Skip to main content

Linguistics: Scholarly and Peer Review Sources

Linguistics Databases

Database Tips

What if the library doesn't subscribe to a  journal, but I need an article from it?

Step 1) Make sure we don't have the journal by checkin on E-journals finder.

Step 2) Search on Google for the journal website.

Step 3) See if you can search journal issues on the publisher website. Sometimes you will be able to view article abstracts (or summaries) on the journal website. Most journals will detail the databases where they are indexed. We suggest always searching Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) and Scopus

You will need to create an Interlibrary loan account and then you can request your article(s) on Interlibrary loan. Articles and book chapters arrive quickly, usually in 2-3 days as a PDF.

The corresponding number labels are some key functions in the advanced search that will help you focus and narrow your searches:

1. Search boxes
2. Use Boolean (And Or Not) to combine your search keywords. For example "English AND sociolinguistics."
3. Search Filters
4. Submit search button

You can also refine your search in the results screen, pictured below:
1. SocIndex allows you to refine your results using options on the left side of the results screen.
2. You can Limit to Full-Text and Scholarly (Peer Reviewed Journals) by checking the boxes here.
3. Some professors ask you to limit your results to research done in the last ten years. This can be done here.
4. Limiting your results by Source Types, is also useful. If you are new to a topic, you may want to read magazine articles before starting to read Academic Journals.
5. If the PDF Full Text is available, the PDF Icon will be displayed.

The corresponding number labels are some essential functions in the database results screen that will help you focus and narrow your searches:

1. Type your search terms in the search box.
2. Limit your results on the left by selecting articles
3. Scan the author and publication information for the name of the author and source of the article
4. Look at how many times other people cite the article
5. Click on the "find fulltext at Brooklyn" to access the article from the library.
6. Narrow your results by publication year.