Provides access to more than 2 million bibliographic citations to journal articles, books, and dissertations from 1926 to the present in academic disciplines such as language, literature, folklore, linguistics, literary theory and criticism, and the dramatic arts.
Offers access to articles from hundreds of journals (many of which are peer-reviewed), biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline, as well as full text of many poems and short stories and book reviews , including children's, young adult, and adult works.
Provides primary sources, critical articles, literary and cultural analysis, and biographies. It integrates Literature Resources from Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Criticism Online, Twayne's Authors Series, and MLA International Bibliography into a single research environment.
Gale's Literary Index offers streamlined access to author and title listings across 130+ literature products from Gale, Charles Scribner's Sons, St. James Press, and Twayne Publishers, featuring comprehensive biographies and critical essays on authors' works.
Gale Literature Criticism offers the largest compilation of literary commentary, covering authors and works across regions, eras, and genres. It includes scholarly and popular analysis from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books, and periodicals in an easy-to-use online format mirroring the print originals.
Offers full-text access to archival scholarly journals, including journal content, primary sources, images, and more across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is approximately a 1-5 year gap between the most recently published journal issue and the content available in the database.
Includes articles covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Good for all topics, this comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database provides access to almost 9,000 full-text periodicals and peer-reviewed journals.
The authoritative resource in all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought, providing access to more than 1,450 full-text journals dating back to 1907.
Search for primary sources in Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) and the Making of the Modern World.
Included Databases in search:
Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century
Archives Unbound
Eighteenth-Century Collections Online
Nineteenth-Century Collections Online
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection
Classic Reader offers a large collection of free classic books by authors such as Dickens, Austen, Shakespeare and many others. You can read, search and even add your own annotations to any of the classic books. A selection of author biographies and portraits is also available.
Gale Literature: LitFinder offers access to world literature, featuring over 132,000 full-text poems, 670,000+ poetry citations, short stories, speeches, and plays. It includes biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary, with refine search options for targeted research.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) offers a vast digital library with 180,000+ titles and 32 million searchable pages from 1701-1800. It encompasses a wide range of subjects and materials from Britain, Ireland, and British territories, including government documents, diverse genres, and writings across social classes, providing insights into eighteenth-century life and events.
A global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. It consists of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages.
"The Whitechapel Murders Papers: Letters Relating to the ""Jack the Ripper"" Killings"
Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia: Minutes and Correspondence
Action Sociale De La Femme Et Le Livre Francaise
African Mail
African World
American Medical Periodicals
Annales de l'Extreme Orient et de l'Afrique
Archives of the Royal Literary Fund
Astronomy and Astrophysics
Britannia: Official Organ of the Women's Party
British Admiralty Office Photographs
British Birth Control Material at the British Library of Political and Economic Sciences: 1800-1947
British Cabinet Papers, 1880-1916
British Colonial Office: Photographic Collection
British Foreign Office: Japan Correspondence, 1856-1905
British Foreign Office: Japan Correspondence, 1906-1913: Dominance of the Genro
British Foreign Office: Japan Correspondence, 1914-1923: Emergence of Japan as a Pacific Power
British Journal of Photography and Annual, 1854-1914
British Labour History Ephemera
British Playbills, 1780-1861
British Trade Union History Collection
Bulletins du Comite de l'Afrique francaise
Civil Disturbance, Chartism and Riots in Nineteenth Century England
Civil Engineering
Colonial Africa Newspapers from the British Library
Colonial Defence Commission under Lord Carnarvon
Color Theory and Practice
Crystal Palace Handel Triennial
Crystal Palace Saturday Concerts
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Amoy, China, 1844-1906
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Antung, Manchuria, China, 1904-1906
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Bangkok, Siam, 1856-1906
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Batavia, Java, Netherlands East Indies, 1818-1906
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Bathurst, Gambia, British Africa, 1857-1889
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Boma, Congo, 1888-1895
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Canton, China, 1790-1906
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Cape Town, Cape Colony, 1800-1906
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Chefoo, China, 1863-1906
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Chinkiang, China, 1864-1902
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Chunking, China, 1896-1906
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Foochow, China, 1849-1906
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Gaboon, 1856-1888
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Goree Dakar, French Africa, 1883-1906
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Grand Bassa, Liberia, 1868-1882
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Hakodate, Japan, 1856-1878
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Hangchow, China, 1904-1906
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Hangchow, China, 1904-1906
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Hankow, China, 1861-1906
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Hong Kong, 1844-1906
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Iloilo, Philippine Islands, 1876-1886
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Kanagawa, Japan, 1861-1897
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Lourenco Marques, Mozambique, Portuguese Africa, 1854-1906
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Macao, China, 1849-1869
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Manila, Philippine Islands, 1817-1899
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Mukden, Manchuria, China, 1904-1906
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Nagasaki, Japan, 1860-1906
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Nanking, China, 1902-1906
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Newchwang, Manchuria, China, 1865-1906
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Ningpo, China, 1853-1896
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Osaka and Hiogo (Kobe), Japan, 1868-1906
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Padang, Sumatra, Netherlands East Indies, 1853-1898
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Pretoria, The Transvaal, 1898-1906
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Saigon, Vietnam, 1889-1906
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Santiago, Cape Verde Islands, 1818-1898
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Seoul, Korea, 1886-1906
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Shanghai, China, 1847-1906
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Sierra Leone, British Africa, 1858-1906
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Singapore, Straits Settlements, 1833-1906
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in St. Helena, British West Africa, 1831-1906
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in St. Paul de Loanda, Portuguese Africa, 1854-1893
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Swatow, China, 1860-1881
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Tamatave, Madagascar, 1853-1906
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Tientsin, China, 1868-1906
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Yokohama, Japan, 1897-1906
Despatches from U.S. Consuls in Zanzibar, British Africa, 1836-1906
Despatches from U.S. Ministers to China, 1843-1906
Despatches from U.S. Ministers to Japan, 1855-1906
Despatches from U.S. Ministers to Korea, 1883-1905
Despatches from U.S. Ministers to Siam, 1882-1906
Deutsche Kolonialzeitung
Diaries of Sir Frederic Madden
Discontent and Authority, 1820-1840
Drury Lane Receipts
Drury Lane Theatre Archive
Drury Lane under Sheridan, 1770-1812: Manuscript Plays and Correspondence
Early Rare Photographic Books from the North Western Museum of Science and Industry Collection
Early Rare Photographs from the Victoria and Albert Museum, London
Economic and Social Investigations in England since 1833: Transactions of the Manchester Statistical Society, Parts One and Two
Electricity and Electromagnetism
English Stage after the Restoration, 1726–1849
European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
Evolution and the Origin of Species
Exploration and Colonization of Africa
German Colonialism in Africa: Selections from the Kolonialbibliothek (Colonial Library) Collection
History of Photograpy
History of Women
History of the Philippine Insurrection Against the United States, 1899-1903, and Documents Relating to the War Department Project for Publishing of History, 1899-1903
Home Office Papers and Records
Home Office: Disturbances Entry Books
Home Office: Domestic Correspondence from 1773 to 1861
Home Office: Domestic Entry Books
Home Office: Post Office Correspondence
Home Office: Registered Papers
Hue and Cry and Police Gazette
International Population Census, Africa
JW Davison Papers
Japanese Old Photographs in Bakumatsu-Meiji Period
Joseph Chamberlain Papers Relating to Africa
King's Theatre Haymarket Archive
Konzert Programm Austausch
Lord Chamberlain's Plays
Mary Braddon Archive
Mathematics
Methodist Episcopal Church Missionary Correspondence, 1846-1912: Africa
Minutes of Treaty Conferences between U.S. and Japanese Representatives, and Treaty Drafts, 1872
This database from Rutgers is designed for the study of The Tatler (1709-1711) and The Spectator (1711-1714), two innovative eighteenth-century periodicals, both of which are completely available here.
Primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century, the collection contains an array of genres, including poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more.
This link opens in a new window