It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Provides access to more than 2 million bibliographic citations to journal articles, books, and dissertations from 1926 to the present in academic disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts.
Literature Resource Center offers access to articles from hundreds of journals (many of which are peer-reviewed), biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. Users can also find full text of many poems and short stories, as well as book reviews of fiction and non-fiction, including children's, young adult, and adult works.
Gale Literary Sources provides primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies. It integrates Literature Resources from Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Criticism Online, Twayne's Authors Series, and MLA International Bibliography into a single research environment.
Provides access to a body of literature, originally published by the Heinemann African Writers Series, much of which is out of print. The searchable full-text collection covers the whole historical range of modern African fiction, and includes some of the most important works of African poetry.
Classic Reader offers a large collection of free classic books by authors such as Dickens, Austen, Shakespeare and many others. You can read, search and even add your own annotations to any of the classic books. A selection of author biographies and portraits is also available.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. It consists of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages.
This database from Rutgers is designed for the study of The Tatler (1709-1711) and The Spectator (1711-1714), two innovative eighteenth-century periodicals, both of which are completely available here.
Primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century, the collection contains an array of genres, including poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more.