Best Bet
NCBI National Center for Biotechnology Information Taxonomy Database
Search for your organism by scientific or common name. The Taxonomy Database is a curated classification and nomenclature for all the organisms in the public sequence databases. This currently represents about 10% of the described species of life on the planet.
Other Options
Animal Diversity Web
Animal Diversity Web (ADW) is an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan. You can use this resource to find descriptions of taxa above the species level, especially phyla, classes, orders and families on thousands of individual animal species. Students write the text of these accounts and we cannot guarantee their accuracy. Descriptions of taxa above the species level, especially phyla, classes, orders and families.
Arctos
The taxonomic model in Arctos conveys more than just the classification of each taxon. Each taxon entry integrates media and the geolocation of specimens in Arctos identified with that taxon name. This can be a highly useful tool for researchers and the general public. Here are links to various taxa that show these features.
Butterflies and Moths of North America
Butterflies and Moths of North America (BAMONA) is an ambitious effort to collect, store, and share species information and occurrence data. You can participate by taking and submitting photographs of butterflies, moths, and caterpillars.
Encyclopedia of Life
Free online encyclopedia.
FishBase
Web-based taxonomic guide to fish. As of February 2021, FishBase has information on 34,500 species, 323,300 common names, 60,500 pictures, and 57,600 references.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
The Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia is available on the library’s Biology page, on the database Gale eBooks, or search for it in OneSearch on the library’s home page.
Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS)
A database with reliable information on species names and their hierarchical classification. Search using the common name, scientific name, or taxonomic serial number.
SeaLifeBase
Web-based taxonomic guide to non-fish marine organisms. As of February 2021, SeaLifeBase has information on 69,200 species, 59,000 common names, 13,600 pictures, and 37,100 references.
WorldWideScience.org
WorldWideScience.org allows you to carry out simultaneous searchers across a range of international scientific databases. These include literature databases, publication repositories and data archives. The service is maintained by the U.S. Government's Office of Science and Technical Information (OSTI).
Mammals, Vertebrates, etc.
Zoology, Animal diversity
Evolution (Biology)
Nomenclature, Classification
Encyclopedias, Handbooks
You can also search for books about specific organisms using scientific or common names.
For example:
Aquatic animals
Cetacea
Felidae
Fishes
Giraffe
Primates
Water birds
Locate books by searching the Catalog or OneSearch (limit to Books or Reference Sources). You can search for books by author, title, subject, and keyword.
NOTE! You are unlikely to find basic classification information in articles. Articles are going to be studies based on research questions, so they are likely to be in-depth and narrowly focused on particular aspects of an organism.
Top selections for zoology include:
These are a few good places to find recent news articles that reports on a recently published scientific study related to zoology:
[1] Free access to the NYTimes is limited to 10 articles per month, but you can create a free, full access account using your CUNY email by linking to the “NYTimes Digital Edition” on the library’s A-Z list of databases.
[2] Science Magazine has some freely available news articles as well as subscription access to original research. You have access through the BC Library. . . look for it on the A-Z databases list.
|
CLASS Q – SCIENCE Subclass QL – Zoology
QL1-991 Zoology QL1-355 General Incl. geographical distribution QL360-599.82 Invertebrates QL461-599.82 Insects QL605-739.8 Chordates. Vertebrates QL614-639.8 Fishes QL640-669.3 Reptiles and amphibians QL671-699 Birds QL700-739.8 Mammals QL750-795 Animal behavior QL791-795 Stories and anecdotes QL799-799.5 Morphology QL801-950.9 Anatomy QL951-991 Embryology
|
