)

At the discretion of the Midwood Library. The Midwood librarian provides students with access/borrowing cards.

Access

Yes

Borrowing: 8 week loan w/ 1 renewal. 10 book limit 

Yes

Computer Labs

Yes

WiFi Access

No

Laptop Loan

No

Faculty Development Lab

No

Government Information

Yes

Interlibrary Loan/CUNY Resource Sharing

No

Current Periodicals

In-Library Use

Library Café

No

Album, CD, DVD, Video Viewing and Listening

In-Library Use

Remote Access

No

Reserves

Yes

Archives & Special Collections

Yes

Group Study/Media Rooms

Weekends Only

 

Other Brooklyn high school students

With prior arrangement only.

Access

Yes

Borrowing: 8 week loan w/ 1 renewal. 10 book limit 

No

Computer Labs

Yes

WiFi Access

No

Laptop Loan

No

Faculty Development Lab

No

Government Information

In-Library Use

Interlibrary Loan/CUNY Resource Sharing

No

Current Periodicals

In-Library Use

Library Café

No

Album, CD, DVD, Video Viewing and Listening

No

Remote Access

No

Reserves

No

Archives & Special Collections

Yes

Group Study/Media Rooms

Weekends Only

 

Exceptions:

High school students not enrolled in BC courses may reserve a group study room only if one of the other students with them has a valid BC or CUNY ID.

METRO Courtesy Card Holders

METRO Courtesy Card Holders

Access

Yes

Borrowing

No

Computer Labs

Yes

WiFi Access

No

Laptop Loan

No

Faculty Development Lab

No

Government Information

In-Library Use

Inter-Library Loan/CUNY Resource Sharing

No

Current Periodicals

In-Library Use

Library Café

No

Album, CD, DVD, Video Viewing and Listening

In-Library Use

Remote Access

No

Reserves

No

Archives & Special Collections

Yes

Group Study/Media Rooms

Weekends Only

 

Other Local Colleges

Academic Libraries of Brooklyn (ALB includes LIU, St. Joseph's University, Pratt Institute, St. Francis College and NYU Polytechnic University. )

 

Access

Yes

Borrowing: 8 week loan w/ 1 renewal. 10 book limit 

Yes 

Computer Labs

Yes

WiFi Access

No

Laptop Loan

No

Faculty Development Lab

No

Government Information

Yes

Interlibrary Loan/CUNY Resource Sharing

No

Current Periodicals

Yes

Library Café

No

Album, CD, DVD, Video Viewing and Listening

Yes

Remote Access

No

Reserves

Yes

Archives & Special Collections

Yes

Group Study/Media Rooms

Weekends Only

 

Empire State College

Access

Yes

Borrowing: 8 week loan w/ 1 renewal. 10 book limit

Yes

Computer Labs

Yes

WiFi Access

No

Laptop Loan

No

Faculty Development Lab

No

Government Information

Yes

Interlibrary Loan/CUNY Resource Sharing

Yes

Current Periodicals

In-Library Use

Library Café

No

Album, CD, DVD, Video Viewing and Listening

Yes

Remote Access

No

Reserves

Yes

Archives & Special Collections

Yes

Group Study/Media Rooms

Weekends Only

 

SUNY

SUNY Students and Faculty

Access

Yes

Borrowing

No

Computer Labs

Yes

WiFi Access

No

Laptop Loan

No

Faculty Development Lab

No

Government Information

In-Library Use

Interlibrary Loan/CUNY Resource Sharing

No

Current Periodicals

In-Library Use

Library Café

No

Album, CD, DVD, Video Viewing and Listening

In-Library Use

Remote Access

No

Reserves

No

Archives & Special Collections

Yes

Group Study/Media Rooms

Weekends Only

 

 

 

Visiting Faculty, Scholars, Researchers

Visiting Faculty, Scholars and Researchers

Access

Yes

Borrowing: 8 week loan w/ 1 renewal.

Yes 

Computer Labs

Yes

WiFi Access

No

Laptop Loan

No

Faculty Development Lab

Yes

Government Information

Yes

Interlibrary Loan/CUNY Resource Sharing

Yes

Current Periodicals

Yes

Library Café

No

Album, CD, DVD, Video Viewing and Listening

Yes

Remote Access

Yes

Reserves

Yes

Archives & Special Collections

Yes

Group Study/Media Rooms

Weekends Only

 

 

 

Contact Information

Library Circulation Desk

CircDesk@brooklyn.cuny.edu 718-951-5328

 

Library Café

Library Café Access

Please note that 24-hour access to the Library Café is restricted to registered Brooklyn College students with validated student identification cards and Brooklyn College faculty and staff.  All other categories of patrons with Library Café access may use the Café only during staffed hours.  

In the charts on this page, an asterisk (*) next to "Library Café" indicates that access is limited to staffed hours.

Exceptions & Conditions

* Brooklyn College and CUNY students have priority use of computers in the Library. Please note that there is no computer access for Full Members and Alumni during all library business hours for Midterm week and the last two weeks of the Fall and Spring Semesters. (Consult the Library Hours web page for the exact date ranges.) Access to computers may also be restricted for Full Members and Alumni Tuesdays and Thursdays from 11:30 am to 2:00 pm during the Fall and Spring Semesters.

** Alumni must show alumni ID card. Access for alumni limited to staffed hours: Mon–Thurs 8am–9:45pm, Friday 9am–4:45 pm, Saturday and Sunday 10am–5:45pm.