Banner Image
Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 3401 | American Pluralism to 1877: a Resource Guide: Credits / Attribution

This Guide offers copyright-free and open-access resources in American history, including maps, digitized primary resources, art and photography, and online textbooks.

About

The Brooklyn College Open Educational Resource Pilot Project, 2014–2015, was designed to encourage faculty experimentation and innovation using open and/or library licensed resources for their course materials.

The project supported faculty writing their own content, curating openly available scholarly digital content, and library assistance with resource identification, online publishing, creative commons licensing, and copyright compliance.

This alternative to print textbooks addresses multiple learning styles and pedagogies through customizable, interactive, multimedia content, and may result in greater student learning and lowering student costs. Approximately 5,000 Brooklyn College students will be served yearly by the completed projects. Moreover, the resources are accessible to a global audience.


The Pilot Project was coordinated by Professor Miriam Deutch, Library, in partnership with Terrence Cheng, Associate Provost for Academic Programs, Brooklyn College.


Special thanks to Karen L. Gould, President, Brooklyn College for funding the pilot project.

Image Attribution

American Pluralism to 1877: a Resource Guide—Images

The list below reflects attribution for images used on this site, and is organized by tab category. Unless otherwise noted, all digital images were accessed 2015.


Introduction:
Banner image (L–R): 1. Das Lan – Apache. Curtis, Edward S. 1868–1952. Northwestern University Library, Edward S. Curtis's "The North American Indian," 2003. http://curtis.library.northwestern.edu/site_curtis/; 2. Jean Baptiste Louis Franquelin, Franquelin's map of Louisiana, 1896–1901. Library of Congress: http://www.loc.gov/item/2001620469; William Halsall, Mayflower in Plymouth Harbor, 1882. Pilgrim Hall Museum, Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA; The Star-spangled Banner: the Flag that Inspired the National Anthem, Smithsonian Institution, http://amhistory.si.edu/starspangledbanner/; The Statue of Freedom | Architect of the Capitol | United States Capitol http://www.aoc.gov/capitol-hill/other-statues/statue-freedom; Proclamation of Sam. Houston, Commander-in-Chief of the Army of Texas...December 12, 1835 [to] Citizens of Texas..., 1835. Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division: http://lccn.loc.gov/2006675669; Photographer Unknown. [Unidentified African American soldier in Union uniform with wife and two daughters], 1863–1865. (Original media: ambrotype) Library of Congress: http://www.loc.gov/item/2010647216/

Interact with HISTORY at Brooklyn College: Petrus Kaerius (Pieter van den Keere). Leo Belgicus , 1617

Textbooks!: Public domain

Resources by Theme: Art and Picture Collection, The New York Public Library. "Freedmen Voting In New Orleans." New York Public Library Digital Collections. http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47e1-3fd9-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99

Historical Newspapers: Masthead and part of front page of the Massachusetts Spy…, Isaiah Thomas (1749–1831) and Paul Revere (1735–1818), 1774. Library of Congress, http://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/2002712180/

American History Databases: The Star-spangled Banner: the Flag that Inspired the National Anthem, ibid.

Open Educational Resources: http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:OER_Logo.svg (public domain)

Why Study History?: Magner Center Video, Brooklyn College, City University of New York, 2013


Textbooks: Public domain, ibid. Book jacket and side banner thumbnails provided by the publisher; used for educational purposes.


Resources by Theme:
History Department Overall Resources: Gerard van Schagen. Nova totius terrarum orbis tabula Amstelodami, ex officina G. a Schagen (1682), http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:World_Map_1689.JPG


A New World:

Featured Resource: Video from Alexander Street Press: Conquest of America, Disc 1. Produced by Michael Scalere. A&E Television Networks, 2005. http://search.alexanderstreet.com/view/work/1785777

Featured Resource: the Lawrence H. Slaughter Collection: Lionel Pincus and Princess Firyal Map Division, The New York Public Library. "Nova totivs Americæ descriptio." New York Public Library Digital Collections. http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47e0-bfc2-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99

Additional Resources: a New World: Christopher Columbus (1451–1506). Epistola . . . de Insulis Indie . . . nuper inventis (Letter Concerning the Islands Recently Discovered in the Indian Sea), Rome: Stephan Plannck, 1493. Jay I. Kislak Collection Rare Book and Special Collections Division, Library of Congress


Beginnings of English America, 1607–1660:

Related Images: William Halsall, ibid.; National Parks Service. Historic Jamestowne: the Powhatan Indian World, http://www.nps.gov/jame/learn/historyculture/the-powhatan-indian-world.htm


Creating Anglo-America, 16601750:

Lawrence Sully, Portrait of a Lady from S. Carolina Huguenot Family, ca. 1795. Smithsonian American Art Museum; Unknown creator, Portrait of Catherina Elmendorf, 1752, detail. Metropolitan Museum of Art; Samuel King, Portrait of Ezra Stiles, 1771, detail. Yale University Art Gallery; John Valentine Haidt, Portrait of a Young Moravian Girl, ca. 1755–1760, detail. Smithsonian American Art Museum; William Williams, Portrait of Benjamin Lay, 1750, detail. National Portrait Gallery, Smithsonian Institution


Slavery, Freedom and the Struggle for Empire, to 1763:
Slavery and Anti-slavery: a Transnational Archive - Images: Stowage of the British slave ship Brookes under the regulated slave trade act of 1788, [1788(?)]. Library of Congress Rare Book and Special Collections Division

Featured Resource: Library of Congress: Steinwehr, A. von (Adolph), 1822–1877. Map showing the distribution of slaves in the Southern States. [Philadelphia, Pa.?] : A. von Steinwehr, [186–?]. Library of Congress Geography and Map Division

John Hinton, -1781, publisher. A representation of the sugar-cane and the art of making sugar, 1749. Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division


The American Revolution, 17631783:
Featured Resource: the View from Battle Hill, Gowanus Heights, Long Island (now Brooklyn): Art and Picture Collection, The New York Public Library. "View From Battle Hill, Gowanus Heights, Near New York." New York Public Library Digital Collections. http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/510d47e1-0f32-a3d9-e040-e00a18064a99

Featured Resource: Alexander Street Press Video: Rebellion to Revolution. Directed by Peter Schnall. Produced by Stephen Stept. A&E Television Networks, 2006. http://search.alexanderstreet.com/view/work/1785911


The Revolution Within:

Benjamin Franklin, 1706–1790. Join or Die. Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Catalog, http://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/2002695523/


Securing the Republic 17901815:

John Singleton Copley. Portrait of Mrs. John Stevens (Judith Sargent Murray), oil on canvas, c. 1769. Terra Foundation for American Art, Chicago, Daniel J. Terra Art Acquisition Endowment Fund, #2000.6


The Market Revolution, 18001840:

Temperance album, [Donaldson Brothers?], c. 1871. Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division, http://lccn.loc.gov/2003666704

Florida Jay, engr. by R. Havell, ca. 1827–1838. Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division, http://lccn.loc.gov/2002718971

Proclamation of Sam. Houston, Commander-in-Chief of the Army of Texas...December 12, 1835 [to] Citizens of Texas..., 1835. ibid.


Democracy in America, 18151840:

Map showing the lands assigned to emigrant Indians west of Arkansas and Missouri, from: [Documents concerning Col. Henry Dodge's expedition to the Rocky Mountains], House Document 181, 24th Cong., 1st session, 1835–36, serial 289. United States Topographical Bureau, 1836. Library of Congress. http://hdl.loc.gov/loc.gmd/g4051e.mf000044


The Peculiar Institution:

Negro family and home, St. Helena Island, Hubbard & Mix (photographer). [Beaufort, S.C.] : [Hubbard & Mix?], [between 1863–June 1866]. From http://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/2015646741/


An Age of Reform, 18201840:

Jackson ticket, 1824. Printed Ephemera Collection; Portfolio 192, Folder 12. http://hdl.loc.gov/loc.rbc/rbpe.19201200


A House Divided, 18401861:
The Statue of Freedom, ibid.
Union with freemen -- No union with slaveholders. Anti-slavery meetings! Anti-slavery meetings will be held in this place, to commence on [blank] at [blank] in the [blank]. To be addressed by Agents of the Western anti-slavery society. Three mil…, Printed Ephemera Collection; Portfolio 137, Folder 4. Digital ID: http://hdl.loc.gov/loc.rbc/rbpe.13700400. Salem, OH: Homestead Printers, 1850. Library of Congress, Rare Book and Special Collections Division


The Civil War and Reconstruction:
Featured Resource: Audio Recording, "When Johnny Comes Marching Home," (performed by John Terrell, 1898), Library of Congress: Gilmore, P. S. (Patrick Sarsfield) (1829–1892) and Terrell, John -- fl. 1898 (performer). When Johny [sic] comes marching home. E. Berliner's Gramophone, United States], 1898, monographic. 1 sound disc: analog, 64.2 rpm, mono.; 7 in.

Featured Resource: Library of Congress Collection of Civil War Sheet Music:
When Johnny comes marching home [sheet music]. Lambert, Louis. Boston: Henry Tolman & Co., 1863. http://lcweb2.loc.gov/diglib/ihas/loc.natlib.ihas.200001128/default.html; The Alabama [sheet music]. Rozier, F. W. and E. King. Richmond: Geo. Dunn & Cmpy, 1864. http://lcweb2.loc.gov/diglib/ihas/loc.natlib.ihas.200002464/default.html; Fire away galop [sheet music]. de Jasienski, J. New York: Hall & Son, 1866. http://lcweb2.loc.gov/diglib/ihas/loc.natlib.ihas.200000244/default.html

History Department Faculty

Faculty syllabi consulted in the construction of this guide include:

Brian J. Bouton

Benjamin L. Carp

Brendan O'Malley

Luke A. L. Reynolds

Yarisbel Rodriguez

Christian Warren

Jocelyn Wills

Credits - Guide Design

Site design and formatting by Diane Dias De Fazio, Technologist, and Meredith Wisner, Adjunct Faculty.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. Everything submitted to and included in this OER is believed to be in public domain or possesses creative commons licensing.