Skip to main content
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ART 3094/7072G-Postwar Art: From World War II to 1989: Image Attributions

OER for Mona Hadler's ART3094-Postwar Art: From World War II to 1989

Open Educational Resource Information

Unless otherwise noted, content on this site is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

This course website contains copyrighted materials available only for your personal, noncommercial educational and scholarly use. This site is used in accordance with the fair use provision, Section 107 of the U.S. Copyright Act where allowance is made for “fair use” for purposes such as criticism, comment, news reporting, teaching, scholarship, education and research. Every effort has been made to provide attribution of copyrighted content. If you wish to use any copyrighted material from this site for purposes of your own that go beyond ‘fair use’, you must obtain expressed permission from the copyright owner. If you are the owner of any copyrighted material that appears on this site and believe the use of any such material does not constitute "fair use", please contact Professor Michael Bergen to have the content removed, if proven necessary.

This open educational resource was created as part of the CUNY and SUNY 2017-19 Open Educational Resources Initiatives. Governor Andrew Cuomo and the NY State Legislature awarded CUNY and SUNY $16 million to implement open educational resources to develop, enhance and institutionalize new and ongoing open educational resources across both universities.

Special thanks to the CUNY Office of Academic Affairs, the CUNY Office of Library Services, Brooklyn College Administration and Professor Miriam Deutch, Coordinator, Brooklyn College Open Educational Resources Initiative. Site design and formatting by Emily Fairey, OER Developer.

Home

Units

Unit 1 Image: Hans Namuth, Jackson Pollock at work in his studio, 12 images, 1950, Rights: © 2009 Pollock-Krasner Foundation / Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York,

 

 

Unit 2 Image: Arshile Gorky, The Artist and His Mother c.. 1926-c. 1942, oil on canvas, 152.3 x 127 cm (59 15/16 x 50 in.); framed: 155.7 x 130.2 cm (61 5/16 x 51 1/4 in.) The National Gallery of Art (Washington, D.C.) Ailsa Mellon Bruce Fund  Accession Number: 1979.13.1 , National Gallery of Art
 

 

 

 

Unit 3 Image: Robert Rauschenberg, White Painting [three panel],1951, latex paint on canvas, 72 in. x 108 in. (182.88 cm x 274.32 cm), San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, Accession Number: 98.308.A-C, monochromatic; minimal; triptychs; white; rectangles, San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (SFMOMA), ID Number: 25855, Image and original data provided by the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art

 

Unit 4 Image:

Judson Dance Theater, Pelican /Robert Rauschenberg: det.: scene from performance, May 25, 1965, First NY Theater Rally, 81st Broadway TV Studio, ARTstor Slide Gallery
 

 

Unit 5 Image: Creator: Oldenburg, Claes, Hamburger, Popsicle, Price Date: 1962 Location: Sweden Material: enamel paint, canvas, stuffed with kapok: h.36 in
 

 

 

 

Unit 6 Image: Crumb, R., Weirdo, number 1: Cover, 1981, ARTstor Slide Gallery

 

 

 

Unit 7 Image: Martin, Agnes, Harvest, 1965, Vassar College. Art Gallery, Collection: ARTstor Slide Gallery
 

 

 

Unit 8 Image: Richard Serra, Prop, 1968, Exhibited at Museum of Modern Art, Summer 2007, Material: lead, Measurements: 60" x 60" x 1/8" (plate); 8' long (pole), Photographer: Larry Qualls, Collection: Contemporary Art (Larry Qualls Archive), Image and original data provided by Larry Qualls.

 

 

 

 

Unit 9 Image: Creator: Sherman, Cindy (American, 1954-), As Marilyn Monroe, Photograph, 1982, Chromogenic print, 15 1/2 x 9 1/8 in., ed. #64/125, The Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, Accession Number: 97.161



 

 

 

Unit 10 Image: Creator: Andres Serrano, Piss Christ (Ed. 4), Photograph, 1987, Cibachrome, silicone plexiglass, wood frame, 60 x 40 inches, New Museum of Contemporary Art Exhibitions, ID Number: 14935, Image and original data from New Museum of Contemporary Art

 

Course Documents

Image for 3094 Syllabus: Eva Hesse, Seven Poles, 1970, Fiberglass resin, Centre Pompidou.

 

 

 

 

Image for 7024G Syllabus: Faith Ringgold, American People Series, The Flag is Bleeding, 1967, oil on canvas. Collection of the artist, c. Faith Ringgold. Courtesy ACA Galleries, NY.

Unit 1

1) Image for Unit 1 Slides: Still Image from Mad Men, showing painting by Mark Rothco: 

Mark Rothko - Four Reds (CR604), 1957 size: 81×50 in. (205.4×127 cm.) collection: Ho-Am Art Museum, Seoul

Unit 1 Graduate Readings

  a) Illustration for David Craven: Cover for Abstract Expressionism: A Cultural CritiqueBlues, 1962 Adolph Gottlieb, 1903-1974, oil on canvas 48 1/8 x 36 in. (122.3 x 91.4 cm) Smithsonian American Art Museum Gift of the Woodward Foundation 1977.128 Not currently on view. 

  b) Illustration for Charles Merewether: Creator: Lam, Wifredo, Cuban, 1902-1982. Cover of Lam, Wifredo, and y N. L. García-Noriega. Wifredo Lam, 1902-1982: Obra Sobre Papel : Colección Museo Nacional, Palacio De Bellas Artes, Habana, Cuba : Junio-Octubre 1992, Fundación Cultural Televisa, Ac. México, D.F: Centro Cultural/Arte Contemporáneo (Mexico, 1992. Print.


 

 

Unit 2

Image for Unit 2 Slides: Frankenthaler, Helen, Bay,1963, acrylic on canvas, 80 3/4x81 3/4" ARTstor Slide Gallery.

 

 

 

Images for Unit 2 Readings:

Image for Cornelia Butler, “The Woman Problem and the Contemporaneity of deKooning’s Women,” in  Butler, Cornelia H, and Paul Schimmel. Willem De Kooning: Tracing the Figure. Los Angeles, Calif: Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles, 2002, p. 181-193:

Willem de Kooning, 1904-1997, Woman, Painting 1950-52, Oil on canvas, 6' 3 7/8" x 58" (192.7 x 147.3 cm), The Museum of Modern Art, Accession Number: 478.1953, Image and original data provided by the The Museum of Modern Art
 

Unit 3

Link to Pdf of Unit 3 Slides: Image: Jasper Johns, Flag,1954-55  (dated on reverse 1954), Encaustic, oil, and collage on fabric mounted on plywood, three panels, 42 1/4 x 60 5/8" (107.3 x 153.8 cm), The Museum of Modern Art, Accession Number: 106.1973, Image and original data provided by the The Museum of Modern Art.

Unit 3 Readings:1) Fred Orton, Figuring Jasper Johns: Cover Image:

 

2) James Leggio, “Robert Rauschenberg’s Bed and the Symbolism of the Body,” Essays on Assemblage, pp.79-117, Studies in Modern Art, vol 2. MOMA, l992:Cover Image:

Unit 4

Image for Unit 4 Slides:

Creator: David Gahr, photographer: Title: Installation view of the exhibition, "Homage to New York: A self-constructing and self-destroying work of art conceived and built by Jean Tinguely." Work Type: installation view, March 17, 1960, Exhibition Location: The Museum of Modern Art, New York., Measurements: 6 1/2 x 9 1/4  inches, Photographic Archive. The Museum of Modern Art Archives, New York., Exhibition Installation Photograph Collection (Photographic Archive, The Museum of Modern Art, New York)
ID Number: IN661.1, Exhibition Number: 661, Original Negative Number: Gahr R 21761 Roll C5 Frame 26, Copy Negative Number: MMA 20.519, Copyright David Gahr. David Gahr, 49 Eighth Avenue, Brooklyn, New York  11217, Phone: 212-675-7585, © 2008 Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York / ADAGP, Paris
 

 

 

Images for Readings:

1 Image for Yvonne Rainer, “A Quasi Survey of some ‘Minimalist’ Tendencies….” in Battcock, Minimal Art, pp.263-73-Cover Image

2 Kristine Styles, “Between Water and Stone, Fluxus Performance: A Metaphysics of Acts,” pp. 64-99 in, In the Spirit of Fluxus, 1993-Cover Image: In the Spirit of Fluxus

3 Image for Julia Bryan-Wilson, “Remembering Yoko Ono’s Cut Piece,” Oxford Art Journal, 2001: Ono, Yoko, Cut Piece Yamaichi Concert Hall, Japan, 1964, ARTstor Slide Gallery, University of California, San Diego

Unit 5

Image for Unit 5 Slides: Andy Warhol, Mao, 1972, silkscreen print, H.35-3/4 x W.35-3/4 in. (sheet), The Minneapolis Institute of Arts, Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA, Gift of Margey and Russell Cowles, II, P.83.23.10, http://www.artsmia.org/, Collection: The Minneapolis Institute of Arts Collection, ID Number: MIA_.P.83.23.10, © The Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts, Inc.

Unit 6

Image for Unit 6 Slides: Roy Lichtenstein,The Engagement Ring, 1961, Oil on canvas: 67 3/4 x 79 1/2  inches/172.1 x 201.9 cm. Collection: Roy Lichtenstein # 0076: Image and original data from The Estate of Roy Lichtenstein / Roy Lichtenstein Foundation.

Unit 7

Image for Unit 7 Slides: Judd, Donald, Untitled, 1963, Material: light cadmium red oil on wood with iron pipe, Measurements: 122 x 210.8 x 122 cm, Repository: Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden, Collection: ARTstor Slide Gallery, Source: Data From: University of California, San Diego, Rights: Art (c) Judd Foundation / Licensed by VAGA, New York, NY. 
 

Unit 8

Image for Unit 8 Slides: Robert Smithson, Spiral Jetty, 1970 Sculpture in Basalt rock, salt crystals, earth, water 4.572 m × 457.2 m (15 ft × 1500 ft), Rozel Point, Great Salt Lake, Utah Coordinates41°26′16″N 112°40′8″W Owner: Dia Art Foundation.

Unit 9

Image for Unit 9 Slides: Creator: Judy Chicago, Title: The Dinner Party (permanent installation view), Date: 1974-79, Material: Mixed-media installation, Measurements: Each of the three sides of The Dinner Party is 48 ft long; plates are 14" in diameter; overall size of each runner is 56" x 30"; each runner front and runner back measures 13" x 30", Description: Photo by Donald Woodman, Repository: Elizabeth A. Sackler Center for Feminist Art; Collection of the Brooklyn Museum of Art, Collection: Judy Chicago ID Number: 334.
 

Unit 10

Image for Unit 10 Slides: Weems, Carrie Mae, Looking into the Mirror, 1986, 11" x 14". Collection: ARTstor Slide Gallery.

Further Resources