Earth & Environmental Sciences Research Guide: Articles & Databases

This database provides access to information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. This collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 600,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 6,300 records. GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.

This database is a comprehensive geoscience resource containing over 3.2 million bibliographic records covering subjects such as mineralogy and crystallography, general mineralogy, mineralogy of silicates, and mineralogy of non-silicates. Bibliographic records from more than 3,500 journals are included in the database as well as journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. Over 100,000 references are added to the GeoRef database annually.

GeoScienceWorld (GSW) is a nonprofit corporation formed by a group of leading geoscientific organizations for the purpose of making geoscience research and related information easily and economically available via the Internet. GSW is an unprecedented collaboration of six leading earth science societies and one institute.

Scopus indexes and abstracts over 14,000 journals across the sciences and social sciences. Features an excellent cited reference tool.

Agriculture Collection provides a comprehensive view of agriculture and related fields. The database provides access to current and authoritative content that spans the industry -- from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.

EGJ is a peer-reviewed digital journal providing open access to scholarly, international environmental information since 1994. It is published semiannually by the UCLA Library.

Environmental Studies and Policy contains over 5 million articles published between 1980 and the present. This collection, which includes magazines and academic journals, provides access to the multiple viewpoints of this volatile field of study, including perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policy makers, as well as corporate interests.

Science In Context showcases how scientific disciplines relate to real-world issues ranging from bacteria to obesity and weather. The collection includes millions of full-text articles from national and global publications as well as 200+ experiments, projects, and top reference content.

GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources) is an electronic resource that focuses on the study of sustainability and the environment. Topics include global warming, food safety, access to health care, and the impact of economic development on international relations.

OneSearch is a "discovery search" that searches across the CUNY catalog and many of our databases. Login required to access full text.

Covers social issues such as Gun Control, Genetic Engineering, Censorship, Endangered Species, and Terrorism. Brings together viewpoint articles, overviews, statistics, biographies of social activists, court cases, profiles of government agencies and special interest groups, newspaper and magazine articles. Links to more than 1,800 web sites.

ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books.

SciELO provides full-text access to up-to-date scientific and technical information published in journals from around the developing world, particularly Latin America and the Caribbean. Articles are accessible in Spanish, Portuguese and/or English.

SpringerLink is Springer's online full-text archive for journals and books. SpringerLink currently offers over 1,250 fully peer-reviewed journals and a growing roster of book series, comprising more than 3,000 books online.

A database of abstracts and full text from journals and books from across disciplines - especially strong in the Social Sciences. Use limiters to focus results by discipline.