AHTR is a peer-populated platform for art history teachers. AHTR is home to a constantly evolving and collectively authored online repository of art history teaching content including, but not limited to, lesson plans, video introductions to museums, book reviews, image clusters, and classroom and museum activities. The site promotes discussion and reflection around new ways of teaching and learning in the art history classroom through a peer-populated blog, and fosters a collaborative virtual community for art history instructors at all career stages.
Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for the Visual Arts
Drawing from the collections of distinguished museums from around the world, this database offers unparalleled access to high-quality art images and related multimedia. Art Museum Image Gallery covers a broad range of time and place, with entries from 3000 B.C. to the present day, and art from the cultures of Africa, Asia, Europe, and the Americas.
Artstor is a nonprofit organization committed to digital collection solutions for universities, museums, schools, and libraries worldwide. This ever increasing digital library includes more than 1.8 million high-quality images for education and research from a wide variety of collections around the world.
The Artist Project is an online series in which the Metropolitan Museum give artists an opportunity to respond to their encyclopedic collection. From March 2015 to June 2016, the Museum will invite 120 artists—local, national, and global—to choose individual works of art or galleries that spark their imaginations. In this online series, artists reflect on what art is, what inspires them from across 5,000 years of art, and in so doing, they reveal the power of a museum and The Met.
CUNY OneSearch allows you to search across multiple collections using the entire CUNY library system. It's a powerful tool to see what information is accessible to you using your Brooklyn College library card.
This free data set from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) contains a wealth of information about the more than 35,000 museums in the U.S. including comparative statistics, institutional evaluation, and policy creation at all levels.
The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship. The collections of the Prints & Photographs Division include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
JSTOR Forum has public database of digital images, sponsored and hosted by Artstor. Image providers include Harvard, Yale, Cornell, Indiana University - Bloomington, the University of California system, and the society of architectural historians among others.