Historical Newspaper Databases

Linking to Database Resources

When linking to a specific resource in one of our databases you will need to add the EZProxy prefix to the link for remote access. The EZProxy link is:

https://brooklyn.ezproxy.cuny.edu/login?url=

Example:

A link to Academic Search Premier would look like this:

https://brooklyn.ezproxy.cuny.edu/login?url=
http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=aph

Historical Newspaper Databases

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
America's Historical Newspapers allows users to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states. Created by Readex through partnerships with the American Antiquarian Society, Library of Congress, Wisconsin Historical Society and others, America's Historical Newspapers enables researchers to explore virtually every aspect of America during the 18th, 19th and early 20th centuries.
Brooklyn Newsstand This link opens in a new window
The Brooklyn Daily Eagle was published from October 26, 1841 to 1955 and was revived for a short time from 1960 to 1963. The digitization of the historic Brooklyn Daily Eagle from reels of microfilm covers the period from October 26, 1841 to December 31, 1902, representing half of the Eagle's years of publication. Approximately 147,000 pages of newspaper in various digital formats are contained in this online repository. Access can be gained either by date of issue or by keyword searching.
Harper's Weekly This link opens in a new window
This database enables you to directly experience the richness and historical significance of Harper’s Weekly, America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper. Harper's Weekly is an important primary resource for examining 19th-century America: it is a comprehensive, week-to-week chronological record of what happened worldwide in the last half of the nineteenth century. Dates range from 1857–1912, and cover the Civil War era through the end of the Gilded Age. Users can browse by volume/issue, can search full-text with the help of the database's thesaurus, and can use one of the indexed finding aids.
Nation Archive, The (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
This resource contains indexing, abstracting, and full text for the complete archive of The Nation from its first issue on July 6, 1865 to the present. The Nation Archive is a clearinghouse of U.S. and international primary source material. It contains historic articles, editorials, letters, reviews, poems, puzzles, and also perspectives on news, politics, and culture.
New York Times Historical Edition: 1851 - 2013 (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The New York Times (1851–2003) offers full-page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. For current access, register for your free New York Times Digital Subscription.
New York Tribune - Historical Edition: 1841-1922 (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The New York Tribune - Historical Edition (1841–1922) provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

HIST 3401 | American Pluralism to 1877: a Resource Guide: Historical Newspaper Databases

Historical Newspaper Databases

Linking to Database Resources

Historical Newspaper Databases