It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Women & Hysteria in The Yellow Wallpaper by C.P. Gilman. This website was created in order to help you contextualize turn-of-the-century social beliefs in regards to a then considered medical condition called hysteria and women, as well as to give you some very insightful information about the author of, The Yellow Wallpaper, Charlotte Perkins Gilman.
This suite contains scans of every item in the Papers of Charlotte Perkins Gilman, 1846-1975. The collection documents the life of the noted American public intellectual and author of The Yellow Wallpaper.
Within this suite, researchers will find material related to a variety of interests that Gilman pursued including art, economic theory, fiction writing, and philosophy. The collection contains items that document Gilman’s thinking about women’s dress, housekeeping responsibility, domestic architecture, and the demand for equal rights. Biographical information is also searchable and will lead to documents about Gilman’s family, marriage and divorce, the custody of her child, travel, and her extraordinary career.
Users of this collection can browse all of the collection’s contents below, or search the collection by using names, locations, or keywords in the search bar above (example search terms: Katharine Beecher Stetson, Paris, France, and motherhood). Please log in to add user tags and to create digital folders in order to save and organize especially helpful items.
Gilman, Charlotte Perkins, 1860-1935. Papers, 1846-1961, Folder 221. Stories, miscellaneous. "The Yellow Wall-Paper": ms., 1890, and ts. history of its writing and publication., http://pds.lib.harvard.edu/pds/view/13726678 seq. 1