Skip to Main Content

The Robert L. Hess Collection: About

Mission

The Archives and Special Collections division of the Brooklyn College Library acquires, preserves, and provides access to the records of enduring value that document the Brooklyn College community and the Borough of Brooklyn, as well as the papers and memorabilia of individuals who have national and social importance. 

 

Rare Books

Rare Book Collection

There are more than three thousand volumes of rare books housed in the Archives. This includes titles of significant literary, historical, geographical, and scientific value.

The Robert L. Hess Collection on Ethiopia and the Horn of Africa 

Robert L. Hess, a noted scholar of Ethiopian History, served as Brooklyn College President from 1979-1992.  This collection of over 5,000 rare and out of print  books and journals includes the memoirs of Italian colonial officials and soldiers, linguistic texts, travel accounts and histories.  For more information, please visit the Hess Collection page.

The Stuart Schaar Collection on the Middle East and North Africa

Upon retiring from Brooklyn College, Professor Schaar of the History Department donated his book collection and personal papers to the Library.   His collection consists of approximately 4,000 books and periodicals and 77 boxes of manuscript material. The collection also includes a large number of diverse and eclectic works of art from  the region.  

Donations

Information for Donors

The Brooklyn College Archives and Special Collections documents the history of Brooklyn College and the borough of Brooklyn. Donations of materials within the scope of our collection policy are welcome. If you are considering donating items to the archives please get in touch with Colleen Bradley-Sanders, the College Archivist.

Monetary Donation

Make a secure one-time donation to the Brooklyn College Foundation to support the preservation of Brooklyn College and Brooklyn history by visiting Support the Brooklyn College Foundation. Within Fund Designation, please specify #31205594. For Additional Comments or Questions Relating to This Donation, please specify how you would like your funds to be used in Special Collections (i.e. preserving a specific collection, restoring books our Rare Books, or to help process the collections from Brooklyn College departments, faculty, or alumni).

You can also mail a check or money order payable to: THE BROOKLYN COLLEGE FOUNDATION, 2900 Bedford Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11210-2889.

Please specify Fund #31205594 in the memo line of the check.

Contact Us

Telephone: 718-951-5346

Email: specialcollections@brooklyn.cuny.edu

Brooklyn College Archives, 2900 Bedford Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11210

Hours and Appointments

The Archives is open Monday through Thursday from 9 a.m. to 4:45 p.m. Please email us to schedule an appointment. Note: Due to technical difficulties regarding email migration, please call us at 718-951-5346 to schedule an appointment. 

 

Reference Inquiries

If you have a question regarding our archival collections, please send us an email. Currently, we cannot predict response times since we have limited staff on campus.  Your patience is greatly appreciated. 

Digital Collections

Related Links

Current Exhibit - Years of Hardship

Our new exhibit examines the rise and fall of Italian colonialism in the Horn of Africa through the lives of individual Ethiopians, Eritreans, and Italians.

 

Coloring Books

Download our coloring books.