Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Modern Languages & Literatures: Latin America

Doing Research on Latin American History, Literature and Culture

This is intended to serve as a quick list of resources for doing research on Latin American history, literature, and culture. Please consult additional relevant sections of this guide and/or other research guides. For example, if you're doing research on Latin American film, you may also wish to consult the Film research guide. If you're doing research on Latin American political movements, you may also wish to consult the Political Science research guide, and so on.

Reference Sources

The library has a number of reference resources, mostly online, in the area of Latin American literature and culture. These are just a few select titles. For additional information about possible reference sources, see the "Reference Sources" section of this research guide.

Print:

Cambridge Encyclopedia of Latin America and the Caribbean, Location: Reference, Call number: F1406 .C36 1992

Encyclopedia of Latin American Theatre, Location: Reference, Call number: PQ7082 .D7 E63 2003

Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics, Location: Reference, Call number: F1410. E56 2002

Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Art, Location: Reference, Call number: N6502 .E53 2000

Online:

Greenwood Encyclopedia of Latino Literature

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture

Encyclopedia of U.S. Military Interventions in Latin America

Encyclopedia of U.S. - Latin America Relations

Latin Music: Musicians, Genres, and Themes

Finding Books & eBooks

You can use OneSearch to search for books & ebooks in the Library's collections and order books from other CUNY schools.

Finding Articles

You can also use OneSearch (via the above searchbox) to look for articles on any topic within the larger field of Latin American literature and culture, but here is a select list of more specialized article databases. Some are multi-disciplinary (JSTOR, Project Muse) and some are subject-specific (MLA International Bibliography). Library databases (and other e-resources) can be accessed from off-campus.